Search

7 days in India- where to go?

Search this Thread

Old Oct 1st, 2010, 02:20 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
7 days in India- where to go?

Hi all,

I am visiting a friend in Bangalore for one week in November (during Diwali). It is my first time in India, and although my friend lives there for the time being, she is American and knows little about the country. Any itinerary advice? Keep in mind these things:

1. We are planning to fly between cities.
2. We are not exploring Bangalore.
3. We will be there during Diwali, as I mentioned above.
4. We'd like places that are fairly easy to reach, given our short timeframe (no plane-to-train-to-bus-to-taxi destinations, pls, lol)
5. We'd like to experience both urban and less man-made parts of India.

We were thinking of choosing among these places: Kerala, Goa,Mumbai, Delhi (or Agra), Chennai

Questions I have:
- Are 3 out of those 5 destinations (2 nights at each place) doable?

- Is it worth it to make the trip northward to Delhi/Agra to see the Taj Mahal, or should we save that for another time?

- Between Delhi, Mumbai or Chennai, which would you pick? I'm indifferent about Delhi- I just wouldn't want to regret not seeing the Taj. I'd love to see Mumbai, but Pondicherry outside of Chennai sounds pretty fascinating.

- We really want to see both Goa and Kerala, but are they similar enough that we should just pick one?

- Which cities throw the best Diwali celebrations?

Sorry for the long post, but there's a lot of info out there, and we're not sure what's most feasible! Any and all feedback is very greatly appreciated.

Thanks!!
Old Oct 1st, 2010, 03:32 AM

1. 'We are planning to fly between cities.'
-good idea since you have little time
2. 'We are not exploring Bangalore.'
-sensible,Bangalore has little to offer.
3. 'We will be there during Diwali, as I mentioned above.'
-Diwali,a little low key in Bangalore,as many on an
austerity measure & eco-conscious.Fewer fire-crackers.Lesser
polution.