Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Passport: Your weekly travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration

Miami Hotels

Fontainebleau Miami Beach

  • 4441 Collins Ave. Map It
  • Mid-Beach
Check Rates

Pros

  • Excellent restaurants
  • Historic design mixed with all-new facilities
  • Fabulous pools

Cons

  • Away from the South Beach pedestrian scene
  • Massive size
  • Bizarre mix of guests

Updated 05/09/2014

Fodor's Review

Vegas meets art deco at this colossal classic, deemed Miami's biggest hotel after its $1 billion reinvention, which spawned more than 1,500 rooms (split among 658 suites in two new all-suite towers and 846 rooms in the two original buildings), 12 renowned restaurants and lounges, LIV nightclub, several sumptuous pools with cabana islands, a state-of-the-art fitness center, and a 40,000-square-foot spa. There's so much going on in and around the hotel that you can easily forget about the downy sands directly behind the property. And much like a cruise ship, there's plenty to do for party-ready adults and restless kids and teens alike. The property teems with new amenities, but thankfully everything is not new: two Morris Lapidus–designed, landmarked exteriors and lobbies were restored to their original state. Rooms, however, were completely gutted, down to the beams, and given new, contemporary designs. This is a complex of historic proportions that's made Mid-Beach rival South Beach as Florida's most trendsetting neighborhood. At night, those of drinking age who are tired of waiting to get into LIV nightclub, get their drink on in the Lobby Lounge.

Hotel Information

Address:

4441 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, Florida, 33140, United States

Map It

Phone:

305-538–2000; 800-548–8886

Hotel Details:

  • 846 rooms, 658 suites
  • Rate includes No meals

Updated 05/09/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all hotels in Miami

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By juani

  • Room

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Aug 23, 2012

Fontainebleau Review

I stay for 4 days and every single person in the hotel was super polite , is 10 minutes to south beach but you aren't in the noise of ocean drive , the Gottan steak house inside the hotel is something from another planet , and the wine list , be ready giganted. I stay in a master bethroom whit my girlfriend and each have a double bathroom , great view and just wanna say this is the best , above everything else ,

By jac346

  • Room

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Mar 3, 2010

Fontainebleau Review

I'm back at the Fontainebleu after a year since my last visti. Both trips are for business conferences. In less than 2 hours I was reminded why I would never spend my own money to stay here. I had lunch by myself at La Cote in the hotel. The restaurant added an 18% tip "for my convenience". How nice of the management to help itself to my money. When I was hear a year ago the staff set a new level of incompetence by losing my car - yes my

car. I valeted it when I checked in. One night I wanted to drive it to Miami and the valets could't find it! It took them 2 days to figure out what they had done with it. Thankfully they found it in time for my scheduled check out. The hotel is beautiful but the service is lacking and all the fees are a ripoff. They charged me to sit in a chair next to the pool! Apparently being a paying guest isn't enough to get to use the pool. Everywhere I turn there was a fee "for my convenience".

Read More

By tej1037

  • Room

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Aug 28, 2008

Will be Fab when finished- Not yet

27/8/08 - Refurbishment was meant to finish in mid-2008, but is still underway until end Oct 2008, and we were woken daily by drilling at 7.30am. Outdoor gardens and pools not usable due to Building work being done, however there are 2 pools on 4th floor of Sorrento block, and 7th floor of Tower, which are outdoor. No restaurants are available yet, just a small Breakfast bar open in the lobby in the morning, which becomes the only Hotel Bar in the

evening. Staff are most welcoming and the finished bits are very very smart. Only given a $30 day reduction for all this inconvenience for 3 of us, for the 3 days booked directly with hotel- nothing for the 4 days booked with Hotels.com- Car valet parking is expensive at $30 day, but no alternative. I hope we can afford this place when its finished though, it will be spectacular- we just feel a bit conned as expected it finished.

Read More

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement

Love To Travel?

Get FREE e-mail communications from Fodor's Travel, covering must-see travel destinations, expert trip planning advice, and travel inspiration to fuel your passion.

How we use your email

Thank You

Now sit back, relax, and check your inbox to start planning your next travel adventure.

Please tell us more about the type of travel you're interested in. Check all that apply.