Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Asia
Reload this Page >

Shinkansen (Japan bullet train) reservation question

Mar 28th, 2005, 05:45 PM
e_t

American airfare US-Nagoya is too cheap for not to go, so I just a pair of tickets. I've been to Japan airports many times (stopover), so basically I'm a complete noob here. If you don't have a seat reservation on a shinkansen, can you take a seat if the train is not full even though you have a ticket? I'm planning to buy JR pass, but for a ew days I will w/o a pass so I need to buy some individual tickets. Thanks!

Mar 29th, 2005, 01:04 AM

Yes, in non-reserved sections of the train. On Hikari and Kodama, there are always far more unreserved seats than reserved, and getting a seat isn't a problem most of the time - the only time when it can be difficult is when most Japanese travel, such as the Golden Week, Obon and New Year. Even then, on (relatively) slower trains, you can usually find somewhere, even if the seats aren't quite together when travel in a group.
Mar 29th, 2005, 09:48 PM

Hi,
Just make sure that you get in line in the unreserved section. (I cannot remember where, but you will be able to distinguish the unreserved from the reserved section.

The Shinkansen trains arrive very punctually. As soon as the last train has left on "your" platform, get in line right away. The Japanese abide by these lines.

We realized now that we could have gone with unreserved seats, thus saving all the trouble to go to the JTB (Japanese Tourist Board) to make the reservation.
We know better now.....

Good luck in Japan. We came back in November from an 11-day trip and it was awesome!
Mar 30th, 2005, 05:39 AM

Wow. I always considered (and still do) that free seat reservations with the JR Pass was a great thing. At 500 yen, it is worth it, to me, to pay for the res. seat