Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Chicago Hotels

The Talbott Hotel

  • 20 E. Delaware Pl. Map It
  • Clubby Atmosphere

Pros

  • Hotel has an updated look
  • Staff goes out of their way to please

Cons

  • A hike from Millennium Park and Museum Campus

Updated 06/11/2013

Fodor's Review

The Talbott is a European-style boutique hotel in a great location in Chicago's Gold Coast, with elegant guest rooms decorated in muted browns and creams, and a lobby that brings to mind an English manor house. Built in 1927, the hotel retains bits of that historical feel but has also focused on making the space eco- and tech-friendly. Guests get free admission to a nearby gym. It's a hotel where the guest comes first.

Hotel Information

Address:

20 E. Delaware Pl., Chicago, Illinois, 60611, United States

Map It

Phone:

312-944–4970

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 149 rooms, 29 suites
  • No meals

Updated 06/11/2013

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Chicago

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By txhawki

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 16, 2007

Perfect spring break base

Best value for money hotel I've used in a major city period. Rooms updated, clean. Service excellent. Used Tim to help with theater and dinner reservations. Very good. Close to subway, buses, shopping, dining and visitor center. Nice neighborhood. Only future concern is pending condo construction nearby. Check front desk for status of construction.

By Debra

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 20, 2003

Nice area but views lacking

My husband and I returned from a weekend in Chicago--our first visit. We stayed at the Talbott. The location is great--the heart of the city. The entrance to the hotel was warm and inviting with two fire places blazing. The staff was welcoming and courteous. The room itself was done in deep hunter greens and burgendy tones. We opted for a lower level since we were told there were no views anyway. Our room was quite warm--this was due to the older

heating unit (old fashion furnace). The view was awful (we were on the 2nd floor--room 209 to be exact). We faced a smallish house made into an office building and a backyard/driveway which reminded me of a gas station parking lot. We stayed one night there and opted to stay with our friends who live in Chicago. The price was 149.00--the best rate I could find in all of Chicago.Keep in mind tax added on another 30.00 or so. For a boutique hotel is was nice but as for the view (if that is important for you) you may want to spend the money elsewhere.

Read More

By Lacy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 22, 2003

Wonderful Hotel and Staff

We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay at the Talbott this past weekend. It was a very elegant hotel with a quiet room and spacious sleeping area and bathroom. The staff was wonderful and treated us like royalty. The bellmen were also very helpful in storing our baggage and hailing a taxi for us. What a wonderful time we had at the Talbott! We plan on staying there again for all of our future visits to Chicago.

By Rita

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 8, 2002

Wonderful Getaway

We've just returned from a wonderful trip to Chicago and it truly was a pleasure having included the Talbott.The staff was very attentive, helpful and kind.The room was comfortable and the location superb.Room service was quick and the coffee hot. Bravo Talbott.

By Diane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 8, 2002

Charm & Value

We honeymooned in Chicago and found the Talbott Hotel just charming. The rooms aren't spacy, but they're not small, and they are tastefully decorated. They recently redid the bathrooms in marble. The staff was gracious and very quick and attentive, and the location can't be beat. We were pretty much within walking distance of anything you'd want to do in Chicago. There are lots of cute little "living" neighborhoods nearby that were fun to explore,

and of course we were close to all the tourist sites. I don't think you could get more for your buck.

Read More

By Clayton

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 13, 2002

Wonderful Find

This smaller hotel caters to the Ralph Lauren crowd with its Polo Shop style lobby. The room sizes are nice (although there was an "older stench" in my room), the service is outstanding, the atmosphere is terrific. The hotel is in the middle of everything and is one of the best surprises I have found in Chicago. Would definitely stay there again.

By Cindy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 20, 2001

boutique hotel close to boutiques

Great location, intimate little lobby area...steps from trendy little shops and restaurants. Service was unobtrusive and we snagged a great deal on our room just be calling the hotel directly. They are currently undergoing renovation, but our stay wasn't marred by noise or mess. We've stayed at MANY of the bigger hotels along the Mag. Mile and weren't too impressed, but would go back to this one in a heart-beat (esp. post-redecorating). HOWEVER,

no valet parking.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement