Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Puerto Vallarta Restaurants

Café de Olla

  • Calle Basilio Badillo 168–A Map It
  • Mexican

Updated 12/31/1969

Fodor's Review

Repeat visitors swear by the enchiladas and carne asadas at this earthy restaurant. It's also one of the few places in town where you can get a margarita made of raicilla (green-agave firewater as opposed to tequila, which comes from the blue agave) when available. A large tree extends from the dining-room floor through the roof, local artwork adorns the walls, and salsa music often plays in the background. Note that as soon as Café de Olla opens for the season,

it fills up and seems to stay full: You may need to wait for a table, especially at breakfast and dinner. If you give up waiting, the taco shop next door is very good.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Calle Basilio Badillo 168–A, Puerto Vallarta, 48350, Mexico

Map It

Phone:

322-223–1626

Restaurant Details:

  • No credit cards
  • Closed Tues. and Sept. 15–Oct. 15
  • Reservations not accepted

Updated 12/31/1969

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Dj221

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 30, 2011

Café de Olla Review

When we walked to Cafe de olla we were happy to see that the city widened the sidewalk. Now you do not have to feel like you are waiting in the street. The food is always just okay. We used to go there because it was inexpensive but have been finding several fairly new places that are much better and less money.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 2, 2009

incredible!

after being in Puerto Vallarta for 8 days this is the only resteraunt we ate at more than once ( 3 times! ) the best tortillias I have ever had! perfect authentic mexican cuisine!! great service!!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 1, 2008

never disappointed!

Been to PV several times and returning soon,My husband and I always look forward to Breakfast at Cafe' De Olla Chilaquiles to die for! Have also been for dinner and was not dissappointed margs pack a punch though:-)

By epwhar

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 1, 2008

Muy Bueno

We went for a late night dinner (9 or 10) so there was no wait. The food was amazing, the waiters ultra friendly, the ambiance delightful. I highly recommend this place.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 19, 2008

Disappointed after all the hype (and wait)

Have to agree with opinionated from NYC on this one. After waiting a long time in line, and reading so many great reviews (except his/hers, unless this was an "off-night" I can not reccomend this restaurant. We ordered cheese and mushroom quessidillas (sp?) and they brought tomato and beef; frijittas were just so-so; shrimp was good, but not great; told us they didn't have "natural" beans (I even said it in Spanish) and they did have them; wanted

corn tortillas, and they gave us flour (had to insist they change those--they looked really greasy); brought us the wrong bill, and didn't even apologize; Bill had to ask for our change (ha,ha, ha). Luckily, there was no mariachi band banging away, so the atmosphere was ok--I liked the trees growing through the roof, and we met a really nice couple from California (who also didn't think their meal was that good.) Sorry I can't give a more positive report, but sometimes places go down when they get too popular, or like I said before, maybe it was just an off-night.

Read More

By debbfrk

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 3, 2007

Everything was great!

I was there with the love of my life and had a great time. Everything about the restaurant was great. I really hope I get to return there some day with the same wonderful man that I was there with before.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 23, 2007

Mas o menos

Well, no one doesn't have an opinion about this place but it is wildly popular. Not sure it's worth an hour or more standing in line during high season so go early (or maybe for lunch) or late in the evening after the crowds die down. Mexican food is dependable but they'll try and upsell you to the seafood platter which is just so so and quite pricey. Stick with the chile rellenos or even the very respectable NY strip grill over an open fire with

the best twice baked potatoes on the planet. Not gourmet dining but dependable and reasonably priced. Service can be a little brusque.

Read More

By rollo

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 17, 2007

Our Favorite

We love this place. This was our fourth trip to Puerto Vallarta, there during our cruise. Had breakfast of eggs with machacha. Was fabulous and of course the cafe de olla coffee was great. We have only waited once for a table, guess we go early.This is one of our favorite places in Puerto Vallarta! We have only had good service and never had any kind of problem.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 15, 2006

opinionated

i never understand why people line up to wait for a table in this restaurant. it is crowded and noisy, serving mediocre food that is thrown at you, while some mariachi band is banging out it's music over your head. the food may be cheap, but it's not worth the dismal experience!

By Josh

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 11, 2005

Seafood Platter sounds kitchy, tastes divine, a PV MUST!

Each of our 3 visits to Puerto Vallarta have included a meal at Cafe de Olla and not once have we been disappointed. Service is quick and friendly for an incredibly busy joint and the meals unforgetable. Platters of endless offerings of local mariscos, (seafood!) lobster, mahi mahi, mmmmmm de-lish! Perfect atmosphere for a group get together! Will be there again first week of January without fail.

By Donna

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 8, 2005

Honeymoon Treasure!!!!

We honeymooned at Malina de Agua in March 2004. We were advised by friends who travel to PV yearly... "You HAVE to go to Cafe de Olla!!! We spent our first sunset meal in absolute pleasure at Cafe de Olla...Yes! it is true the Food is Delicious!!! We went back for a late breakfast and returned often during our stay! The staff and Cooks were the friendliest in town, even though all of PV Romantica is friendly!!! We Most Certainly Return and Cafe

de Olla will be one of our first stops. We share the same advice to everyone we know!!! To the woman from LA who it was a scam because no "mexicans" ate there....You must be comparing Cafe de Olla to US Taco Bell!!! If you really look around...Most of the Locals in PV are actually "Working" dawn to past dark. They are grateful to eat out back on breaks...IF they get them!!! We will Treasure our time visiting with the "Working" Locals forever!!! You usually get back whatever you exude!!!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 12, 2005

Forget the Carne Asada

The Carne Asada was no more traditional Mexican than Hot Dogs. It was 4 strips of fajita size beef strips, tough as nails and a cup of beans that was maybe 3 spoonfuls and mostly bean juice. I was raised in Mexico so I speak from the voice of experience.

By Mickey

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 3, 2005

Mexican vs "American" Mexican

When I read the comments rating the food, I always have to laugh. What many of us "far" northerner's think of as "authentic" Mexican food, is anything but! Cafe de Olla is the real thing...and excellent at that. I've been coming here for many years and I'm completely impressessed everytime. Leave your "tex-mex" taste buds at home and enjoy the full flavors of Mexico. Buen Provecho

By Claudia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 17, 2004

Is this mexican food??

We found this tourist trap,cheap, low quality "mexican food" restaurant genaraly over rated. There where no Mexicans actually eating there...I wonderr why.

By Carol

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 22, 2004

Best Value for Seafood & Auth. Atmosphere

This is the real thing - great food, excellent value, impeccable service, and no youngster standing before you with TIPS sign making you pay extra for your pre-dinner tortilla chips. The lobster tails, shrimp, and fresh fish were scrumptious; and the authentic Mexican atmosphere warranted our return visit on our last night in Puerto Vallarto. We LOVED it!

By Jacob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 3, 2003

Try lobster, shrimp and Mexican Mix

This place was a pleasant surprise. Not much curb appeal but outstanding service and excellent salsa and food.. We went back in the same week it was so good!

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 25, 2003

Always a favorite!

Every year we travel to Puerto Vallarta Cafe De Olla is our first evening meal stop. The staff is wonderful and seems to always remember us - the food is to die for and the drinks are yummy!

By Kathy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 22, 2002

Best that PV has to offer!

Any restaurant that there is a line to get in - means that everything about the place is execellent - an it truly is! Food - out of sight - price - reasonable - service - impeccable - atmosphere - fun and lively!

By Joe

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 2, 2002

NICE AND UNPRETENTIOUS

Had a great meal at Cafe De Olla. There is usually a line to get in but wew were lucky and got a sidewalk table without waiting. Watched the people go by and had some wonderful fresh seafood. I agree with the other review: try the seafood sampler. Will come again when I visit PV next year.

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 26, 2001

GREAT

Try the seafood combination

By Terry

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 18, 2001

WOW

this place has always been a favorite to me and my friends. We eat there every year and I do look forward to the potatoes. The service is quick (unlike most of their restaurants) and very friendly..

By Giselle

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 4, 2001

Not that great

We were really disappointed with this place. My enchiladas were the worst I've ever had, my boyfriend's Mexican Platter was so-so, but the meat was really tough. My sister did the best with the combo fajitas. I think their prices are super inflated and I would not recommend Cafe de Olla.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement