Japanese Visa Question

Old Jul 12th, 2010, 11:37 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Japanese Visa Question

Hi Guys

I am a student from India and I was to visit University of tokyo as a visiting student(but not official,just invited) this june.But the embassy rejected my visa application.(probably because they thought of insufficient funds rest all documents were correct.)
But now I got a research internship from the university(this december) under the same professor.And this time my boarding expenses will be taken care of,by the Univ itself.(which previously wasn't the case)
My queries are:
Does it count for a different purpose than the previous one to visit japan(according to embassy’s perspective)
What chances are that I can obtain the visa this time(last time I did not use any consultancy).

It would be great if you can help out.
Old Jul 13th, 2010, 01:36 AM

Only the immigration people have any idea about the visa approval process.
Old Jul 13th, 2010, 01:53 AM

To answer your questions:
It will be a fresh application, and this time based on an internship with your expenses taken care of. You will have to disclose your previous unsuccessful application, and they will take that into account.
I'd have thought pretty good, but you need to ensure you submit all ducumentary evidence required, esp the full details of internship - what it covers, who pays for it, its duration etc from the uni itself. Usually unis are used to supporting visa applications and know what sort of documents you require. Ask them to send you ASAP. Do remember that you still need to pay for other things while you are in Japan, such as travels, incidentals, entertainment etc, so make sure you can account for it (e.g. bank statements).