Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

New York City Restaurants

Jean Georges

  • 1 Central Park W Map It
  • $$$$
  • French

Updated 02/25/2014

Fodor's Review

This culinary temple in the Trump International Hotel and Towers focuses wholly on chef celebre Jean-Georges Vongerichten's spectacular creations. The chef may now have restaurants sprinkled around the globe but this is the spot in his culinary empire you want to be at. Some dishes approach the limits of the taste universe, like foie-gras brûlée with spiced fig jam and ice-wine reduction. Others are models of simplicity, like slow-cooked cod with warm vegetable

vinaigrette. Exceedingly personalized service and a well-selected wine list contribute to an unforgettable meal. It's prix-fixe only. For Jean Georges on a budget, try the prix-fixe lunch in the front room, Nougatine.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

1 Central Park W, at W. 59th St., New York, New York, 10023-7703, USA

Map It

Phone:

212-299–3900

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Reservations essential

Updated 02/25/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in New York City

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 15, 2012

Jean Georges Review

Not Perfect My spouse and I dined at Jean Georges for Sunday lunch in July 2012. We had looked forward to eating at this Michelin 3-star restaurant for years, but we were only satisfied (not awed) with our experience. Our Sunday lunch reservation was not difficult to obtain, made easier by booking through Open Table. Although jackets are required for dinner, they are optional for Sunday lunch. When we arrived at 11:30 am for our 11:45 am reservation,

we were told that they did not begin seating until precisely 11:45, and we were directed to wait in either the Trump Hotel lobby (which was smallish and very busy, probably because it was check-out time), the bar at Nougatine (which was full), or the outdoor patio at Nougatine (which looked lovely; however, the weather was steamy, hot, and humid). We elected to wait in the hotel lobby, along with two other couples who were also waiting to be seated. We weren’t offered drinks as we sat in the lobby; however, someone did come to fetch us at 11:45 when our table was ready, which was a pleasant surprise; we thought that we would be forgotten and have to present ourselves again to the hostess desk. The Jean Georges restaurant is attractive, with stark white modern decor, high ceilings, and three walls of windows; however, you must traipse through casual “little sister” restaurant Nougatine to enter; on Sunday at 11:45, it seemed that all the hotel guests were present having breakfast. The doors between the two restaurants remained open the entire time of the lunch service, so the Jean Georges setting was less than serene. To compound things, we were seated at the front corner of the room, and although the table position gave us a great view of Jean Georges, it also allowed the noise and commotion from Nougatine to color our dining experience. A service stand was positioned right next to our table, so servers were constantly stopping there to enter orders and pick up/put back wine bottles and water pitchers. I’m not sure that there is an ideal table in this space; several service stands surround the room, and some of the tables are a bit close together. One table for two was tucked into an alcove; a nice, private spot except for the table immediately fronting it. The dining room appears to hold approximately 50 or so guests, at tables for parties of 2, 4, and 6. Two menu options are available for lunch – a 6-course tasting for $128 (set menu without choices), or a 2-course menu for $38 (with several choices from each of three categories); with the 2-course menu, additional course are available for $19 and dessert is available for $12. For the 2-course menu, certain dishes such as egg caviar, foie gras, white asparagus, and scallops come with a supplemental price. We chose the 6-course tasting menu, and were mostly happy. We (and all diners, even those with the 2-course menu) started with a 3-part amuse-bouche of a shooter of popcorn soup, a cube of marinated watermelon topped with feta cheese, and a sort of pickle slice. Next came an egg custard topped with caviar and complemented by a basil sauce. We also dined on yellowtail ribbons with avocado and radish, ravioli with peas and tomatoes, skate with spring vegetables, and rack of lamb with a chili sauce. All the dishes were beautifully presented, and the ingredients were delicious; however, the accompaniments for the skate and the lamb were absolutely redundant in both appearance and taste. The cherry dessert tasting was amazing, with four components – a sort of deconstructed black forest cake, cherries jubilee, crème brûlée, and sorbet. Following dessert, we received chocolate mignardises and the Jean Georges signature homemade vanilla bean marshmallows. Service was acceptable, with some servers clearly having a better handle on things than others. One of our wait staff appeared to just be learning, and she cleared our bread plates and glasses much sooner than they should have been. We felt that the beverage service was a bit slow, and our glasses were often empty (which is surprising – if they had offered more drinks, they would have made more money). Our lunch was not perfect, but it was a good meal with decent service at a fair price (when you compare its price with the other Michelin 3-stars in town like Per Se and Masa).

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 24, 2008

Special Evening Out

Outstanding! Excellent for that special occasion with service that is second to none. You won't be disapppointed.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 6, 2006

One of the best places to eat in this world

Quality of product, art of presentation, exquisite preparings and an overwhelming taste. One of the best (Guide Michelin three star) restaurants we have been to recently. Outstanding wine list and service are obvious. Expensive of course, but worth every Dollar. Try the lunch, the quality is the same and the prices are much lower.

By Peter

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 7, 2003

Huge Disappoinment

Six of us had the winter tasting menu or the Jean Georges tasting menu and we were all very upset, the flavors were boring, the sauces too contrived and the service condescending. Unlike his other restaurants like VONG, we will never return.

By Brian

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 12, 2002

Close to perfection!

Maybe we just hit everything right, but dinner at Jean Georges was about as close to perfect as I've seen. The dining room was beautiful, service was attentive but not overbearing (we had theatre tickets, the staff kept an eye on the clock for us), and the food was everything you have heard. Unable to choose between desserts, we were brought dessert tasting menus (4 choices for me, 4 DIFFERENT choices for my dining companion) that were simply amazing.

Fruit soup, which sounded rather unusual, was delicious! Find a special occasion and go!

Read More

By Maja

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 22, 2002

The best!

This is a MUST when in New York. The food is fabulous, the best quality! French Cuisine with Asian influences. The dining rooms have a modern, airy design and you see Central Park. They always have the most beautiful flowers. If you don´t want to spend too much go for the Lunch Menu at Nougatine for $20 (Feb.02) for appetizer, entre and dessert. Or try the main dining room. I haven´t eaten better! Try the red beet salad - The salad dressings are

a speciality! You won´t regret it!

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement