Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Asia
Reload this Page >

Japan Onsen Tour - Fall 2024 itinerary advice?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 11th, 2024, 04:41 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi Fodorites!

I am a newbie poster and looooong-time lurker of this forum, especially progol kja CaliNurse crellston hawaiiantraveler amongst others. You guys are amazing in your sensibility, curiosity and generosity!

My partner Susan and I are going to Japan on a ~8-11 day onsen trip. Flying into Tokyo, flying out of Osaka. Here is my working itinerary:

Night 1 - Tokyo
Night 2 - Tokyo
Night 3 - Okuhida (thanks progol )
Night 4 - Okuhida
Night 5 - Kanazawa
Night 6 - Kanazawa
Night 7 - Kyoto
Night 8 - Kinosaki
Night 9 - Kinosaki
Night 10 - Kinosaki
Night 11 - Osaka

Thoughts on this breakdown? Pretty set on the itinerary based on what I have researched and geographic sequencing, but can move nights around. We will be traveling by public transport only (and sending luggage ahead). I should say that I have been to Tokyo, Kyoto and Osaka before, and this trip is all about onsen specifically with other adventures in supporting roles. We hope to stay in ryokan and minshuku/machiya as much as possible, <$250/night.

Thank you all so much!
Old Mar 11th, 2024, 05:24 PM

sarahwallace0699