Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Napa and Sonoma Restaurants

The Girl & the Fig

Updated 05/01/2014

Fodor's Review

Chef Sondra Bernstein transformed the historic bar room of the Sonoma Hotel into a hot spot for inventive French cooking. You can always find a dish with the signature figs on the menu, whether it's a fig-and-arugula salad or an aperitif blending sparkling wine with fig liqueur. Also look for duck confit, a burger with matchstick fries, or wild flounder meunière. The wine list is notable for its emphasis on Rhône varietals, and a counter in the bar area sells artisanal

cheese platters for eating here as well as cheese by the pound to go. The indulgent Sunday brunch includes potato pancakes with smoked salmon, dill crème fraîche, and caviar.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Sonoma Hotel, 110 W. Spain St., at 1st St. W, Sonoma, California, 95476, USA

Map It

Phone:

707-938–3634

Updated 05/01/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Napa and Sonoma

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 5, 2009

The Girl & the Fig Review

This is a great place to stop for lunch when on the Plaza in Sonoma. The patio is lovely and the service is good. Other reviewers are right in praising the fig salad.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 9, 2008

Try Fig Cafe and Wine Bar First

Girl and the Fig on Sonoma Plaza, one one of three Sondra Bernstein restaurants, has declined with respect to Fig Cafe & Winebar in Glen Ellen (jury is still out on Bernstein's new venture, Estate, which is at physical site of the former General's Daughter.) The decline is is with respect to bar, wine list, sense of management (by example bartenders, host station) have changed greatly since 2007. My sense it will be back once Bernstein changes in

human resources affecting these functions' products and services.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 5, 2007

Just what a Wine country lunch should be

I was in wine country to visit with my son for the weekend. He couldn't wait to take me to eat at his new discovery. The food was great, the signature fig salad was perfect. The service friendly and attentive when you need them. All our food was fresh and delicious. A wonderful lunch. And the prices are quite reasonable. I'm looking forward to going back this time for dinner.

By when

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 19, 2007

Great food with so-so service

We had an excellent dinner, but the waitress never asked if we wanted a drink, then forgot our pre-dinner wine, and had to be reminded. It's also on the noisy side, with walls and wooden floors.

By WP17

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 20, 2007

Bravo!

Everything we have tried in the kitchens of Sondra Bernstein's the girl & the fig has been splendid. Very creative approaches to California French style cuisine. Worth a visit to Sonoma.

By kimamom

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 1, 2007

Our First Stop When in Sonoma!

We have enjoyed several lunches here over the years and this is the first place we stop while in the Sonoma area. The service is friendly and I love the crabcakes here and the Lavender-Infused Creme Brulee for dessert. They make a fig salad that is a signature dish and not to miss.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 4, 2007

Fun time, Excellent dinner,loved Mary, our server.

My husband and I went to this restaurant for the first time 3 weeks ago. We have already been back three more times since. Always a great time! Highly recommend it!

By Maureen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 14, 2006

Loved it!

The food was very fresh and interesting. The patio is great - highly recommended!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 2, 2003

A Wonderful Treat!

While dining here I "allowed" my husband to clean his dish with a piece of bread; the autumn vegetable ragout was so delicious, I wanted to do the same. The liberty duck confit will make you cry! The lavender crème brulee instantaneously took us to a field of sweet lavender vie our taste buds. The talent in this kitchen is one to be reckoned with!

By Julie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 8, 2003

You must try the fig salad...

Wonderful food (especially the divine fig salad), friendly service and great atmosphere. Pricey but still couldn't reall fault it, especially the location downstairs in our hotel!

By Matt

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 23, 2002

Makes Me Want to Dance a Gig!

If you're looking for a warm and romantic, friendly yet special Qonoma dining experience, look no further. Food wonderful. You really feel like you're in the wine country. Great help with the wine, had a great Ballentine. Would definitely go back!

By Sean

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 22, 2001

The Guy and the Peach...

OK, catchy title and it means at much as the name "The Girl and the Fig" except this nice restaurant has lots of dishes with figs and "fig" paintings on it's wall. By the way, the restaurant is now located in Sonoma on the Plaza. It is still an excellent restaurant. The food is a bit unusual but delicious. The service is sketchy and stilted but OK. The prices are too high! but GO ANYWAY and you probably won't be disappointed...

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement