Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Yellowstone National Park Hotels

Old Faithful Inn

Pros

  • A one-of-a-kind property
  • Truly memorable rooms

Cons

  • Thin walls
  • Waves of tourists in the lobby
  • Shared baths make you recall college dorm days

Updated 11/25/2013

Fodor's Review

Easily earning its National Historic Landmark status, this lovely lodge has been a favorite of five generations of park visitors. The Old House was built in 1904 and is worth a visit regardless of whether you are staying the night. The lobby has a 76-foot-high, eight-sided fireplace, as well as bright red iron-clad doors, two balconies, and a fantasylike "tree house" of platforms, ladders, and dormer windows. You can stay in century-old rooms with thick wood timber walls

and ceilings for about $100 if you are willing to forsake a private bathroom. Rooms with bathrooms are in the Old House or the "modern" wings built in 1913 and 1927. There's no insulation, so it's closed in the winter.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

First left off Bypass Rd., Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming, 82190, USA

Map It

Phone:

307-344–7311; 866-439–7375

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Closed mid-Oct.–early May
  • 324 rooms, 246 with bath; 6 suites

Updated 11/25/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Yellowstone National Park

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 11, 2013

Unpleasant stay at Old Faithful Inn

The room we reserved on the geyser side of the hotel was not worth the money. The view was blocked by 2 trees. Our reservation for dinner at the dining room was lost. We encountered the rudest bartender I have ever met. Mike, the bartender greeted us with "Do you know what you want?" without making eye contact. When my wife asked are you talking to us, he made a smart comment. Later he threw a set of keys over my wife's head to someone behind us.

Won't stay there again. Poor value for the money.

Read More

By RWV

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 13, 2008

The Classic Park Inn

The total atmosphere experience can not be matched. The inn is hand made of wood & stone a 100 years ago. The wood beams, huge 4 flue fire place, very high open lobby, viewing deck above entrance & The Old Fathful Geyser were breath taking! Take the free tour of the inn & learn something. Sure the rooms were not elegant & the food could be better, but the staff was helpful & friendly. Many were foreign exchange college kids. If you can, book your

stay with a full moon & watch the guyser from the deck. Stayed 3 nights on the second floor with a view of The Geyser & elevator access. Wish it were a month! Absolutely loved The Inn!

Read More

By sashley

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 21, 2007

Great building, bad food

I would recommend staying at the Inn a few nights just to enjoy the historic ambience of the building. It's not a luxury hotel but was clean and had great towels! We ate at the Old Faithful Inn dining room and, while the atmosphere was nice, the food was not good at all and very overpriced considering the quality. We found food throughout the park to be consistently poor--aside from a few breakfasts we enjoyed at the soda fountain counters at the

Hamilton and Canyon Village general stores and the sandwiches we picked up at delis. In our opinion, dining in the Park suffers due to Xanterra's monopoly.

Read More

By Betsy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 31, 2005

At least one night

We stayed at the Inn even though it is not the kind of place I would normally stay. The history and location of the Inn deserve at least one night. I think we stayed 2. The accomodation was as expected, a small room with a hall bath. All I did was sleep in the room with my husband and 2 kids. Nothing to write home about, but a great old hotel. And you can't beat the price!

By Debbie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 1, 2004

Don't think so..and the only reason I'm giving a "1" for each catagory.....

My husband and I are about to enjoy our 25th wedding anniversary and are looking to a place to drive to from Denver (Parker, Colo. that is) and are looking for part of Americana that we can enjoy. We want to hike, horseback ride, photograph (my biz), learn to fly fish (catch and release) and be in American wilderness yet comfortable and that includes TV and Radio. THIS AIN'T IT!!!! Might as well pitch a tent. It sounds like we may choose the Snake

River Resort and Spa. Even though it's pricey and although we've never been to either one, it sounds like SRR is well worth it for two. BTW... if I leave the rating at an "*" does that mean that I am giving it a "Fodors Choice" or am give it less than a "1" or a "Poor" rating??? Hmmmm

Read More

By Joanne

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 6, 2004

Mice! Mice! Mice!

The place is dark and crawling with mice. They have a "no kill" policy and expect guests to sleep with mice in the room or sonic devices if one complains. It's a nightmare. Mice feces in community baths and in rooms.

By m

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 22, 2003

If you want to see the geyser at dawn,stay here

get a room facing the geyser- we saw it perform many times from the room. you can hear it with the windows open. batchroom is v.small but updated. restaurant looks great, but by third night you've had everything. still a great place to stay. The atmosphere and music in the lobby is good but all trhe seats were taken by people who did not even buy a drink!

By Wayne

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 19, 2003

Best Hotel in America

We reserved a mid-range room, but were given a premium one. Our two-day stay was our finest hotel stay ever. The room was beautiful. The lobby is the epitome of vacation-lodge ambiance. There is nightly piano music on the second-floor balcony, and one night the pianist was joined by a violinist.

By Kay

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 16, 2002

Old hotel says it all

Staying in the original hotel gives what one would expect in such an old hotel--small rooms with minimal furnishings, original lighting too dim to read by, either no heat or heat too hot so have to open window, noise from hall and upstairs, etc. In fact, we think the employees housed above us were renovating their room each night when they returned at 2-3 a.m. We were next to the shared bath--convenient and not noisy. I liked the historical feel,

just put in my earplugs and opened the window. Take the hotel tour.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 16, 2001

Faithful But Not Quiet

The paper-thin walls in our room, with the conversation next door nearly loud enough to participate in AND the walking above our room -- made a night's sleep at this historic inn nearly impossible. The atmosphere is terrific, however, so I would suggest taking a tour of this lodge, but not staying here.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement