Saigon/Siem Reap/Thailand Trip needs Help

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 17th, 2007, 10:52 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am just beginning to start planning for the next Asian trip after Japan in November. In December 2008 and January 2009 I would like to fly to SGN, spend three days there, take the Mekong River cruise (8 days), spend three days in Siem Reap, ????? for the next ten days and fly home (CA) from Bangkok. I am a FF with United and could possibly upgrade the long trips across the Pacific unless there is a great reason to go with another airline? I would appreciate suggestions for the ten days left blank ... do not wish to spend much time in Bangkok and really do not want to fly around too much. Preferences are for scenic, good service, non commerical.
Old Jul 17th, 2007, 11:20 AM

Thai Air and Singapore Air are much superior to United. You can use your United miles on either. They are Star Alliance members. You just call United, wade through the endless nonsense of their call center and book your flights. The FF seats go fas, so call very soon after the 331st day before your return flight.
Old Jul 17th, 2007, 11:52 AM

I always buy coach tickets and upgrade using miles. United is one of the few airlines that allows you to do that. Typically, you must book your flights 11 months in advance to get upgraded seats. So while Thai and Singapore are superior airlines, I've had good expereinces with United, and you can't beat their upgrade with miles deal.

If you are really interested in the temples at Angkor, you'll want more than three days there. I spent a week and saw over two dozen temples, but not nearly all of the accessible temples.