mandarin

Mar 2nd, 2002, 03:25 AM
mark m

mandarin

I am studying Mandarin in expectation of a trip to china in 2003. While it is complex (because of the Tones), It does not seem to me to be unattainable to learn enough to travel about. However, I keep reading about peoples attempts and how their pronunciation is useless and comical to native speakers. Is it really that bad all over, and am I wasting my time? In the past I have learned sufficient Greek, Spanish, and Tagalog to at least break the ice (for those trips) ...is Chinese any different?

Mar 2nd, 2002, 09:03 AM
deej

chinese can be tricky because of its tonality. as you already know, words spoken with a different inflection can mean something completely different. but most mainland chinese i know are very appreciative of foreigners who make an attempt to learn and speak the language.

if you're looking for a self-study course in mandarin, some of my friends have recommended the pimsleur course.

Mar 2nd, 2002, 10:27 AM
Peter Neville-Hadley

Learning Chinese is much the same as learning the other languages. So few Chinese speak anything other than their native dialect and Modern Standard Mandarin that they often particularly appreciate your efforts, although they then also often recognise a rare opportunity to get some insight into fabled foreign lands from the horse's mouth.

Assuming you've mastered the tones, the most common reaction of ordinary Chinese to your first simple phrase is, "Eh? How come you speak such good Mandarin?" And this is before you've said much more than "Hello". Their world-picture doesn't include the idea of Mandarin issuing from any faces which don't look like their own.