Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Buenos Aires Hotels

Plaza Hotel

  • Florida 1005 Map It
  • Grande Dame

Pros

  • Elegant lobby
  • Brimming with history
  • A fascinating view of the city

Cons

  • Check-in can be a lengthy process
  • Could use an update

Updated 07/10/2014

Fodor's Review

Originally built in 1909, this Buenos Aires landmark brims with old-school style—the elegant lobby, crystal chandeliers, and swanky bar evoke Argentina's opulent, if distant, past. Exploring the myriad nooks and crannies of this grand old hotel is part of its timeless appeal. Sadly, it could have been better maintained. Rooms are comfortable, if not particularly spacious. It has a quiet location at the top of pedestrian-only Florida Street overlooking leafy Plaza San

Martín.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Florida 1005, Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires, 1005, Argentina

Map It

Phone:

11-4318–3000; 800-228–9290-in U.S.

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 270 rooms, 48 suites
  • No meals

Updated 07/10/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all hotels in Buenos Aires

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By koala

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 27, 2012

Nice building, but problematic service

We'll start with the good: The rooms were fairly large, clean, with an older simple European type decore. Elite member lounge had good selection of items and comfortable furnishings. Now the bad: The service we received here was worse than any Marriott we have stayed at including some Fairfield Inn's. We arrived before check in so we had to leave our luggage with the front desk. Getting it later when we checked in was a big problem. We were told

they would bring it to the room, but after waiting for an hour we called to check on it as we needed to make it to a tango show that we had tickets for. At that point my husband went down to get it to carry it up himself. We also had a package mailed to them from elsewhere in Argentina during the early part of our trip so that we wouldn't have to carry it around with us on the rest of our trip. When we inquired about retrieving it, they claimed that they didn't have it, but we even contacted them in advance to check if that would be ok to send it and they said it wouldn't be a problem. Turns out they likely didn't look very hard for it or lied about it not being there as when my husband went down to retrieve our luggage he found it sitting on one of the shelves in the storage room. The front desk for check-in/check-out and the concierge desk seemed continuously swamped, so much so that people literally pushed their way to the front to get assistance. It seems that they just don't have enough space or staff in the lobby to adequately take care of their guests. I just expected more for my money here.

Read More

By Diverep

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 9, 2011

Marriott Plaza Hotel Review

I got a bag robbed within 10 minutes of arrival. In the front lobby. Security has the man on camera , staff doesn't seem to care, didn't even inform the next shift of security issue. Clerk concerned and compassionate , but security response is sadly lacking. I will report back any communication and promised follow up from Marriott. I will keep the faith for a short time.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 21, 2009

Poor maintenance

We checked out after two nights of a six night reservation due to ongoing maintenance problems in two different rooms: very low water pressure in shower, toilet that kept backing up, water flooding into closet and all over clothing, street noise. This beautiful old builiding deserves better care as do its guests.The front desk was rather unresponsive. The Plaza Grill on the other hand had excellent service and delicious food. Marriott refunded out

two nights stay which we appreciated.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 25, 2007

Historical Charm & Modern Convenienc

When is a Marriott not a Marriott? When it is the Plaza, managed by Marriott. This is no cookie cutter chain hotel. It is an historic property totally restored to its glory days. Each room is a little different, but all are befitting a five star hotel. This hotel features the best bar in Buenos Aires, a grand exercise room, a breakfast room with hand painted murals...and more granite, marble and crystal than you can imagine. The staff takes pride

in the hotel and in customer service...some of the staff have been working here for over 40 years....Great location. Great Service. Great Room. Who could ask for anyting more?

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 15, 2005

Some of the negative ratings have been written by angry people!

We loved this hotel and Buenos Aires. When we come back we will stay here again.

By Elena

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 24, 2005

Living off it's old reputation

This hotel needs major refurshiment...rooms are inconsistent and need to be updated. The rooms have a high street nosie since windows don't seem to be insulated. The Lobby is always very nosiy and staff seems frantic. The reception desk is staffed with inexperienced and uncaring personell. We stayed yer for 4 nights in february 2005 and would not consdier staying here again

By Jack

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 15, 2005

Faded Glory

Built in 1905, I'm sure is was grand in it's prime. But that was then. I visited in Jan 2005. It was hot outside, and it was hot in the room. The AC tried, but couldn't cool the small room. Hotel location is excellent! This is also a tour hotel and the public areas were very crowded at times. The breakfast (included in room price) was very good.

By Sherri

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 2, 2005

Not the hotel it probably once was !

I stayed at this hotel in November 2003. The building's design is beautiful and the lobby is grandiose, but the service is TERRIBLE and the rooms were ok. When we arrived from the airport, we were told that they did not have our reservation. Instead of figuring it out themselves, they made us go to the phone room and spend a fortune calling Marriott Rewards in the US to sort it out ourselves ! We were put in a room that was near construction that

was going on at the hotel. After asking to be moved, we were not ! The area is good,right in the middle of downtown, but I prefer Recoleta !

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 11, 2002

Spring in Buenos Aires at the Marriott Plaza

We highly recommend the Marriott Plaza if you are looking for an equisite hotel with the most gracious service we have ever experienced in the world this is the hotel for you. We were treated superbly from the minute we arrived at check in.. front desk, our concierge "Orlando" who made out trip fun and special, transportation at the hotel under the direction of Isabella who was available to make arrangements for a driver and answer our many questions,excellent

chef and food servers who went out of their way to make our dining experience enjoyable, our maid who kept our room as we would at home and was there to freshen our room with clean towels every evening and turn down our daily clean sheets in the evening while we were dining. The Marriott Plaza staff treated us like they appreciated our business and we appreciated each and every one of them for the excellent service we received.This hotel will make you want to come back!

Read More

By Carla

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 15, 2000

Old World Charm

We have stayed here for the past 20 years. Marriott is doing a great job renovating. The best thing is their employees, most of whom have been there for a long time and will do anything to make your stay enjoyable. The location is excellent.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement