Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Walt Disney World Orlando Hotels

Walt Disney World Dolphin

Pros

  • Access to all facilities at the Swan
  • Easy walk or boat ride to BoardWalk and Epcot
  • Excellent on-site restaurants

Cons

  • Daily self-parking fee
  • A daily resort fee covers Wi-Fi and Internet access, use of health club, and local phone calls
  • Room-charge privileges stop at the front door and don't extend to the Disney parks

Updated 04/30/2014

Fodor's Review

A pair of 56-foot-tall sea creatures bookend this 25-story glass pyramid, a luxe resort designed, like the adjoining Swan, by world-renowned architect Michael Graves. The fabric-draped lobby resembles a giant sultan's tent. All rooms have either two queen beds or one king, with pillow-top mattresses, down comforters with crisp white duvet covers, and overstuffed pillows. Rooms have flat-panel TVs with an interactive resort information system, along with views of Epcot,

Disney's BoardWalk, or Hollywood Studios. The pool's cave and waterfall are so inviting that the kids won't complain if you escape from the midday heat at the parks for a relaxing cool-down.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

1500 Epcot Resorts Blvd., Lake Buena Vista, Florida, 32830, USA

Map It

Phone:

407-934–4000; 800-227–1500

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 1,509 rooms, 112 suites
  • No meals

Updated 04/30/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Walt Disney World Orlando

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 27, 2008

Disney's best Hotel in Orlando, Florida

I really love Dolphin hotel. Best special rates for $169.00. I can't wait to stay in the Dolphin. I give this hotel a Excellent mark. Disney keep the nice work.

By deech77

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 31, 2007

One Shot Convention Hotel

The public areas are generally nice, but the hallways are vaguely claustrophobic. The room layout was interesting, but not bad. The room furnishings are what is expected at this price point in this locale. Thankfully, there are good restaurants here, because the room service food quality is atrocious at this price point. I have stayed in hotels ranging from $35 per night to over $350 per night. I have never encountered such a high percentage

of uncaring and miserable staff people in one hotel. I guess that they assume most people are here on conventions and won't be back. The staff certainly does whatever they can to ensure no returns.

Read More

By jess

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 9, 2006

not the whole Disney experience

If you have younger children and are looking for the true Disney experience this is not the place to stay. The hotel seems dedicated to conventions. Pool area is nice and is convinent to all areas.

By Kevin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 26, 2004

A $69 treat!

We stayed on a Priceline bid mid-July of 2004, for three nights. I asked politely upon arriving for a balcony and they said I could have one no extra charge if I didn't mind a wait... after one hour in the middle of the afternoon we had a nice balcony overlooking the swan and the boat launch -- very enjoyable. A huge hotel, if you don't like walking you may want to avoid this resort as it is a distance from one end to the other.... but overall it

was a great place to stay and enjoy the pools and facilities.

Read More

By mj

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 30, 2003

DOLPHIN IS DEVINE

Just back from a WONDERFUL stay at the Dolphin!!We were there from 11/22-11/27 and the staff couldn't be nicer!The room was great as were the pools and the beautiful grounds!The location is THE BEST! Our family of 4 will be back!!

By Joe

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 10, 2003

Whimsical Dophin

We were leery of staying at a non-Disney resort but decided to give this unusual looking resort a try as we have stayed in every other deluxe resort on property. When we first entered and saw the lobby we were a bit taken aback...it appeared to be a tent....a fabric tent. The more we looked around this resort & the Swan, the more we realized how whimsical both resorts are. This is the architecture of famed architect Michael Graves. There is beautiful

art work around the lobby (and in other areas) along with a large fountain and in the evening there is a pianist playing in the lobby. Quite lovely to walk through the lobby while listening to this. The rooms are colorful and quite attractive with their water-themed colors. There are not many balconies but we were lucky enough to have one & it over-looked the YC/BC & BW resorts. The view was breath-taking as we could also see IllumiNations. We spent quite a bit of time in the evenings just relaxing on the balcony with cool drinks. This was a wonderful part of the trip. The service was tops- we never had any problems with the special requests that we made through housekeeping or the front desk. The location of this resort is perfect, being within a water taxi/walk away from both EPCOT & MGM and the YC/BC and BW resorts. One evening we walked over to the BW for a wonderful dinner at Flying Fish & fun at Jellyrolls. There are NUMEROUS top-notch restaurants not only within these resorts but also in that EPCOT area. One of the hidden secrets of this resort is the pool. It is not just a regular pool but one that is spread out over 3 acres w/ waterfalls & hot tubs, kiddie areas and a beach w/ water craft rentals. Each resort also has it's own lap pool. Directly across the street is the Fantasia Gardens miniature golf course. You can't ask for more in any resort. All in all, we totally enjoyed our stay and will be coming back.

Read More

By Janice

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 7, 2003

Location, Location, Location

I stayed at the Dolphin last year with a friend and the location was simply perfect! The hotel was clean, the staff were attentive and the rooms were way above my expectations. I cannot wait to return.

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 7, 2003

We loved this hotel

Although this isn't an official Disney hotel, we loved staying here. The decor was absolutely gorgeous, the food delicious, and the service exemplary. I was expecting this to be a nice hotel, but what we really got far outweighed my expectations. The cool thing here, too, was that we could use the Disney transportation or not, depending on what we wanted to do. Does anyone know where I can write to thank the management? We definately want to go

back and stay there again.

Read More

By James

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 6, 2002

Location, Location, Location!!!!!

This resort was absoulutely beautiful right in the center of Walt Disney World. A Short walk from Epcot, a 5 minute boat ride from MGM studios, steps from the boardwalk and the views from the guest rooms have to be the best in all of Disney World. The groto pool and sand beach was amazing!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 7, 2002

Nice atmosphere, but would not pay full price for room

I stayed in the Dolphine in Septeber 2001 on my honeymoon. (Was there for 9/11). The property itself is really nice. The pools and lake beach are really nice also. The service was ggod, there was a mix up on my bill when it was time to check out, but it was taken off with no problem. The food is very pricey (but what isn't everything in disney world). I stayed in a regular room and it was nice, very clean, and decorated cute. I paid $150 a night

with my entertainment discount, without the discount, the room would have been $300.00. I would have never paid that for this type of room, because there was nothing special about it to make it worth $300.00. It is a really really nice hotel just a little too pricey for $300.00 a night for a basic room. I would go back and recommend it.

Read More

By Nick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 16, 2001

A Magnificent Hotel!

I recently stayed at the Dolphin and it was fantastic. The hotel staff was very nice and efficent, the concierge was knowledgable and was able to get us reservations to any resteraunt. The room was nice, but what really made it special was the view; we were on the 18th floor (in the pyramid) and we had a spectacular view. We could see MGM studios, Epcot and miles beyond. Having a view of Epcot was fantastic because we could see the fireworks everynight,

it was really magical. The pool was very elaborate with waterfalls and little canals, and the beach was a great place to sit, relax, and just take it all in. The lobby was huge with a large fountain in the center. However, the hotels greatest atribute is it's location. Within walking distance of both Epcot and MGM it makes getting to and from the parks easy. However, if you can't stand the unbearable humidity you can tak a boat transfer to both MGM and Epcot, which are very convenient. Furthermore, the services are very good as well. There is a nice gym, game room, laundry room and numerous resteraunts which range from fine dining to fast food and are very convenient. I've stay at 6 different hotels at Disney World and this is one of the best.

Read More

By Brenda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 8, 2001

Ambiance isn't everything

While the atmosphere in the lobby, on the grounds and within the rooms is clever and interesting, the poor service, horrible food, and average rooms make this a bad value. Location is great, but really isn't worth the price.

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 5, 2001

Ideal Location & Fabulous Pool

Although the rooms are nothing special, this property and the Swan are ideally located within walking distance of the Boardwalk and Epcot, offer boat rides to Epcot and MGM, and bus rides everywhere else. The pool is fantastic...it tempts you to pass up a day at Disneyworld. And the 24-hour "buffeteria" is a great convenience. We will definitely return!

By Jessica

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 7, 2000

It almost looks like a mirage

This was a wonderful hotel that had every imaginable amenity. The room was very light and airy, with island decor, and the hallways had a beach scene painted on the walls and doors. The restaurants, although pricy, covered every base: Mexican, 50's diner (with great milkshakes), and light seafood fare, to name a few. The huge indoor Christmas tree, and the cascading fountain outside really gave one a feeling of a magic. A boat outside the hotel

took one to Epcot (which was also within walking distance) and MGM Studios, and shuttle buses took you anywhere else. In addition, the Disney Boardwalk was right around the corner. My only complaint was the price, I had the cheapest room, at $275 a night, and it overlooked the HVAC equipment (killed the magic a little). Other than that, a completely wonderful experience.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement