Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Boston Hotels

John Jeffries House

Pros

  • Great Beacon Hill location
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Good value

Cons

  • There's a busy (and noisy) hospital across the street
  • No spa or gym facilities

Updated 11/11/2013

Fodor's Review

Right next to the Charles/MGH stop, the John Jeffries isn't only easily accessible, it's affordable—a veritable home run in this city. The turn-of-the-20th-century building, across from Massachusetts General Hospital, was once a housing facility for nurses. Now it's a four-story inn with a Federal-style double parlor that serves afternoon tea or coffee. Rooms are full of handsome upholstered pieces; nearly all have kitchenettes. Triple-glazed windows block noise from

the busy Charles Circle, and many rooms have river views. Nearby Charles Street is home to lovely cafés, specialty stores, and antiques shops.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

14 David G. Mugar Way, Boston, Massachusetts, 02114, USA

Map It

Phone:

617-367–1866

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 23 rooms, 23 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 11/11/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Boston

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By soccr

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 29, 2009

Perfect for pedestrians

The Charles Street T stop is right out front making it exceptionally useful for those who don't want to deal with a car in Boston (and no one should). Rarely a problem with noise, charming location.

By Dave

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 3, 2006

Charles Street Gem

We visited Boston for a week in October and couldn't have chosen a better location. At the end of our long days, we felt like we were home. If you can walk one mile, you can visit 90% of the Boston sites and the subway is right across the street. Wonderful old Beacon Hill is one block away. Just a great place to stay.

By Lola

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 26, 2005

Perfect!

This hotel was very clean, quaint and close (right across the street) to the Red line T station. The staff are kind, if somewhat distant, and the fresh fruit and hot drinks are wonderful. Our rooms looked very fresh and clean and the kitchenette was well stocked with pots and untensils and looked new! Although it is near a somewhat busy street, the charm of the garden which surrounds the house and its convenient location make up for it. Still, I

would not recommend it if you want a REALLY quiet and relaxing trip as it is near a hospital and sirens can be heard at times. (but the noise was NOT unbearable) Also, the hotel is not wheelchair accesible, which also means it is difficult to get up the stairs with wheeled luggage :-() The TV in the room was REALLY tiny with not that great of selection , but hey, if you're in Boston, who wants to sit around watching TV all day? The breakfast was not astounding, but fine if you just need a little something in the morning. In the end, I would definately reccommend John Jeffries and would return in the future.

Read More

By Kim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 19, 2004

a beacon in Boston

My family loved John Jeffries House. We are a family of four, mom-dad-sons 14 & 11, who need space to stretch, but appreciate when that space is clean, we had both. Excellent location with great places to eat, plus a gourmet grocery store literally steps from the front door stocked our exceptionally clean kitchenette. We walked across the foot bridge to feed the ducks on the Charles at sunset. Boston Common is a short, and lovely, walk from here,

as well as many other places of interest. Wonderful staff, fresh fruit, round-the-clock coffee and tea, yet they could lose the dull pastries, but hey with all the other pluses for John Jeffries House-who cares about pastry?

Read More

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 26, 2002

Beacon Hill Beauty!

We found the John Jeffries House to be an excellent choice. Our room included a kitchenette. The location is such that one can walk to the "T'" train, Boston Common, or even Fenway Park.

By Amy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 26, 2000

Excellent Value!!

We were very excited when we stepped off the "T" and saw this 4 story elegant brick house complete with manicured gardens. The location was perfect, just a few blocks from the Boston Commons, and the rooms were clean and nice. I highly recommend the JJ House as the best value hotel in Boston!

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement