Thailand 101

Nov 18th, 2008, 03:04 PM
Original Poster

Thailand 101

Hello Fodorites,

I am just beginning to research a trip to Thailand for my hubby and I in 2009. I have read through some of the threads, but frankly, for someone that knows very little about when/where to go in Thailand, it is quite overwhelming. We are coming from the US, and we are hoping to have a trip where we can enjoy both some beach/relaxation and adventure. I've read a few things about the rafting and that sounds really fun. I think we would like to keep the history sightseeing (temples, etc.) to a minimum, maybe just a day. I believe that we will be able to be there for 8-10 nights. Should we plan to fly into Bangkok and then travel within Thailand from there, or if we plan to spend most of our time somewhere else, should we fly straight to that city? Is Northern Thailand (this is where Chaing Mai is, correct?) also a good resort/tropical location? Any help to get me pointed in the right direction is greatly appreciated.
Nov 18th, 2008, 03:48 PM

From the US, it takes two days to get to Thailand. Be honest with how much time you will be on the ground.

You will fly into Bangkok (BKK) and it makes sense to plan a little BKK time at the front and a little at the end. The lengthy of time you will spend in Thailand should dictate whether you visit two or three destinations. If 8-10 days, I would go to two. If 11-14 days, three is more doable. You won't waste time travelling with this as a guideline.

The best time to go is from mid-November through the end of February. The weather is the "coolest" (only really hot). During that time period, the best beaches are on the Andaman Sea (west side of Thailand). These include Phuket, Krabi and Khao Lak.

With 8-10 days, I suggest:

BKK-2-3 days
Beach-4 days
BKK-2-3 days

With 11-14 days, I suggest:

BKK-2-3 days
Chiang Mai-3 days
Beach-4-5 days
BKK-2-3 days

There is a direct CM-Phuket flight on Thai Air that can avoid going through BKK.