Please help me redeem my FF miles for travel to Europe

Search

Search this Thread

Old Sep 23rd, 2010, 04:07 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

My husband and I will be cruising out of Rome next September, with a final stop of Venice. Therefore, I think I should be looking for open jaw reward travel. I have about 60,000 FF points with Delta and 60,000 FF points with US Airways. I understand that it is too early to book the flights, but I'm just trying to get some insider insight on the best way to use my (limited) FF points. We want to fly Envoy/Business class on at least the international portion.

Any suggestions, tips, etc., for getting the biggest bang for my FF buck? Thanks in advance!
Old Sep 23rd, 2010, 10:50 PM

I'm not an expert on Delta's or USAir's FF programs but I don't think you have enough miles in either of your accounts (Delta or USAir) to get one r/t ticket from the US to Italy let alone tickets for both you and your husband.

I did a quick search on Delta and it will probably run you around 100,000 FF Points per person for an economy award ticket. Not sure how many miles you'll need on USAir but it's probably a similar amount.

On Delta I believe you can purchase a coach ticket and use miles to upgrade. Depending on the "fare class" (i.e. full fare economy or restricted fare economy) and it will cost you either 15,000 miles PP each way to upgrade from a full fare economy ticket or 25,000 miles PP each way to upgrade from a restricted fare economy ticket. Whether or not you are successful getting an upgrade at the time of booking depends on the availability of "upgradeable seats" on the date(s) you are planning to fly. If you are flexible on your flying dates you stand a better chance of success.

To upgrade on USAIR I believe you'll need 30,000 miles plus $300 PP each way. Like with Delta your success in getting upgrade seats will depend on the availability at time of booking.