Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Chicago Hotels

The Tremont Hotel Chicago at Magnificent Mile

  • 100 E. Chestnut St. Map It
  • Practical Base

Pros

  • Great location
  • Good value

Cons

  • Some guests have complained of small rooms and slow elevators

Updated 06/11/2013

Fodor's Review

Just off North Michigan Avenue, this hotel's restaurant, Mike Ditka's, gets infinitely more attention than the rooms do, although its standard guest rooms offer all the essential amenities, including work desks and free Wi-Fi. Need more space? Book one of the suites at the Residences, which are equipped with full kitchens and are more like studio apartments or corporate housing. The property attracts many European budget travelers.

Hotel Information

Address:

100 E. Chestnut St., Chicago, Illinois, 60611, United States

Map It

Phone:

312-751–1900; 800-621–8133

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 130 rooms, 5 suites
  • No meals

Updated 06/11/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Chicago

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 4, 2005

LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION

We booked Tremont through Priceline and after reading reviews, we were very apprehensive!! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The staff was cordial and helpful. Yes, the hotel is old (so are we), but the rooms were clean, the bed comfortable and the towels plentiful!! We had a wonderful view of the Hancock building in the next block and the location was superb. We'll go back!!

By Bob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 6, 2004

Quality Slipping

An unpleasant experience recently with the hotel not able to fill our room type request because previous guests had decided to stay longer. After about a 2 hour wait to get into substitute room in the adjoining Tremont Suites. The room was dirty, had worm carpet, dingy and drab. We had to ask for an alarm clock, glasses and wash cloths. The staff was mediocre. No one to help with luggage when we arrived, little concern that our requested room

type was not available, the valet parking attendant was sent to help with luggage upon checkout. We decided not to use dishware in the small suite kitchen when we witnessed the cleaning person rinse out dirty glasses, wipe them dry with a bath towel and place them back in the cupboard. All in all it was an experience that will have us looking for another favorite hotel for our visits to Chicago.

Read More

By cheryl

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 30, 2003

Holes in the Lamp Shade

There were two good things here, location,location,location -to mag.mile and thank God the bed was good. Other than that, the price was horrible for a dinky room, worn out carpet, mildew on the bathroom wall with hole in bathroom floor and furniture with scratches I would not even give to salvation army!!. Wont, come here again. Also thank goodness for the Starbucks across the street, they couldn't find coffee pot in the morning and no coffee -

how does one loose a coffee pot???

Read More

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 29, 2003

not bad for the price

fabulous location, great prices, friendly and helpful staff, smallish but clean rooms with serviceable furnishings which have seen brighter days, but are certainly not dilapidated. if you're looking for a great deal, and aren't the kind of person spending huge amounts of time in your room, it's a great property. I had a room beside the elevator, which got me more space in the bathroom/dressing area, and no more noise than anyone else from passing

folks conversing in the hallway. My only concern: mold/dust around the ventilation ducts -- in need of very good cleaning, and quite problematic for folks with allergies. That needs attending to, badly.

Read More

By Barbara

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 9, 2003

the Old World Elegance has turned too seedy for us!

It was just about the opposite in every category from what we expected.No room service. No robes. No breakfast available. The rooms were tattered & we switched rooms 3 times because they weren't close to what we had confirmed for. Bad sheets. Not Clean. And BIG spiders! Ick! The bright spot was the front desk man Jacob- he was really a gentleman. We tore out of there at 10:00 P.M. because we just couldn't take it.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 27, 2001

Forget remodeling, how about a good cleaning?!

I wish these reviews were dated. I found the rooms to be cramped and dirty. Stained and peeling wall paper, VERY dusty curtains, headboard barely hanging on to the wall by a single nail, the bed was reminiscent of my days at summer camp and yet they found the nerve to charge $215/night... Location is not bad, but unless there's a convention in town there are definitely better options.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement