Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Victoria and Vancouver Island Hotels

Abbeymoore Manor

Pros

  • Good value
  • Friendly hosts
  • Excellent service

Cons

  • A mile from the Inner Harbour
  • Often booked in advance

Updated 05/09/2012

Fodor's Review

This 1912 mansion has the wide verandas, dark wainscoting, and high ceilings of its era, but the attitude is informal and welcoming, from the super-helpful hosts to the free snacks to the coffee on tap all day. The five second-floor rooms charm with such period details as claw-foot tubs, four-poster beds, or antique-tile fireplaces (plus discrete contemporary features like iPod docks and Wi-Fi), while two serviceable, modern, one-bedroom suites on the ground floor have

kitchens, TVs, and garden patios. Multicourse breakfasts are served family style or at tables for two in the sunroom or on the expansive front porch. The owners are ready with suggestions of what to see and where to eat; they'll also arrange in-room spa services or book afternoon tea.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

1470 Rockland Ave., Victoria, British Columbia, V8S 1W2, Canada

Map It

Phone:

250-370–1470; 888-801–1811

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 5 rooms, 2 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 05/09/2012

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 5, 2008

best B&B ever!

I stayed in the Iris Room and wished my stay would have been longer. Ian and Ann, the Inn Keepers think of every detail to make it a perfect stay. Perfect and sooo relaxing! The tub in the Iris Room is heavenly. Did I mention the breakfast? I am a vegetarian and breakfast was yummy and innovative. It was my best B&B experience so far!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 3, 2007

Pacific Northwestern Paradise

I am 40 years old, enjoy museums, live music and good food. This is my favorite place to stay in the entire world.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 10, 2007

Charming & Gracious

This is a architecturally beautiful Inn - in keeping with the splendid old world neighborhood. The inn is far enough away from the tourist section of Victoria to be a lovely respite while still convenient to Victoria's center. It is a very pretty street for a stroll and is just down the road from the governor's residence. The gardens are nicely maintained and the inn is well cared for, with a comfortable wood-paneled parlor and breakfast room, and

fresh flowers to greet guests. Perfect for both business & vacation travel. The personal attention we received at Abbeymoore Manor from our hosts, Ian & Ann, was fantastic. All the details had been worked out. Snacks such as fruit, water & homemade cookies were freely available for guests anytime. Discount coupons for local events (we used them for the zipline in Sooke) were pinned to the bulletin board along with ferry schedules & other events. There were comfy bathrobes, plenty of hot water and lots of towels in the rooms. An extensive video library was available as well as an assortment of books. Umbrellas were available by the door if the need arose. All the little things were well thought out. Ann is a cook extraordinaire and the breakfasts each morning were varied and could be tailored to a guests' personal preferences. Most valuable of all was Ian's attention to the interests and needs of his guests. He greeted us in the morning, helped arrange our activity & could recommend the best for dining in the area - (menus collected & available to guests). Ian took all stress out of our trip by searching out & booking last minute accommodations in Seattle for us. All of this was done with good cheer & gracious hospitality. What a pleasure!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 21, 2007

The Best B&B Ever

We just returned from our Victoria/Vancouver trip August 20th 2007. We made the best decision to stay at the Abbeymoore. First of all, we had no clue how to even get to Victoria...we just knew we wanted to go to the Northwest for vacation. I called up Ian at the Abbeymoore and he told me exactly how to do it. If it weren't for the time he spent with me on the phone we probably wouldn't have made it there so easily. We stayed in the Master Bedroom

and it was to die for. The bed...oh it was incredible. We slept like babies and ate like kings and queens. We heard no noises at all from other guests (not one peep). We had this huge room with a private balcony with windows that open...it was so special. The hosts (Ian and Anne were traveling the weekend we were there) made all our reservations for dinner (Camille's) and our whale watching excursion (Eagle Wing). Both were over the top fantastic! We had to have had the best whale watching experience ever thanks to the company they recommend. Then there are the breakfasts...incredible to say the least. Really first class all the way. The location is terrific! Right across the street is the Governor's Mansion with this amazing garden to walk through and see views of the harbour. Then there's this castle that is just minutes from the Inn. Downtown is maybe 10 minutes if that by taxi. We also walked to dinner one night to this local pub called the Ross Bay Pub and the food there was really good and not pub like at all with this great heated patio with 2 quaint fireplaces to eat by. It was a nice walk from the Inn through a great neighborhood. You cannot go wrong with the Abbeymoore. They provide Aveda products in the bathroom for that added touch. Experience Victoria and stay here- you won't be sorry!

Read More

By Jodi

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 28, 2006

You cannot go wrong at the Abbeymoore!

This is such a lovely place, and Anne and Ian are so friendly and knowledgeable. You cannot go wrong staying here. It is in a beautiful, quaint neighborhood with hidden surprises off the beaten path, but close enough to cheaply ($6) cab to the Inner Harbour or walk if you would like. Breakfast is to die for and will stick with you all day. Anne and Ian were friendly and honest. The rooms are beautiful and have great mattresses, down comforters,

cozy pillows, and Aveda in the bathrooms. It is like home away from home EXCEPT better!

Read More

By Laurie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 24, 2006

Adored Abbeymoore!

If you are looking for the ulitmate Bed and Breakfast experience in Victoria, Ian and Ann's Abbeymoore Manor is it! Our room was a romantic retreat with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. We enjoyed all the comforts of home, and then some! The food was fresh and delicious and served in a sunny breakfast room by our host. The house was beautifully appointed with comfy furniture, fresh coffee and tea, fresh fruit and a plate of homemade

cookies to snack on. Abbeymoore was the highlight of our trip, thanks to the born-to-be Innkeepers, Ian and Ann! Can't wait to return!

Read More

By Barb

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 22, 2006

Loved the Abbeymoore

We spent two nites at the Abbeymore Manor and loved it! Ian and Anne were terrific hosts. Very friendly and helpful. Anne offered us some very useful tourist advice - anything she suggested worked out very well for us. The breakfasts were exceptional. Our room was great and the location of the inn is ideal - in a very lovely area of Victoria and not far from downtown and the harbour. I would highly recommend Abbeymore. Barb Weir of Toronto,

Ontario

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement