Swiss & Changing Planes in Zurich

Search

Search this Thread

Old Dec 10th, 2023, 05:50 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

This is my first time traveling to Europe since Covid and my first two times were pretty easy. This time we are flying SWISS from O'Hare to Zurich. We have another SWISS flight from Zurich to Bergen, Norway. This is all on the same ticket. We are traveling with just carryon backpacks (hoping they don't need to get checked because of not enough overhead room). The layover is 2 hours and 25 minutes. It sounds like that is enough time. Do we need to go through customs/immigration/passport control/security? Any advice would be helpful. Of course, after booking, it seems that SWISS may not have been the best airline, but I was attempting to avoid London-Heathrow and Charles de Gaulle. Thank you!
Old Dec 10th, 2023, 11:17 AM

Received 50 Likes on 7 Posts
Originally Posted by mhyland75
This is my first time traveling to Europe since Covid and my first two times were pretty easy. This time we are flying SWISS from O'Hare to Zurich. We have another SWISS flight from Zurich to Bergen, Norway. This is all on the same ticket. We are traveling with just carryon backpacks (hoping they don't need to get checked because of not enough overhead room). The layover is 2 hours and 25 minutes. It sounds like that is enough time. Do we need to go through customs/immigration/passport control/security? Any advice would be helpful. Of course, after booking, it seems that SWISS may not have been the best airline, but I was attempting to avoid London-Heathrow and Charles de Gaulle. Thank you!

Welcome to Fodors -- your concern about having to gate check is a non-issue . . . totally. You will most likely be on a 777 so it is a very large, 2-aisle plane with masses of overhead bin space plus room under the seat in front of you.