The Tampa Bay Area Hotels



Saddlebrook Resort Tampa


At a Glance


  • away from urban sprawl
  • great choice for the fitness minded


  • a bit isolated

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

Saddlebrook Resort Tampa Review

If you can't get enough golf and tennis, here's your fix. Situated about a half-hour north of downtown Tampa, Saddlebrook is one of west Florida's top resorts, largely because it has so many things in one spot—36 holes of championship golf; the Saddlebrook Golf Academy; 45 clay, grass, and artificial-surface tennis courts; a Harry Hopman tennis program; a full-service spa; a fitness center; and a kids' club. Varied accommodations include one-, two-, and three-bedroom suites, making it a good place for families.

    Hotel Details

  • 540 rooms, 407 suites.
  • Rate includes no meals.
Updated: 05-02-2013

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Room  

    Horrible beyond belief.

    With all due respect to Patrick of Boston, we were most dissapointed with Saddlebrook. Nothing went right during our weeks stay from 4/19 - 4/26. We flew into Tampa and had business at the Villages (60 miles away one way)and had rented a car through Saddlebrook. We couln't find reservations available in the Villages area for the entire week or we would have changed. The discription of Saddlebrook sounded like Heaven on Earth. It isn't. Anyway our shuttle driver from Saddlebrook needed to wait for us because Continental lost my husbands luggage so we got a 1/2 late start to the hotel. I had found the van and told him what was going on and said we were so sorry, but he needed to file a claim. It was around 8:30pm when we got going. He sped, tailgated and swerved in and out of traffic. We told him there were no seatbelts in the back but he didn't care. I'll never be scared of a NY cab again. We got there in one piece, checked in and come to find out no cars are allowed on premises. You have to valet you car and either walk or wait for a golfcar shuttle driver. How convenient. We were taken to our building, shown up creaky wooden steps to a suffy smelling room with equally creaky floors. Being too tired to care for the moment, we opened a wine from the not that cold minibar (which after 3 calls during the week to have it restocked-it never was) and settled in. Next morning I was greated with a gecko lizzard on the pillow next to me. How fun, not. Turns out we didn't notice that the window screen was pushed out just enough to let in creatures and we had opened the window a little for some fresh air. We didn't have a down cover on the bed, it was a plain thin spread. Wall paper in both of the baths was peeling, the tub in one needed a good cleaning, the fridge in the kitchen was dirty, linens are washed every three days to save water. We had requested a car with a GPS, they couldn't have cared less to try to get one. We ordered room service (VERY limited menu) one evening. The pizza was delivered rather cold but we were hungry. We had the dinner no more than 10 minutes when we were called asking if the tray was ready to be removed. HUH? My husband said we would call when it was. We left 2 slices, called and were told to leave the tray outside. In case I didn't mention it, there are no halls, it's all outside entrances. The next morning the tray was still there but the dishes were not stacked as we left them and, get this, the pizza slices were gone! God knows what showed up. We were ignored by all staff members however all of the those there for meetings or conventions almost had their feet kissed. I don't know how many times we had to ask for service. I was told not to be so "snippy" by the gal at the pool bar when I asked why we were being ignored for all of the young patrons when we had been sitting and waiting for more than 10 min. and they weren't that busy. We left never to return. BY THE WAY AN 18% GRATUITY IS BUILT IN TO ALL CHECKS REGARDLESS OF THE PARTY SIZE. When ever we brought up something to the front desk, which was only 5 times-the mini bar and pushed out screen and a car with GPS, it was met with total lack of interest or concern. We usually take things in stride and are not that picky or demanding but to be treated like we were for no reason is not fair. It states that the Saddlebrook has been renovated, I would hate to have seen it before. Oh yes, it states that the rate included 2 meals. HA. We asked and got some mumbo-jumbo that is only for some packages and that they have discontinued the dinner portion of the package. Also, in Fodors review it states that it's only 12 miles from Tampa. Be aware that is the city of Tampa, NOT the airport. It took a good 30 minutes to get there. What a dissapointment. You get what you pay for.

    by Parkergal, 4/30/08

Add your own review


View more trip reports

· News & Features

View more blog stories