Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Asia
Reload this Page >

INDONESIA with SINGAPORE....3 weeks May or early June? Where??

Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 17th, 2023, 09:00 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

My cousin and his family have been living in Jakarta and will depart summer next year.
They've long invited me to visit and, now that they have little time left and I have time this spring, I'm considering a trip.

Background: I traveled widely in Java, Bali and Sumatra on several long trips about 40 years ago. I/we have a generous budget and would like to sample the "best" hotels in each destination. Pools suitable for lap swimming, and hopefully not chilled to icy temps, would play a role in hotel decisions. (I Jakarta I will likely stay with my cousin)
I have some knowledge of Bahasa but almost all of what I once knew has vanished since I've never spoken it since I last visited the country in the 80s. I am very interested in food and have no fear of eating on the street.

So with this very scant info, I'm looking for some help in planning a visit. This might be solo (I am female) or with regular partner who has never been to the tropical lands of SE Asia.

Looking for any and all help here. My initial thought would be to fly into Singapore from JFK--hopefully on a direct flight. Are there any nowadays? Any other airlines I should look at for the "middle class" of seats??

Singapore was my first introduction to Asia, back in the late 70s when I stayed with my former geography professor from the US who had relocated to a university there to teach. He had been very active in the push to conserve the architectural treasures of Chinatown; will be keen to discover if he and his team had any impact. I know that modern Singapore is a very different entity than it was 40+ years ago!!!