Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Los Angeles Hotels

Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel

  • Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel, Hollywood

    Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel

  • Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel, Hollywood

    Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel

  • Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel, Hollywood

    Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel

  • Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel, Hollywood

    Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel

  • Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel, Hollywood

    Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel

  • Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel, Hollywood

    Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel

  • Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel, Hollywood

    Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel

  • Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel, Hollywood

    Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel

  • Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel, Hollywood

    Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel

  • Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel, Hollywood

    Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel

  • Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel, Hollywood

    Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel

  • Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel, Hollywood

    Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel

Pros

  • In the heart of Hollywood's action and a block from the Metro
  • Lively social scene
  • Great burgers at hotel's restaurant, 25 Degrees

Cons

  • Reports of noise and staff attitude
  • Stiff parking charges

Updated 04/01/2014

Fodor's Review

Think hip bachelor pad when considering the Roosevelt, which is known for its party-centric vibe in the heart of Hollywood and was once the home of the first Academy Awards. Poolside cabana rooms have wooden floors, cowskin rugs, and marble bathrooms, while rooms in the main building were refreshed in 2014 to bring out the history of the property, without skimping on modern technology; all include flat-screen TVs and Wi-Fi (for a fee). Although one of Hollywood's oldest

hotels, it feels fresh since several hot nightspots—such as Spare Room bowling alley and the wild variety show Beachers Madhouse—have breathed new life into this historic spot. Lobby and poolside socializing is nonstop most weekends. Original Spanish Colonial Revival details include Spanish tiles, painted ceilings, arches, and fountains that evoke early Hollywood glamour. The David Hockney–painted pool adds to the playful vibe.

Read More

Hotel Award Winner | 2011

Hotel Information

Address:

7000 Hollywood Blvd., Los Angeles, California, 90028, USA

Map It

Phone:

323-466–7000; 800-950–7667

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 305 rooms, 48 suites
  • No meals

Updated 04/01/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Los Angeles

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • New

Sep 19, 2012

Beautiful Stay!

Wife & I won a sweep to attend the Grammys & A Premiere at Graumann's which was right across the street. We had a splendid time, The location is the BEST! Right on the star walk. Top quality restaurants & decor. Friendly helpful staff & we had a Great time

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 21, 2005

Sleeping at a Night Club

The way the hotel is set up, all the rooms face onto a central courtyard. Unfortunately, if you plan to sleep before 2am, you can just forget it. There is a night club with hundreds of people partying right outside your room. Not a place to go to relax and unwind.

By Diane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 27, 2005

Party til you drop (if you're under 30)

Stayed in #215 cabana room with balcony on Saturday- slick decor, big party scene til 2 am at poolside bar. Had to ask for a coffee maker in room. No washcloths. Bed firm and comfortable. Checkin was a long line process-not enough staff or organization.Give name and cabana room # to get into pool party/or your room late afternoons and evenings.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 3, 2004

Where was the history?

I must say, our stay at the Roosevelt was quite a let down. The room, while very clean, was extremely small! The king size bed had maybe 3 feet tops space from the bed to wall! The room also had nothing but a TV, fridge and desk (with no chair!). Absolutely zero decor in a back room with one tiny window. I would say it was about as good as a Motel 6, only much more expensive (about $180 a night). The bathroom, however, was actually very nice and decorated

great. Also, the pool was under construction... which was not mentioned when I booked the hotel. I found that extremely unprofessional, although, once there the staff was very friendly. We originally booked this hotel because of all the "Hollywood history" it boasted, but we found none. Very outdated and shabby. Unfortunate. Great location, but I would never stay there again. The Renaissance Hollywood Hotel accross the street was a much better stay for almost the same price.

Read More

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 26, 2003

Great location - clean rooms

Prime location. Great to have the Kodak Center and the mall across the street....Grauman's Theater is a must so you can see if your hand print is as large as Cary Grant's. The hotel seemed not to be too busy and the hallways do look their age. The room was nice, a tad small but overall a good value (we were at $99 a night). Valet was expensive but they were always very quick and actually worth it. If I had to be in the Hollywood area again I would

stay again.

Read More

By Alice

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 6, 2003

Nice hotel in an ideal location!

Stayed in the hotel in Nov 2002 for one night. Upgraded to a newly decorated king room which was very nice. Staff were very friendly. The location is fab on Hollywood bolv. The only disappointent was Teddy's bar, which is only a little hatch in the hotel lobby,and it closed at 11:00. Still, I got this hotel for $116 which was excellent value. I'd stay here again.

By Randy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 28, 2002

Great Value and a Wonderful Atmosphere

If you like history, you won't find a place richer in Hollywood history than the Roosevelt. Its elegant, ornate and classy. I had the junior suite, which was spacious and very nice. The service at the hotel could have been better, although everyone was very friendly. The area around the Roosevelt is on the upswing. The neighborhood to the south is nice and you can get to a lot of places by walking. The streets are filled with tourists and lots of

interesting locals. You might get tired of the tourist shops, but you’ll always be able to relax in comfort and style at the hotel. For an absolutely enjoyable experience, head to the bar when Marilyn is working. She makes the best Pina Colada in L.A. and she creates a wonderful bar experience for her patrons. Its so much fun you won't want to leave the hotel!

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement