Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Africa & the Middle East
Reload this Page > Safari Camera Equipment/Film Help Needed. What Did You Use?

Safari Camera Equipment/Film Help Needed. What Did You Use?

Dec 4th, 1998, 06:50 AM
TC

Safari Camera Equipment/Film Help Needed. What Did You Use?

We are headed to Kenya and Tanzania on safari in January. Would love to hear what camera equipment/film/filters/lenses/etc. you used and how your pictures turned out. What would you change now after having been through the experience? Tell us about dust and dirt. Was it a big problem? What about tripod use, did you need one? How many rolls of film did you use? Thanks in advance for any help.

Dec 11th, 1998, 08:59 AM
MES

I am getting an Elan IIe camera with 24-85 USM zoom and (for our Botswana
trip) the 75-300 Image Stabilization zoom. I'm also planning on bringing a tripod. I'm new at all of this, so let me know more ideas.

Also, make sure to get good binocs!

Dec 11th, 1998, 04:35 PM
Judy

When I was in Kenya (some l5 years ago) I wished I had brought three things: ASA400 film, a 300ml lense and a good pair of binoculars.

It was a wonderful trip.

Enjoy!

Dec 29th, 1998, 06:05 PM
Jim