Search

Airplane Design

Search this Thread

Old Aug 3rd, 2006, 06:16 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Airplane Design

I am an Interior Design student researching travel design and I would like to know from frequent travelers what their airplane pet peeves and favorites are. Also, have you thought of an improvement to solve a problem you often face - I'd like to know. Thanks!
Old Aug 3rd, 2006, 07:52 PM

I would like two across seating, more leg room, and seats that recline more without annoying the heck out of the person behind me.
Old Aug 3rd, 2006, 08:00 PM

Oh, where to start....
Seats - everyone wants more room between seats but that is unlikely to happen as carriers cram in as many as possible to maximize revenue. How about the shape of the seat itself? Lumbar support would be nice, so would some padding on the seat that doesn't get compacted after a little use.

Overhead storage - the extended bins that accommodate rollaboard bags lengthwise are great.

Lights - adjustable lights instead of the fixed ones that direct a beam over your shoulder

Single aisle cabins suck on long flights.

Can they use some sort of photreactive coating on the windows to deflect some of the glare?

Audio jacks that are located on the arm rest in a place that is hard to reach when sitting in the seat, and the plug digs in to your thigh. Can it go on the front of the armrest?

The adjustable height headrests with "wings" are great.
Old Aug 3rd, 2006, 08:17 PM

Received 79 Likes on 8 Posts
Check out Boeing's 787 interior preview -

http://tinyurl.com/meaon
Username: wdtpreview
Password: wdtpreview
Old Aug 3rd, 2006, 10:03 PM

Cool Gardy, I want one........
8-)
Old Aug 4th, 2006, 03:23 AM

A beverage holder that's deeper, sort of like cars have rather than that little indented thing on the folded tray.

Bathrooms that are bigger. There has to be a better way to lay those out.
Old Aug 4th, 2006, 07:05 AM

Two things: