Search

Help ! Trip to Chiang Mai in December

Search this Thread

Old Nov 17th, 2004, 07:37 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help ! Trip to Chiang Mai in December

Hi all

Will be in Chiang Mai for 5 nights, is it too long a trip ? This is my first time there and I have a rough plan as what we should do but I need more suggestions and reasurrance that we will not be bored during our stay.

Do not want to do any stays outside Chiang Mai as we live in Singapore and can visit Thailand any other time.

1 day at the tribes/golden triangle
1 day at the spa
1 day at the national park
1 day shopping
City tour on our own ?

What else is there to do will we be occupied ? Thanks.
Old Nov 17th, 2004, 07:57 PM

going to the golden triangle, chiang rai area is about a 3 hour drive each way...that would not leave you very much time for looking around...suggest an overnite, even though you say no above...or else skip it...
if you are a serious shopper you will need 2 days in cm....
you do not mention doi sutup (sp) temple, one of CM's premier sites??
Old Nov 17th, 2004, 08:19 PM

We stayed 6 nights a few years ago..1st night, we did nothing!! Second day we did a Cooking Class, Third day a city tour, 4th day snake farm/orchid farm/hilltribe village..5th day visited our foster child, 6th day rested by pool..Everynight we went by tuk tuk to night bazaar..We ran out of days to do anything else, but thought we could do the rest next time we go!!
Old Nov 18th, 2004, 05:09 AM

I would also definitely go to the Queen's Botanic Gardens
Old Nov 18th, 2004, 05:38 AM