Study Abroad in SA - CT or Durban?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 1st, 2004, 08:32 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello. I am an American university student who is planning to study aboard in South Africa next year. I am trying to decide between the University of Cape Town and The University of KwaZulu Natal - Durban.

Assuming both institutions to be equal, the main decision is whether to live for 4-5 months in Cape Town or Durban.

Durban is attractive because of its subtropical weather ( I go to school in snowy Rochester, NY) nightlife, and the fact that it is driving distance from PMB and Joburg. It also seems to have a sultry, exotic flair when compared to Cape Town.

Cape Town on the other hand is often presented as "the" place to go in South Africa, is beautiful, and is a larger city than Durban.

Because I'm only going to be in SA for a semester I am looking for a place that is fun but laid back, safe of course, and able to pack as much of the South African experience in what is surely to be too short a time.

So Cape Town or Durban? Comments?
Old Mar 1st, 2004, 08:48 AM

I think it depends on what time of the year you will be here. Capetown does not have the best weather during the US summer while Durban is very nice. I think Durban is a bit cheaper. But I would say that UCT has a better reputation academically and probably has a better night life. I would not go into Durban at night but I would go into Capetown. I live north of Durban in a nice beach town but I am old and find to do around here!
Old Mar 2nd, 2004, 11:08 PM

I will fly my colours from the start ? I graduated from UND and have many, many very fond memories of my years there. To compare the two cities and campuses ...

Cape Town and the W Cape is a beautiful area, but IMHO Durban is much better ? especially from April to October in terms of weather, and you can actually swim in the surf without getting frostbite!