Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Victoria and Vancouver Island Restaurants

Il Terrazzo

Updated 05/09/2012

Fodor's Review

A cute redbrick terrace edged with potted greenery and warmed by fireplaces and overhead heaters makes Il Terrazzo—tucked away off Waddington Alley near Market Square and not visible from the street—the locals' choice for romantic alfresco dining. Starters might include a fritto misto of halibut and baby squid, or steamed mussels with sun-dried tomatoes and spicy banana peppers, while mains range from such traditional Northern Italian favorites as breaded scaloppini

of pork tenderloin to a more local-leaning halibut with blackberries. Thin-crust pizzas come piping hot from the restaurant's open-flame stone oven.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

555 Johnson St., off Waddington Alley, Victoria, British Columbia, V8W 1M2, Canada

Map It

Phone:

250-361–0028

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch Sun. No lunch Sat. Oct.–May

Updated 05/09/2012

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Victoria and Vancouver Island

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 20, 2009

An Italian Gem Hidden Away

The first time I came here, I was seated outside on the heated terrace and said I have to come back, which I do every time I visit Victoria. A friendly place with great food.

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 16, 2006

Best Kept Secret in Victoria

By far my favorite restaurant in Victoria. Try the halibut if it's in season. The location is a little hard to find if you haven't been there before, but you'll be happy you found it. Some tables are better than others. Service and selection are top notch.

By nik

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 29, 2005

Simplt the best in town

Cooked from scratch using quality fresh local ingredients, served by knowledgable and efficient staff, Il Terrazzo has a great atmosphere, a great location, an excellent menu, a good wine list, is reasonably priced, and is consistently the best dining experience in town. I take every guest we have staying with us to Il Terrazzo, every meal has been first class.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 9, 2005

Beautiful Evening in Victoria

Andrea, our waitress, provided thoughtful and prompt service. Our family's appetites varied; she was completely comfortable with us splitting some dishes or getting half-orders of pasta along with our bottle of wine. Caesar salads and halibut dishes were divine; my son loved the thin pizza and my parents loved the bolognese sauce with their fusilli. Beautiful room with wood stoves and gorgeous view into landscaped courtyard. A nice walk around the

harbour brought us to this establishment, recommended by the Fairmont Empress concierge when we asked for a neat restaurant with semi-outside seating for our one dinner in Victoria. We were pleased.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 22, 2005

Waittresses need to be more than a pretty face

We took Fodor's reccomendation and were dissappointed with the daily special at dinner. Waitress was polite but not helpful as we informed her that we were not very hungry. instead of warning us the special was quite copious, she left us to our fate. What arrived was two whole breat of chicken supremes( that is both halves) chicken prepared basically the same as KFC and to discourage our appetites further the meat was piled on a bed of pasta. We

were asked if we wanted doggy bags but as tourists living in a hotel this was not practical. We would have prefered les food and more quality in the cooking for the $100 bill. One last gripe is that the hjandicapped restroom is used by the majority of patrons due to toilettes being located and the bottom of stairs. This is very inconvenient for people with limited mobility who must wait for those who can easily negotiate a flight of stairs.

Read More

By Maureen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 14, 2004

Dine with every tourist in town!

While the food was excellent, the service was slow and the restaurant was noisy and crowded. The decor is attractive so, if you aren't in a hurry, you'll have a good meal.

By Kira

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 25, 2003

Worth a Splurge

This restaurant isn't cheap, and a bit hard to find. The food is excellent. The bread and olive/olive oil dip is fresh and tasty. Appetizers (we had the mushrooms) are the stuff of dreams. The salmon and chicken specials were also excellent. Service, however was a bit haphazard. Our waitress disappeared for long periods of time, and seemed to be not very interested in serving us. The junior waitress (the one who brought the pepper, the cheese,

filled the water glasses), however, was great. All in all, we recommend it to you, if you're looking for a truly wonderful meal. As of April 22, the patio was only open on weekends.

Read More

By Jill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 17, 2002

Excellent food

It was very busy, waiter had too many tables but was as good as he could be. Atmosphere was noisy, a little crowded but the food was excellent. Wish I had the recipe for the Saltimbocca pizza. Will definitely return.

By Jeff

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 16, 2001

Dining by candle and firelight!

This restaurant was one of the most romantic I've seen. We were seated in the patio area, right next to a warm fireplace, the table alight with candles. What an atmosphere! The food was also very good. Classy Italian. My wife had a duck dish while I had the lamb. Both were wonderful. The only detraction was that the server seemed a bit rushed and we wished she'd spent a bit more time checking in on us. She even forgot to bring a drink we'd ordered.

Fortunately, it was not on the bill. All in all, I'd go again. It was a wonderful time.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement