Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Phoenix, Scottsdale, and Tempe Hotels

Arizona Grand Resort

  • 8000 S. Arizona Grand Pkwy. Map It
  • Casual Chic
  • Arizona Grand Resort, Greater Phoenix

    Lobby of Arizona Grand Resort

  • Arizona Grand Resort, Greater Phoenix

    Double Queen

  • Arizona Grand Resort, Greater Phoenix

    Parlor Suite

  • Arizona Grand Resort, Greater Phoenix

    Oasis Water Park

  • Arizona Grand Resort, Greater Phoenix

    Lobby Bar & Grill

  • Arizona Grand Resort, Greater Phoenix

    Golf Course

  • Arizona Grand Resort, Greater Phoenix

    Paseo Gold

  • Arizona Grand Resort, Greater Phoenix

    Enter photo credit

Pros

  • Great family or large-group location
  • All rooms are suites

Cons

  • Huge property can overwhelm
  • Freeway noise could be a problem in some rooms

Updated 04/02/2014

Fodor's Review

This beautiful all-suites resort next to South Mountain Park is home to Oasis, one of the largest water parks in the country, and one of the Valley's more challenging golf courses. Modern but warm, it's a good match in a place called the Valley of the Sun. Ideal for families, this massive property feels like a true getaway, even though it sits just off Interstate 10. Enjoy a four-story sports center, a spa, multiple restaurants, tennis, horseback riding, and mountain biking.

Hotel Information

Address:

8000 S. Arizona Grand Pkwy., Phoenix, Arizona, 85044, United States

Map It

Phone:

602-438–9000; 866-267–1321

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 740 suites
  • No meals

Updated 04/02/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By firewx

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 16, 2012

Great for kids and Families

The room was just average. It was clean, large and everything you needed...but the decor is old. Wicker furniture and old TV's (no flat screens here). However, the grounds were very beautiful and each hotel section has it's own pool. This is in addition to the large water park. The water park (with slides, lazy river and more) is great for kids and families!! A word of advice about the water park. On weekends it is packed, but during the week

you might be there by yourself. So go on a week day for a more enjoyable experience!!

Read More

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 19, 2006

Let's get to the Pointe - not!

I have to say that the new water park is impressive. It has a theme park feel, but is way too crowded and dirty. The water was filled with so much debris and dirt that its hard to think that anyone would get in it let alone put their heads under it. The buildings, architecture and lush grounds are spectacular. But the rooms (all two-room suites) are cramped and old-feeling. The effort to spruce them up was a valiant one, light paint and contemporary

furnishings, but the bathrooms are smaller than most closets and in poor condition. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I was stunned when we were carrying our bags to our room through a small parking lot when a maintenance worker stopped his golf cart and asked if we needed any assistance. The resort's restaurants are varied and for the most part, good. Latitude 30 was excellent. Great atmoshpere and delicious food. The resort is very old (over 30 years) and no matter how many coats of paint they use in the suites, it cannot make them bigger or more inviting. The Pointe needs to do some major reconstruction of all of its rooms to stay competitve in the Phoenix market. I would not go back there with all of the other great choices in the area.

Read More

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 13, 2004

Hooray for Hilton

Got upgraded to a two-story unit without asking. Very big unit and about 4 to 6 units shared a pool. Ordered dinner in the first night. Steak, ice cream, salad with extra tomatos, shrimp cocktail, etc. What was supposed to be hot was hot; what was suposed to be cold was cold. Everything was delivered within 30 minutes. These Hilton folks do a fine job here.

By Isaac

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 9, 2003

OK but not great

I have stayed at this resort a couple of times. We spent this 4th of July weekend there. The resort was very, very crowded mostly because of the water park. I agree with the other comments that the resort is overrun by kids. Not the place for a quiet weekend. My main probelm was with the ice machines, they did not work all weekend. Golfers beware, parts of the golf course are in very rough shape

By Traci

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 5, 2002

Kids,kids, kids!

This is a great place for families but couples beware--kids are all over the place including the adult pools. The check-in process felt like a cattle call. The lines were long and the staff were obviously overwhelmed. This place is so big--do not expect personalized service. The rooms were average and a little claustrophobic on the 1st level. Our air conditioner never really cooled our room. I was not happy to find that there was an additional daily

"waterpark & fitness" fee. It should have been included since that's what everyone is there for. The gym was great though. Their steakhouse "Rustler's Rooste", had a great band but my husband & I couldn't dance because kids had taken over the dance floor. Unless you're taking kids, pick another spot!

Read More

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 29, 2002

A disappointment

The spa and gym were great. Other than that, we weren't very impressed. The room, which we got for the not very low price of $159 (normally over $300/night) was no better than suites we've stayed at (Hampton Inn comes to mind) for $99. The continental breakfast that is free at most hotels was $10/person. The "adult" pools routinely had kids in them and the staff made zero effort to police them, putting the onus on guests to deal with it. The restaurants

were ok, but not spectacular, unless you use Denny's as your baseline.

Read More

By Curt

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 20, 2002

Save me from Southwestern hospitality

When we arrived after 6 hours of driving we were in no mood to be told that, despite our months-old confirmed reservation, we had no room. Nor were we in the mood to be shuffled off to a golf-condo scam several miles down the road. When we complained loudly, they "found" a room, which was noisy thanks to its location overlooking the convention facility. The entire center of the complex was in the midst of a noisy and dirty construction project,

and our breakfast at the Phantom Horse was mediocre at best. Never again! Ou subsequeent stay at the Wyndham Buttes was, on the other had, quite pleasant.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 3, 2002

Enjoyed the room after U2

We liked the room so much, we added another night. The rooms are big with lots of room to spread out. The best thing...2 TVs

By Sue

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 9, 2001

Consistently Excellent

I have stayed here many times and never had a bad experience. Rooms are 2 room suites with a nice sitting area and a frig. Rooms with 2 beds are both queen size. Baths are a little on the small side. Nice pools - several restaurants on site.

By Will

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 16, 2001

Great Easter Retreat!

My family has been escaping our homes over Easter to visit this property for the last 5 years. It is a great place for a vacation right in our backyard. Plenty of leisure activities for all of us: golf, horseback riding, shopping, 5 pools, fitness center, full-service spa. Looking forward to April!

By Tania

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 23, 2001

Great place for family, great place to golf

My family has been vacationing in Phoenix for years, and this is by far the best experience we have ever had. While my husband was golfing on their beautiful championship course, I was being pampered at their spa, and the kids were having a blast at the Kid's Corral. I plan on spending my vacations to Phoenix here from now on...

By elaine

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 11, 2000

stay elsewhere...if possible

Attended a conference at Pointe South Mountain Resort (no longer a Hilton property). The property is in the middle of an industrial park. If not renting a car, taking a cab to anywhere will cost $30 (one way). Property and staff below par...Location is really in Tempe area. If one has to stay here briefly, it is tolerable. I doubt anyone on vacation should consider a stay at South Pointe Mountain Resort...totally geared for meetings/conferences.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement