Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

New York City Sights

Brooklyn Bridge

  • E River Dr. Map It
  • Bridge/Tunnel
  • Fodor's Choice

Updated 02/24/2014

Fodor's Review

"A drive-through cathedral" is how the journalist James Wolcott described the Brooklyn Bridge, one of New York's noblest and most recognized landmarks, perhaps outdoing Walt Whitman's comment that it was "The best, most effective medicine my soul has yet partaken." The bridge stretches over the East River, connecting Manhattan and Brooklyn. A walk across its promenade—a boardwalk elevated above the roadway, shared by pedestrians, in-line skaters, and cyclists—takes

about 40 minutes and delivers exhilarating views. If you start from downtown Manhattan, you'll end up in the heart of Brooklyn Heights (you can also take the subway to the Brooklyn side and walk back towards Manhattan). It's worth noting that on weekends when the weather is nice, the path can get pretty congested; it's most magical, and quietest, early in the morning or during sunset when the city lights come to life.

Read More

Sight Information

Address:

E River Dr., New York, New York, 10035, United States

Map It

Updated 02/24/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all sights in New York City

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 9, 2010

Brooklyn Bridge Review

This bridge was constructed in 1883. It was designed by John Augustus Roebling, Washington Roebling, and Emily Roebling. This bridge was the first steel wire suspension bridge and it was the longest suspension bridge on Earth until 1903. This bridge was built because it was a direct link between Manhattan and Brooklyn.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 14, 2008

A stunner -- walk it

A remarkably beautiful bridge well worth seeing in its own right. Even better, there's a wide pedestrian walking area which is a must-do -- seeing the bridge this close up is wonderful, and assuming you walk from Brooklyn to Manhattan, the view is first rate. Absolutely should be at the top of any New York City agenda.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 20, 2008

Great idea - but start in Brooklyn

We recently moved to New York and when my sister came to visit, several co-workers recommended that we walk across the Brooklyn Bridge. One smart co-worker recommended that we take the subway to Brooklyn and then walk back to Manhattan - much better views. He was right.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 17, 2008

I am not a great walker but........

If you are in New York and don't walk the Brooklyn Bridge you are missing one of the great treats of the city. I like to walk it from Brooklyn to Manhattan so you are looking at the skyline the whole time. I have a problem walking for too long but this is one you can do at your own pace and rest along the way - although there are only seats at the beginning and end. You can easily lean against the wire and gaze at one of the most beautiful sights

in the world. Have a go - it is worth it.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 17, 2008

Walking the Brooklyn Bridge on an Autumn Afternoon

Late last September I walked the Brooklyn Bridge on a sunny Sunday afternoon with my son and a few thousand of our closest friends. It was lots of fun and a great experience.

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 16, 2004

Free and Easy!

Museums, ferries, and the view from the ESBldg all cost you -- this doesn't. And the views are spectacular on a clear day. Takes about 45-50 minutes to walk across, depending on how many pictures you stop to take.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Experience

Ease

Value

Don't Miss

Advertisement