Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Asia
Reload this Page >

Advice on Brief Trip in March to Thailand/Cambodia?

Old Feb 11th, 2007, 06:15 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi all,

I've been enjoying reading through the posts, but after a full day of trying to plan a vacation, I'm pretty confused still.

I only have approx. 1 week on the ground to travel in mid-March and I'd like to spend some time on the beach in Thailand and then 3 days near Angkor Wat. I know it's too short to be an ideal trip, but it's my first time to the area and I figure a short trip is better than nothing.

Given the season and short timeframe, which island would you recommend that I visit? And should I make travel arrangements to Siem Reap from home (Chicago) or when I get to Thailand?

Thanks for your help!
Old Feb 12th, 2007, 10:15 AM
Original Poster

I'm trying to extend my vacation so that we have some time to explore Bangkok. Would you recommend that we start our trip in Bangkok or go straight to the beach to work off the jet lag?

If we start in Bangkok, can we make our other arrangements (flight/hotel to island, flight to Siem Reap) from there?

Thanks!
Old Feb 12th, 2007, 11:19 AM

You have such a short amount of time in SE Asia, do you really want to spend your time making travel arrangements while you are there? You can book your tickets to Siem Reap on the internet, Bangkok Air is the only airline that flies between Bangkok and Siem Reap.

I wouldn't spend fewer than three nights anywhere, and you'll be happier if you spend 4 nights each place. If you don't have enough time to do that, I'd suggest you stick with two locations, Bangkok and Siem Reap. If you can stretch your travel time to 2 weeks, you can add in a beach area. The Phuket side is having nice weather that time of the year. (See for yourself at www.weatherbase.com) There are areas of Phuket for every taste - from sleazy and honky-tonk to quiet and isolated.