Private Travel/Foodie Tour in Bangkok

Search

Search this Thread

Old Nov 28th, 2009, 05:41 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am a newbie here, and I am hoping that one or more of the Thailand gurus here would be help me out.

I will be in Bangkok between Jan 30 and Feb 4, 2010. During my stay, I am hoping to hire a local guide/free lancer for 2 to 3 days. I am hoping that this individual can show me the usual touristy sights as well as perhaps an interesting foodie/culinary tour off the beaten path in Bangkok and surroundings. I am hoping that we can use public transportation (metro, etc) and tuktuks and taxis. I am looking to use public transportation not because of costs but more because I want the experience.

Any suggestions for a private tour guide? I'd prefer a local as opposed to an expat. I emailed "Ratt" based on an old posting on these forums, but have not heard back from her.

Thanks in advance for your help.
Old Nov 28th, 2009, 06:06 AM

You don't need a guide to show you the usual tourist sites in Bangkok, you can easily do it on your own. You can also do a foodie tour on your own. If you want a guide, you can hire one, but I'd suggest you consider carefully what things you do and don't want a guide for.

The skytrain is very convenient, and you'll want to get a multi-use card for it. I find the metro (subway) not as useful. Personally, I don't recommend tuk-tuks. They are hot, you are breathing the exhaust, and they are usually more expensive than taxis (which are air-conditioned). Tuk-tuk drivers often want to take you to jewelry stores and tailors. Do not under any circumstances use a tailor or jeweler a tuk-tuk or taxi driver recommends.
Old Nov 28th, 2009, 07:39 AM

Did you try Tong? When we toured with her, she took us to some amazing food spots and gave us the names of others. She loves to eat.
Old Nov 28th, 2009, 07:43 AM
Original Poster

Thank you both for your suggestions.

How can I contact Tong? Thanks again.