Planning First Trip to Japan

Old Mar 3rd, 2010, 01:13 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Planning First Trip to Japan

I'm a college student and my family are helping me plan a trip to Japan in Summer 2011. We have family in Kagoshima which is where I will be staying.

The question that we have is would it be cheaper to get the JR Rail Pass or simply purchase regular Shinkansen tickets, such as the Nozomi train from Tokyo to Hakata and then to Kagoshima? Once I'm in Kagoshima we don't plan on really travelling too far out of Kyushu. Plus, in general would one method be easier than another?

(Obviously the trains are not finished between Hakata and Kagoshima as of now, but they are expected to be connected by March 2011)
Old Mar 3rd, 2010, 04:09 PM

To be able to tell if you need a JR Pass we need to know your itinerary or at least a part of one and for the how many days.

Aloha!
Old Mar 4th, 2010, 01:35 AM

The JR rain pass for 7 days is around Yen 2,900 for 7 days from memory. The RAIL PASS does not let you use the NOZOMI but, the HIKARI and KODOMA . Here is a link to the JR site that may help you.
I lived in Japan from 1993 to 1997 and covered most of the place with the exception of KYUSHU. Only went to HAKATA and the north part of KYUSHU.
Will you be travelling to Kagoshima and living there, or just for holiday ?
The rail pass can save you lots of $$ if you plan to travel all over Japan, but, if you are onl travelling Tokyo to Hakata then Kagoshima, I think it would be better just to get a regular train ticket.

http://english.jr-central.co.jp/info...ble/index.html
Old Mar 4th, 2010, 05:54 AM

This years price for the Japan Rail Pass is 28,300 yen for a 7 day 2nd class not 2,900 yen. There are other ways to get where you are going which is why we need the itinerary to know what to suggest.
Old Mar 5th, 2010, 01:14 PM
Original Poster

First off, thank you guys so much for helping!