Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Cleveland Restaurants

John Q's Steakhouse

  • 55 Public Sq. Map It
  • Steakhouse

Updated 12/31/1969

Fodor's Review

The hardwood floors, cherrywood, brass, and sports memorabilia complement the prime cuts of beef at this downtown chain restaurant known for its pepper strip steak and fresh vegetable sides. It's across the street from the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel. Open-air dining is available on the front patio.

Restaurant Information

Address:

55 Public Sq., Cleveland, Ohio, 44113, United States

Map It

Phone:

216-861–0900

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch weekends

Updated 12/31/1969

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Jack_K

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 22, 2013

Out of Business

Closed on June 15th, 2013. Plans are for a new restaurant to be called JQ's Steakhouse to open in August but this will be owned and operated by the Legndary GCE Group based in Las Vegas and not related to the previous owner(s).

By JT

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 23, 2005

Just average

Food is a terrific disappointment. Go to Johnny's On Fulton each nite you are in Cleveland

By Todd

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 12, 2005

Have had a better steck at Ponderosa

Nice atmoshpere, great scallop appetizers, BUT...the reason i went there was for the steak - i got the peppered strip and it was a horrible quality steak - tough, tendons...i doubt it was really a strip cut...when informed the manager of quality problem she responded "I hope you'll give us another chance..." - fat chance.

By Dale

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 13, 2005

$$ food for $$$$ prices

John Qs has a nice enough atmosphere and the food is not a disaster but more was expected from this venerable Cleveland restaurant. The Lamb was pretty good and the Pretzel breaded halibut was OK but we won't be going there next time we visit Cleveland

By Diane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 28, 2002

Skip it and go to Mortons!

This steak house was highly recommended by our concierge at the Intercontinental. The food was very pricey but I don't think that the quality was there. Morton's is much better and it's across the street. I won't return here for the mediocre food, the server was slow and unattentive.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement