Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Miami Hotels

Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Pros

  • Excellent restaurants
  • Historic design mixed with all-new facilities
  • Fabulous pools

Cons

  • Away from the South Beach pedestrian scene
  • Massive size
  • Bizarre mix of guests

Updated 05/09/2014

Fodor's Review

Vegas meets art deco at this colossal classic, deemed Miami's biggest hotel after its $1 billion reinvention, which spawned more than 1,500 rooms (split among 658 suites in two new all-suite towers and 846 rooms in the two original buildings), 12 renowned restaurants and lounges, LIV nightclub, several sumptuous pools with cabana islands, a state-of-the-art fitness center, and a 40,000-square-foot spa. There's so much going on in and around the hotel that you can easily

forget about the downy sands directly behind the property. And much like a cruise ship, there's plenty to do for party-ready adults and restless kids and teens alike. The property teems with new amenities, but thankfully everything is not new: two Morris Lapidus–designed, landmarked exteriors and lobbies were restored to their original state. Rooms, however, were completely gutted, down to the beams, and given new, contemporary designs. This is a complex of historic proportions that's made Mid-Beach rival South Beach as Florida's most trendsetting neighborhood. At night, those of drinking age who are tired of waiting to get into LIV nightclub, get their drink on in the Lobby Lounge.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

4441 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, Florida, 33140, USA

Map It

Phone:

305-538–2000; 800-548–8886

Hotel Details:

  • 846 rooms, 658 suites
  • No meals

Updated 05/09/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all hotels in Miami

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By juani

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 23, 2012

Fontainebleau Review

I stay for 4 days and every single person in the hotel was super polite , is 10 minutes to south beach but you aren't in the noise of ocean drive , the Gottan steak house inside the hotel is something from another planet , and the wine list , be ready giganted. I stay in a master bethroom whit my girlfriend and each have a double bathroom , great view and just wanna say this is the best , above everything else ,

By jac346

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 3, 2010

Fontainebleau Review

I'm back at the Fontainebleu after a year since my last visti. Both trips are for business conferences. In less than 2 hours I was reminded why I would never spend my own money to stay here. I had lunch by myself at La Cote in the hotel. The restaurant added an 18% tip "for my convenience". How nice of the management to help itself to my money. When I was hear a year ago the staff set a new level of incompetence by losing my car - yes my

car. I valeted it when I checked in. One night I wanted to drive it to Miami and the valets could't find it! It took them 2 days to figure out what they had done with it. Thankfully they found it in time for my scheduled check out. The hotel is beautiful but the service is lacking and all the fees are a ripoff. They charged me to sit in a chair next to the pool! Apparently being a paying guest isn't enough to get to use the pool. Everywhere I turn there was a fee "for my convenience".

Read More

By tej1037

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 28, 2008

Will be Fab when finished- Not yet

27/8/08 - Refurbishment was meant to finish in mid-2008, but is still underway until end Oct 2008, and we were woken daily by drilling at 7.30am. Outdoor gardens and pools not usable due to Building work being done, however there are 2 pools on 4th floor of Sorrento block, and 7th floor of Tower, which are outdoor. No restaurants are available yet, just a small Breakfast bar open in the lobby in the morning, which becomes the only Hotel Bar in the

evening. Staff are most welcoming and the finished bits are very very smart. Only given a $30 day reduction for all this inconvenience for 3 of us, for the 3 days booked directly with hotel- nothing for the 4 days booked with Hotels.com- Car valet parking is expensive at $30 day, but no alternative. I hope we can afford this place when its finished though, it will be spectacular- we just feel a bit conned as expected it finished.

Read More

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 20, 2005

Once Mighty, Now just Average

Stayed here last week as part of a business/Golf trip. One can tell that this place was once spectacular, but was allowed to deteriorate, and is now undergoing renovation. They have a way to go. The main entrance is unused, and instead you drive up to new entrance located between the old hotel and the new tower. This necessitates quite a hike to check-in. Our bags were taken from our car, which we valet-parked, and were delivered to our room promptly.

Overall, my experience here was not bad, but I spent very little time at the hotel. Food at the restaurant buffet was so-so, about what you'd expect at a wedding, and the drinks at the lobby bar were overpriced ($18.90 for 2 cocktails). Note that 18% gratuities are automatically added to checks (restaurant & bar), which eliminates any incentive to provide good service, and may well explain all the complaints here about service quality. Bottom line, for the money you could do better elsewhere, and that's a shame. This place has so much potential, and such rich history. Obviously, they are in need of a turn-around manager.

Read More

By Julie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 8, 2005

Don't be Scared by Previous "Rants & Raves" of this Hotel!

I was initially timid about staying at the Fountainbleu after reading other guests ratings of the hotel. However, I found the experience at the Fountainbleu to be very nice. Room was recently remodeled, pools were great - especially "Cookies World" for the kids and service was efficient. Restaurant off the main lobby was very nice as well. Hotel is currently under further upgrades and renovations with the addition of another condo tower. None

of this exterior construction had begun when I visited. Boardwalk along the beach was also very nice. I would definitely stay here again.

Read More

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 5, 2004

Miami in June

Two days before heading to Miami, I read the reviews on the site. Big mistake! I almost called my travel agent and canceled my trip. First, yes it is expensive but this place is not the Jersey Shore, its a resort! Yes, you pay top dollar for everything but its worth it, including the cost of the lounges at the beach. The staff made my family and I feel right at home throughout our entire stay. For those of you that need more than hotel food

try the restaurants on 41st street, about a 7-8 block walk from the hotel. A special favorite was the Crystal Café  Awesome Food, Awesome Service!

Read More

By Karen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 30, 2004

Fountainbleau will leave you BLUE!

Had to be one of the worst hotel stays we've ever had. How it's rated a 5* property escapes me. We had lousy service, expensive, mediocre food, dirty, cramped room...etc... Hilton should be ashamed to have their name associated with this hotel! Don't waste your money!

By Lorenzo

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 2, 2004

Worst service in the entire world

Things seemed fine the same Xmas week 2 years ago but the concensus was that this place has really gone downhill. Everything is concessioned out so their standard answer is that they can't fix anything. The outdoor bellhops take a tip and then drop your luggage off at the front door instead of carrying it in. "It's a concession" replied the manager. They left my relatives' luggage out in the lobby after it was checked so they just picked it up

themselves and took it to their room--no supervision at all. They would not make a concession for my 80 year old parents just to get a room key while they were checking in 1,500 cheerleaders. (No joke). They erred in the type of room they gave me and the front desk clerk argued with me that I had "asked for" the worse room. The room was $300 a night--now add $3 for the room safe which didn't work, $10 a day for TV internet which didn't work, multiple room taxes & fees, $42,80 for four lounge chairs at the beach but no cushions were left--no discount --BECAUSE IT'S A CONCESSION! The business center was closed almost all week so there is no computer access unless you have your own laptop. Reason? The business center is a CONCESSION! One hour in two lines at Coconut Willie's for a sandwich and Coke. A concierge who couldn't tell us about museums because as she confided, "I don't go to museums." The standard solution is to give you some coupons for the $14.95 breakfast buffet and I was shocked to see how many people handed these in to the cashier. They also subtracted some charges and then added them right back come the final bill! NEVER AGAIN!

Read More

By Sue

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 30, 2003

Masters at Pleasing

We booked a "unique" SOBE hotel online and were very deceived. We checked out and at 2a.m. the Fontainebleau took our tired family in and gave us red carpet treatment. Pools,beach and restaurants are family friendly. Views are great, and you feel safe at all times.

By Linda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 25, 2003

Inconsistent!

I arrived late in the evening and because they were 'sold out' (forget the fact I had a guaranteed 3 night stay) they put me in what was basically a closet with a fold out bed. But hey, they said they'd comp me for it so I should have been ok with this? Not quite. I won't even go in to the fact that the first closet was smoking and the bell hop handed me the new keys and didn't even offer to move my bags. Argh. After SEVERAL complaints to the

front desk they finally moved me to an ocean view room the next day. The light in the bathroom sounded like a bug zapper, it took two calls to have it repaired. The fact that the windows didn't open was a little like just putting a screen saver on the window. The room itself was nice enough or the rating would have been lower. The location leaves quite a bit to be desired also. My recommendation, for the money stay elsewhere.

Read More

By Thomas

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 12, 2003

Seaviews but souless

Never stayed at a deluxe hotel with less charm than this monument to bad taste. One has the impression that thousands work there with the single objective of looking busy. Furnishings are scratched, dirty and falling apart and certainly don't make the mistake of eating anything anywhere there. Everything has a homogenous deep fried taste. Do yourself a big favor and stay far away.

By Tracey

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 26, 2002

Save yourself -- don't go

This big monster of a hotel has a certain tacky charm and our room had an achingly stunning view of the beach and the ocean. Also it was very peaceful and quiet, and the pools and surrounding area were nice. That said, I would NEVER recommend this hotel. The service was very poor, the room was violently ugly (and we were lucky enough to be situated in the renovated area!) and it was exhorbitantly expensive. For the price we paid, we expected far

better. This is not a first class, luxury hotel by any stretch of the imagination.

Read More

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 8, 2002

The worst hotel I've EVER experienced

The location is beautiful - right on the beach with a boardwalk extending in both directions. The lobby and facade are impressive as well. However, the room was terrible. For $300 per night, I had a room that was litterally 1/8 of a mile from the lobby. The room itself was worse than you would expect from any ecconomy chain. Furnishings were dated and in rough shape. There was mold on the bathroom floor, shower curtain, refrigerator. The smell

of mildew permeated the dark room and hallways. I found burned matches and butts in the corners. The linens were thin and stained. The drapes were falling off the rods, the window was so dirty I couldn't look out to see the ocean view! Finally, the service was terrible as well; check-in took forever, I received a newspaper only 2 of the 5 nights I stayed, the bellman ignored me when I needed a cab. My lunch sandwich was bland, expensive and the bread was stale. In summary, I would never stay in this hotel again! I could have rated it with 0 stars, I would have.

Read More

By Dina

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 10, 2001

No change after the remodeling!

I had been to this hotel about 2 years ago, before it had been remodeled, so I was willing to give it another chance. Unfortunately I did not notice much change at all. The rooms were just OK for the discounted price paid, and could have been much better. I did have concierge level rooms so it is possible they were nicer than the regular rooms. The ocean front views were beautiful.The spa was maybe a step up from the Golds Gym locker. I do have to

admit that the staff was friendly, but you did not get slippers, and they ran out of bathrobes. The treatment room were adjacent to the spa hangout area, and so you could hear people talking outside as well as the Hi engergy music. Given the choice, I would not stay at this hotel again. The only pros were the room service, the pool and the view

Read More

By Dave

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 5, 2001

Chilly Waters

WE moved here after a dissapointing night at the Savoy,a beautiful small hotel on the ocean in the heart of South Beach. Neither of the two lovely pools were heated,so we called the Fontainbleau and were assured that their pools were "temperature contolled" They gave us a huge room in the "spa building" with a panoramic ocean view. All was fine until we got to the pool,only to be told that the pool heater was out of order.We have stayed here several

times over the past 20 years or so, and have always found the service to be great. The grounds are gorgeous, and the overall experience is always good even though no matter how many renovations the place gets, the rooms always seem a bit tired.

Read More

By Gabe

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 24, 2000

Great Staff and locaton.

Staff focused on making our stay enjoyable. Room was older, but spacious. Reserved room at 129/night in mid December through hoteldiscounts.com was great value. Pool and amenities were fun. Relaxing atmosphere w/ excitement of SoBe just minutes away.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement