Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

New York City Hotels

The Lowell

Pros

  • Great location
  • Service with a personal touch
  • Charming decor

Cons

  • Cramped lobby
  • Expensive

Updated 02/20/2014

Fodor's Review

This old-money refuge was built as an upscale apartment hotel in the 1920s and it still delivers genteel sophistication and pampering service in an unbeatable location. Steps from Madison Avenue shopping and the Museum Mile, the Lowell is on a leafy residential block. The lobby is small, but guest rooms have all the civilized comforts of home including stocked bookshelves and luxe bathrooms. Thirty-three of the suites—all decorated in different themes—have working

wood-burning fireplaces, and 14 have private terraces. The elegant Pembroke Room serves a hearty breakfast and fine afternoon tea. The in-room iPods and iPads (on request) and New York Times delivered to the room are nice touches.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

28 E. 63rd St., between Madison and Park Aves., New York, New York, 10065, USA

Map It

Phone:

212-838–1400; 800-221–4444

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 27 rooms, 47 suites
  • No meals

Updated 02/20/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in New York City

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 22, 2007

location/house feel

Small, friendly and my family and I are always remembered. When I was a kid had great fun meeting the actors in the elevator!

By Amy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 23, 2005

Best Hotel in the City

We stay at the Lowell every time we go to NYC. Staff is always the same, they remember us. It's perfect for our family. The suites are fantastic! And they are so nice. As a friend of mine says, it is a jewelbox of a hotel. Perfect!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 3, 2001

Quiet, intimate, viewless

We stayed at this off Central Park Hotel over Christmas, 2000, wanting a respite from the hum of larger hotels in the City. Some cabbies had no idea where it was which probably indicated its out of the way location. The staff were courteous and a lot of French was spoken but the Gallic charm in the small lobby and corridors was absent. Our first room was not the one promised, so when we complained they upgraded us to a small suite which was actually

quite nice. The view was the back wall of a very close building with windows peering into ours, so needless to say, our shades were closed most of the time. We tried the main restaurant once and found some "attitude" from the staff with average care and service, so we never went back. For the money, we did not think the class was there, and probably would not revisit. However quiet money may like this quaint retreat in the middle of the upper east side.

Read More

By James

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 22, 2001

A real gem

What a rare find in New York. I normally stay at the Four Seasons, and thought I would make a change, since I was travelling with my wife. From the moment I arrived I felt I was at home. The front desk and the bellman were warm and friendly and I was even upgraded. When I arrived in my suite, a nice lady called me up offering champagne, we had our fire lit, and did not really move from the suite all weekend. I have not found better anywhere!!!!!!!

I will be back as soon as work allows!!

Read More

By Gayle

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 12, 2001

Can't Beat the Location, But That's About It.

The hotel lobby is teeny, weeny. No lobby bar or common area to sit in though. The Post restaurant, a steak house is attached and was very good. The concierge when called three days prior ot 7:00 p.m. regarding help with dinner reservations said he couldn't help us as he was only the night concierge and we should call back (!) during the day to speak to the day concierge. No offer to take name, number or details was made. The suite was like an

old one bedroom apartment with a little kitchen. Overall it was quite spacious, except for the bathroom. When we booked we were quoted $695 for a one bedroom suite and for a deluxe one bedroom suite and were told both were available. The suite was VERY shabby. The chairs in the living room were actually heavily stained with huge, disgusting liquid marks on the seats and the fabric was frayed with the stuffing showing through. The furniture was not clean. The carpeting dirty and dingy. The walls were quite stained too. The bedroom was mildly better but not by much. The room was not made up on Saturday until well after 2:00 despite a sign on the door and us leaving it at 9:30. The fireplace, a much hyped feature of their suites was not laid for a fire. There wa no wood or kindling in the suite. A note said to call for the fireplace to be stocked and lit and that only the first time this is done would be complimentary! On the good side, for the most part, the staff were lovely, other than the front desk person we spoke to about the suite not being a deluxe suite. We called down to ask if the suite was a deluxe and told, quite indignantly it wasn't and there isn't any difference except it would be on a higher floor but I wouldn't likely be "any happier"! For this kind of money, I'd expect everything to be EXCEPTIONAL. There are much nicer properties out there. I wouldn't return to the Lowell. A terrible value!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 21, 2000

Very Relaxing

This is a great hotel, I have stayed here twice both times during summer. The first time I sated in a suite and the second, a room. Both visits where very comfortable and very 'homely'. I would definately come here again, the food is great, the atmosphere is calm and the facilitys are excellent.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement