Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

New Orleans Hotels

Melrose Mansion

Pros

  • Private and luxurious, with lots of pampering
  • Renovated property
  • Breakfast included
  • Access to pool and gym is complimentary

Cons

  • One night's stay is charged prior to arrival

Updated 04/10/2014

Fodor's Review

A few minutes from the French Quarter, this renovated Victorian mansion turns on the grandeur with antique furnishings, hardwood floors, cathedral ceilings, and large chandeliers—and lots of luxurious, modern conveniences. In the rooms are king or queen beds dressed in fine linens, along with modern amenities that include Wi-Fi, mini-refrigerators, flat-screen TVs, and iPod docking stations. Baths are marbled and sumptuous; three rooms have Jacuzzi tubs, and one has

a private patio. Cocktails are served each evening in the formal drawing room.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

937 Esplanade Ave., New Orleans, Louisiana, 70116, USA

Map It

Phone:

504-944–2255; 800-650–3323

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 11 rooms, 3 suites
  • Breakfast; No meals

Updated 04/10/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in New Orleans

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Kathy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 18, 2004

Wonderful Mansion

I have nothing but great things to say when referring to the Melrose Mansion. We had a beautiful room inside of the mansion. The ambiance and sourthern hospitality coinsides well with such a beautiful place. We spent most of our time relaxing by the beautiful pool. The Melrose Mansion is not in the middle of the French Quarter but close enough to all my favorite places which was fine for me.We will return. I love the place I love those people.

I even met great people staying there as well. Overall my stay was wonderful.

Read More

By Jason

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 13, 2004

Perfect Honeymoon Setting

My wife and I just returned from a wonderful honeymoon experience at the Melrose. The setting was superb and the staff was very welcoming. It definitely made for one of the memorable experiences from my honeymoon.

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 23, 2004

Wonderful B&B

I just returned from a very romantic honeymoon with my wife to New Orleans. We stayed at the Melrose and the staff and setting made all the difference in the world. The mansion is beautiful and comes highly recommended from me. I will definitely return!

By Leann

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 28, 2003

Wonderful place at any price!

After seeing the reviews I feel obligated to inform the readers of my wonderful experience at the Melrose. Upon my arrival I was comforted in the parlor with a complimentary mimosa and from there we felt as though we were in our own world--be it the decor or the service. I can't beleive that I have stayed at the same place as some of the other travelers.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 28, 2003

Go for Sasha and Beth's true Southern Hospitality

While we had quite a few problems both before and during our stay at the Melrose Mansion, two of the front desk Managers, Sasha and Beth made all the difference. We were treated so well by these ladies, that we actually left New Orleans feeling like we made lifelong friends. While there were problems with maintenance, cleanliness, there cancellation policy and the General Manager, Buddy Gonlag, the exemplary customer service skills of Sasha and Beth

quite literally made us completely forget about all the difiiculties we experienced. We would return just to visit these two wonderful ladies.

Read More

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 25, 2003

The Melrose was a wonderful choice!

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful stay at the Melrose Mansion! I have read these reviews and I can not believe that this was the same hotel. I did notice some of the complaints that were mentioned and I would like to comment. The breakfast is excellent the only flaw is that it extremely busy. I would suggest to order room service the night before, if dining in the parlor go early after 9am it is packed. Also ask to eat outside by

the pool this is the best seat for breakfast and the service is great! The condition of the house is good remember that you are in a 126 year old house. Overall the staff is excellent and the hotel is great I would recommend!

Read More

By Jean

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 18, 2003

Not recommended unless discounted rates

Just returned from a long weekend at the Melrose and I must say that we were quite disappointed with our room and service. We stayed in the Parc Henry suite (carriage house off the main house). Some notes: 1. Staff and service are subpar for the prices charged. Twice our room was left unlocked after cleaning. Our toilet paper was left unreplenished. Called the front desk to order breakfast and several times there was no answer or we were put on

hold for over 10 minutes. Overall not a lot of professionalism as one might expect paying $375/night. 2. Room is not as nice as described. Our suite resembled a small apartment that we could have borrowed from a friend. Nothing special about the decor or furnishings. There really is no "view of the French Quarter skyline" as we are only one level above ground. Towels are old and scratchy. Some good points: heated 24 hour pool. Location far enough from the Quarter to avoid noise, close enough to walk. (Contrary to prior posts, the Mansion is NOT located out of walking distance from the Quarter. It is on the northeastern tip of the quarter and requires a 5-10 min walk to the heart of the quarter.) If you look at their website, you will notice most of the positive reviews which they quote on their main page are dated from the early 90s. It seems a lot quality degradation has occured since then, and needs to be stemmed before I would consider recommending this place or revisiting.

Read More

By Colin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 29, 2002

Melrose is perfect...but not at their full price

Just stayed at the Melrose. If you are lucky enough to get a summer rate or reduced rate, say under 150$, then by all means it is beautiful and the service is definitely above average. However to be honest, at thier rack rates, theres better value for your dollar in New Orleans. We did have a beautiful suite witha large bathroom and the inside of the house is restored beautifully. For 250$ and up I would have been dissapointed.

By Mack

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 7, 2002

The only way to go!!

After reading about The Melrose Mansion in "Fodors" and then the "Opulence" publication, in three different issues I thought it was to good to be true. Well, it was everything they said and then some. It's very private, accommodating, relaxing and exclusive. From the moment we stepped into the foyer we felt like we were visiting old friends. The old world charm mixed with the modern was a pure delight. What's refreshing was the staffs' knowledge of

places to go and things to do outside of the French Quarter area. The prearranged services; from the limo pick to the restaurants and tours, everything was top shelf. The room was appointed with antiques and fresh flowers. It sure beats staying in a cookie cutter type room. We can't wait to get back to see our new old friends.

Read More

By Rachel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 7, 2002

Staff is Supurb and Beautiful Property

My recent stay at the Melrose was wonderful. I seen no problems with any of the property. Everything was in wonderful condition. They greeted me and my husband with a complimentary Mimosa and told us to relax from that point on we were pampered by the wonderful staff. This place has my vote and I will pass the word about how wonderful it truely is. Southern hospitality at its best.

By Judy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 23, 2002

Did we all stay at the same Melrose?

I was hesitant to stay here after reading the most recent comments on this site, but after assurances from Alex and Herman (Melrose staff) we decided to go ahead with our reservation here. We spent a long weekend here (Fri-Mon) and were across from the bar mentioned in previous reviews the whole time and never heard a peep out of anyone. No loud garbage trucks either. Could it be the other reviewers haven't stayed in a city before? There are cars

that drive down the street with music louder than necessary, but nothing that kept us up. The room and mansion were lovely, and if there were a few places that needed sprucing up, it was really very minor. In an older city in an older hotel, things don't have the same sterile gleam as a new chain hotel, but then they don't have the charm either. The Melrose Mansion has the patina of old silver, that's been polished over the years. The staff was friendly and helpful, but also respected our privacy. And as long as we followed their advice as to which streets to stick to, we didn't feel unsafe walking to and from the hotel. I guess beauty really is in the eye of the beholder.

Read More

By Frank

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 5, 2001

Honeymoon from Hell

My wife and I both fell for the brochure and the honeymoon suite. We booked our trip (which was to take place after our cruise got back into New Orleans) paid in full. Approximately 1 month prior to the trip we were contacted and told that there had been a computer glitch and they had double booked the room. They would move us to another "equivalent" room in one of their sister hotels right next door or give us a refund. The refund wasnt appealing

as there was nothing available because we were there in the middle of several conventions. When we arrived we discovered that some very wealthy person flew in his 30 closest friends for his 50th birthday. They bumped us out of the honeymoon suite (the birthday boy got it) and main hotel for his party. Needless to say we were very upset. The "equivalent" room did not have a working telephone (though there were many) or television, a broken shower door, no shower head, and was not what I would even remotely consider clean. We were stuck there in town with nothing else available during the middle of convention season. If it were not for our limousine driver (Joe from Nicoll's) who got us a last minute suite at the W French Quarter the second half of our honeymoon would have been ruined. I travel extensively for work and this was the single worst treatment I have ever received from a hotel. I demanded a refund on the spot and that they pay for transportation to the other hotel. I am glad to say that the hotel and staff at the W French Quarter made up for the miserable turn of affairs. STAY AWAY AT ALL COSTS

Read More

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 14, 2001

Where's Bob Villa When You Need Him

Note: I am a strict grader, so take the lower scores with a grain of salt. Stayed in the Honeymoon Suite. Lovely room (not as large as you may otherwise believe), but not worth the price. Also, the entire mansion needed work at the time of our stay, i.e., chipping paint, cracked doors, walls, floors. Not what I had expected. Most importantly, it's not in the best neighborhood - which is important because it's a long walk to the heart of the French

Quarter. Short cab ride, but we went through a lot of cash in cab fare. Otherwise, staff was friendly and helpful when called upon - maybe I should have asked them to spackel.

Read More

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 2, 2001

WATCH OUT!

We just returned from this hotel and had nothing but problems. There is no longer a car service from the airport included (although no one told us!). Also, when they asked if they could make our dinner reservations, I said of course. I even called them to make sure everything had been taken care of. But when I arrived at the restaurant, they had no reservations. And the staff at the hotel said they couldn't contact us to let us know, even though

we had been at the hotel that day and had called them to confirm everything. I suggest a different hotel.

Read More

By Jaime

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 25, 2000

Wonderful service! Melrose is the way to go.

I just returned from a long weekend in New Orleans, and I must say that Melrose definitely made my trip! The mansion is gorgeous and comfortable, the service is exceptional. The staff really know how to take care of their guests! I felt steeped in luxury during my entire stay. The location is also ideal for those who want to have access to everything but prefer to keep their distance from the hustle and bustle of the quarter. After a long, hot

afternoon of shopping, you can always look forward to the cool calm of the mansion to unwind. I can't wait to go back!

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement