Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

New York City Restaurants

Peter Luger Steak House

  • 178 Broadway Map It
  • $$$$
  • Steakhouse
  • Fodor's Choice

Updated 02/25/2014

Fodor's Review

Long before Brooklyn was chic, even the snobbiest Manhattanites flocked to Peter Luger's, which fired up its grill for the first time in 1887. Other steak houses have more elegant ambience, bigger wine lists, and less brusque service, but the meat here makes the trip undeniably worth it. Three tips: bring a meat-eating buddy or several (individual steaks are available, but porterhouse is served only for two, three, or four), make a reservation (prime slots fill up more

than a month in advance), and bring lots of cash—Luger's doesn't take plastic. The lunch-only burger is beloved among locals, as is the bacon appetizer, available by the slice.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

178 Broadway, at Driggs Ave., Brooklyn, New York, 11211, USA

Map It

Phone:

718-387–7400

Restaurant Details:

  • No credit cards
  • Reservations essential

Updated 02/25/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in New York City

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 15, 2013

T3: Teflon Tourist Trap

My spouse and I dined at Peter Luger for Sunday lunch in early March 2013. We made the reservation via telephone (they do not accept online reservations) about 30 days in advance. We waited on hold for about 10 minutes before someone answered the phone, despite listening to a message replay over and over about how they valued our business, and despite the fact that we called on a weekday mid-morning, long before lunchtime. Our reservation was

for 12:45 pm, which is opening time on a Sunday. Parking is complimentary in a vacant lot on the next block (and across the street) from the restaurant; however, the lot was locked and unmanned until just prior to the doors opening at 12:45 pm. They do not offer valet parking, but you can stop your car in front of the restaurant and unload guests, if necessary. (We found free parking on the street, because it was Sunday.) We (along with about 20 other diners) were made to wait on the sidewalk until precisely 12:45 pm, when we were admitted to the bar area. Each group lined up to give their name to the man with the clipboard, then we were made to wait another 15 minutes (all of us) in the bar area until they were ready to start seating people. The dining rooms have a beer-hall feel, with wooden floors, tables, and chairs; coat hooks adjacent to each table around the perimeter hold your belongings. (We are not sure where the tables in the center of the room hang their coats.) Despite the half-hour wait, we finished our meal in just over an hour, all for the grand total of $200 (including tip, but with only one beer and no other alcohol or wine). The menu is rather limited; we expected to see various cuts of steak listed, but saw only “sirloin” and “steak for two/three/four”; we are not sure whether we ate rib eye or Porterhouse or something else. (There was no filet mignon on the menu.) Disappointingly, the steak for two (at $99.95) was NOT the best steak we have ever eaten; when it arrived at our table, the steak was already cut in sections (reminiscent of a London broil). The waiter tipped the plate so that the fat drippings would pour to one end of the platter, but after he served each of us a few slices, he spooned the liquid fat on top of those slices. The German potatoes that we ordered as a side were dry and crumbled. We enjoyed the thickly-cut bacon slices that we added to our tomato and onion salad topped with their house made steak sauce/dressing. The service was sloppy and gruff (as previously reported by other diners/reviews). When our waiter served us our steak, the fat dripped onto the stained and scarred wood (tablecloth-less) table as if it were a regular occurrence and completely normal; the only thing that could have been worse with the atmosphere and service would have been using a paper napkin and plastic cutlery. The bread basket was fairly tasty, with three different kinds of rolls (two of each kind). When we asked to take home our leftovers, they were dumped into two plastic bags (at least they put the steak and the potatoes into separate bags), which was kind of gross! (In trying to salvage the great deal of money that we spend on our meal, we thought that we could at least salvage the potatoes by covering them with eggs and serving them along with a side of leftover steak and a roll for a late-night snack.) The restaurant accepts cash, debit cards, personal checks, and the Peter Luger credit card (who would want to eat there so often that they would apply for a card?). We are glad that we can cross Peter Luger off our "places that we want to eat" list, but we felt that it was overpriced for the quality and atmosphere. We cannot understand what all the fuss is about!

Read More

By Queenie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 15, 2006

The Best Steak IN Manhattan

We eat here once a year when we are in NYC. The steak is superb. Order the side of bacon, indulge in the onion rolls, but skip the hot fudge sundae - overrated and not made with real whipped cream. You have to make a reservation months in advance. Skip Old Homestead and eat here instead.

By Lois

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 4, 2006

Good choice for a special birthday celebration!

We went to Peter Luger's for a special birthday celebration with our kids. There were six of us, and we all loved it. Our steak was excellent -- very tender and tasty. The sides were also very good. Our service was excellent, which surprised us, as we had read some negative comments regarding that. The room is certainly not decorative and the tables are a bit shoddy, with mismatched tables, uneven chairs, and a bit crowded together, but it was

a 'fun' experience.

Read More

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 1, 2004

It's better than the rest!

I was eating there one night, and Jackie Mason, and Raol Felder were waiting on line to get in. The guy at the next table (Henry Kissinger) and I agreed that they wouldn't wait on line in any other place. Jim "A"

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 5, 2004

My husband said steak is excellent

My Husband and I went there this weekend whil ein NYC. He had the steak for 1 and said it was outstanding. Steak for 1 can easily serve two people however. The creamed spinach and Gewrmand Potatoes were very good as well. I had the Salmon as I don't eat beef. It was a huge portion -- enough for two people. It was good, but nothing close to my husband's excitement over teh steak.

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 8, 2003

Simply the best

My friends and I were fortunate enough to enjoy a meal in Peter Lugers recently. I had NO idea that steak could taste SO good! The atmosphere was exactly how it should be - unpretentious. It's all about the food. I've read some reports that the menu is limited and the surroundings tired. BUT, Lugers do not pride themselves in offering the finest fois gras or serving up the best lobster in NY. It does however serve up the very best steak around.

Why lower the standard just to have a fuller menu? It's a steakhouse - they serve STEAK! I'm sad that there aren't more places like it - restaurants that focus more on the food than on lighting etc. Well done Peter Luger!

Read More

By Frank

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 22, 2003

SKIP THE PALM, TO HECK WITH MORTON'S

If you want the very best steak in the entire city of New York, go to Peter Luger's. It's that good.

By Peter

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 13, 2002

Heaven for Heffers

Simply the best steak in America, bar none.

By Dino

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 8, 2001

More of a Myth than a Legend

After hearing and reading all the wonderful comments about this establishment it was a disappointment. Not expecting any special Atmosphere we went strictly for the steak and it was far from great. Medium rare should not be chared on one side , and when questioning the waiter he was obviously offended and replied that it was medium rare. I have experienced a better Steak many places in the country!

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 12, 2001

HOLY COW!

Best steak in the world. Get tomato salad, creamed spinach and strudel MIT SCHLAG....

By Marc

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 25, 2001

It Doesn't Get Any Better

If you want the BEST steak, go no further. Don't ask for a menu or they'll think you are a rookie. Just get the tomatoes and onions, steak for as many as you are, some potatoes and leave room for the pecan pie and schlagg. p.s. don't fill up on the great rolls.

By Charles

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 20, 2000

OK

I just didn't think my steak was that good. It is, however, a very cool experience - feels like you're dining at the end of the 19th century. You'll need to make reservations far, far in advance.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement