No Room in Nagoya?

Jan 26th, 2005, 01:28 PM
JWH
Original Poster

No Room in Nagoya?

Hello. My wife and I found what we think is a great deal on American Airlines: Atlanta to Nagoya for $509 ($669 after junk), we have never been to Asia but have always wanted to so we have reserved two seats (we can cancel). We can only go April 4-9 (I'm a teacher). Here is the problem...we can't find any hotel rooms in Nagoya. I think it must be prime time for the Cherry Blossoms. Any suggestions (we want to stay under $250 per night). Thanks!
Jan 26th, 2005, 02:07 PM

Most rooms in Nagoya have been blocked from March through August for Expo 2005. I would suggest phoning hotels directly, and expect to pay rack rates for rooms. One of the only hotels that has realeased rooms at all to the general public is the Nagoya Hilton, and that was just last week. They show availability at 26,500 yen/night for the 6 - 9th. Problem was the 4th and 5th - showing only 80,000 yen/night option. If I try to book April 3 - 9 I get 23,500 yen/night...why don't you book that, then change it later by phone...yes, that's what I would do. It's the combo of April 4 - 9 that is the problem so book the 3 - 9, wait a few days, then phone the hotel directly to change your reservation and specifically say you want to be sure the rate is the same. They are usually very accommodating. Be sure to join Hilton Honors before your stay...one to get the points, but also because you get spouse stays free benefits and you pay the one person rate. You might also want to consider splurging for exec level rooms...free breakfast in the lounge, all day drinks (including wine, beer and cocktails), evening appetizers, pool/fitness center fee waived (you usually have to pay) and great staff. 4/3 - 4/9 exec level is 31,000/night, but you won't be spending 2,000 - 4,000 yen for breakfast each day, evening cocktails...free, exercise...free...worth it to me at least.