Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Yellowstone National Park Restaurants

Lake Yellowstone Hotel Dining Room

Updated 11/25/2013

Fodor's Review

Opened in 1891, this double-colonnaded dining room off the lobby of the Lake Yellowstone Hotel is the park's most elegant place to dine. It's superior to the Old Faithful Inn in every way—the view, the service, the menu, and even the gorgeous china. Arrive early and enjoy a beverage in the airy Reamer Lounge. The dinner menu includes such attractive starters as an artisan cheese and dried fruit plate. Main courses include lamb, buffalo, steak, duck, quail, and fish dishes, as well as at least one imaginative vegetarian entrée. The wine list focuses on bottles from California, Oregon, and Washington. Reservations are not needed for breakfast or lunch, but are essential for dinner. Make them up to a year in advance with hotel reservations; otherwise, call a month ahead.

Restaurant Information

Address:

Lake Village Rd., 1 mile south of Fishing Bridge, Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming, 82190, USA

Map It

Phone:

307-344–7311; 866-439–7375

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed early Oct.–mid-May
  • Reservations essential

Updated 11/25/2013

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Yellowstone National Park

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 22, 2011

Lake Yellowstone Hotel Dining Room Review

Food is not bad, especially crabcakes , bison and wild salmon. But service is heterogeneous and if you've a table near a pilar, you can have chance to see the deserving tray with trah of the other tables for minutes and even for your whole diner...

By bigcow

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 31, 2007

I cannot see how this is Fodor's Choice

These people have no idea what is Medium Rare! i ordered a Medium Rare prime rib and got one that looks pink but its dry, not blood running at all! so, i sent it back and got an fettucini alfredo. i can understand the use of dry pasta, BUT i cannot understand why some are stuck togather. and the flavor... my wife had the idaho trout, the stuffing was perfect but the fish is dry... overcooked. I am no longer in the cusine design business as my day

job, my wife says my cooking is better than LAKE YELLOWSTONE HOTEL DINING ROOM that i raved about.

Read More

By Sandy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 15, 2004

If you order the simple food,

you will be better off. They don't seem to handle anything too complicated well. This goes for the Old Faithful Inn, too. Most of the food comes in frozen and is just re-heated by young inexperienced people in the kitchen. Not bad but not too great, either.

By Dan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 5, 2004

Bullwinkle Could Do Better

With Lake Yellowstone at your doorstep,the architectual bones this grand old lady, the dining room fails with little excuse. Two out of three evening meals were disasters. After soup/salad course, entree's arrived 40 mins later. After sitting under heat lamps, salmon fettachine came out solid as a brick - Beef tenderloin was fair. All in all, took 2 1/2 hours and $230 for the four of us to get through our first meal. Next night, meal went better

but it was work to make sure the service went ok. Strawberry Salad was actually good. Last night we were tired and just ordered the salad and desert. Took 45 mins to get the salad. After 1 hour and 45 mins, our ice cream arrived but still no coffee. Two memeber of our party excused themselves out of frustration. Breakfast was fair but still a struggle working with the seasonal staff. Many are college students working for "fun" in the parks. This is a wonderful opportunity for them learn service skills but management seems to have failed. I don't mind paying high prices to be in the park but the fast food chains and drive throughs seem to provide a better product.

Read More

By Paula

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 19, 2002

Lovely setting, (worth waiting for a window table)

We had two dinners at here. Both were good, not great, and one night the service was excellent, the next night not so good. The menu is varied and the prices reasonable, and it's worth waiting for a window table, especially if you have a glass of wine in the sunroom with live music. Overall, from what I've heard about the other places, it seems like the best bet in the park.

By Diane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 20, 2002

Beautifully average

This place was beautiful and well worth going to for that alone. Receptionist at the dining room was nothing short of rude, and the food was average. However, it is so lovely, it's worth the trip. Be sure to take the time to enjoy a drink in the lobby. It's lovely.

By Kay

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 16, 2002

Wrapping cooked into sandwich standard

Nice setting, varied menu, nice staff, but...while my husband's pasta special and the huckleberry dressing were good, it was hard to get over the cheese wrapper that was cooked into my sandwich. A little chewier than expected. When I opened the sandwich and showed it to the waitress, she said, "the same thing happened to me in the deli the other day" and walked away. This is the finest dining in the park?

By Carol

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 3, 2001

A good meal in the wilderness

We had two nice meals at the Lake Yellowstone Hotel last week. The choices are varied and all of our entrees were well prepared. The children's menu is the same as at the Old Faithful Inn but is extensive and gives variety to kids' eating at the same places all week. The dining room is very pleasant and the wait staff was friendly and pretty good. Worth getting reservations far in advance to ensure a spot. Enjoy a drink in the Sun Room (complete

with piano player) before or after dinner.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement