Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Passport: Your weekly travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration

Restaurants

Trio

  • Calle Guerrero 264 Map It
  • El Centro
  • International
  • Fodor's Choice

Updated 11/05/2014

Fodor's Review

Conviviality, hominess, and dedication on the parts of chef-owners Bernhard Güth and Ulf Henriksson have made Trio one of Puerto Vallarta's best restaurants—hands down. Fans marvel at the kitchen's ability to deliver perfect meal after perfect meal, mostly Mediterranean food. Popular demand guarantees rack of lamb with fresh mint and, for dessert, the warm chocolate cake. The kitchen often stays open until nearly midnight, and during high season the restaurant opens the back patio, second floor, and rooftop terrace. Waiters are professional yet unpretentious; either the sommelier or the maître d' can help you with the wine. But the main reason to dine here is the consistently fabulous food, which is also a great value.

Restaurant Information

Address:

Calle Guerrero 264, Puerto Vallarta, 48300, Mexico

Map It

Phone:

322-222–2196

Website: www.triopv.com/

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No lunch

Updated 11/05/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By mrmatz

  • Service

  • Food

  • Value

  • Décor

Apr 12, 2010

Trio Review

The quality of food, service and atmosphere was insufficient to overcome the shock of the cost. The look and feel of the place is 1970's chic. It was like the fancy restaurant scene in the Blues Brothers with attentive waiters in gray vests, cheap Romanesque statuary and your own plastic "Trio-label" water bottle kept cold in a wine bucket. Yes, the food was good but at triple the price of other good places in PV it doesn't surprise me that

prime time Thursday night had the dinning room empty. For what we spent on dinner at Trio we could have had 3 excellent, albeit wine-bucketless, meals at 8 Tostadas.

Read More

By juanca

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

  • Service

Feb 12, 2009

Fine restaurant

Ate here several times and their food is always excellent. Atmosphere is ok...not romantic, not old style...just average. Very pricey...but worth it.

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Jan 29, 2009

Wonderful

Trio is the best and the most consistent restaurant in Puerto Vallarta period. The exquisite food, personalized service and the warm & artsy ambient are the reasons why I always return to this restaurant. The prices and value for money are great too!

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

May 5, 2008

It didnt do anything for me..

I see a lot of the reviews state best in PV for the price I would say Cafe is the best. dont get me wrong everything was good, but just didnt do anything for me, we were tightly stuck in corner. Everything was good, as well as the service. I was a little disappointed though. After reading all the great reviews about this restaurant. I ordered the Beef Carpaccio, if you order this tell them light on the oil and vinegar. I wore a white silk blouse

and put a napkin over myself. the Beef Carpaccio was soaked in the oil and vinegar, too much, so much it actually cooked the beef. Our meals were good, but it was an Italian restaurant that I wouldn't have wasted a night in Mexico on it, rather go to something similar at home.

Read More
  • Food

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Oct 24, 2007

the VERY best

This is without a doubt the best restaurant in the city. The atmoshpere is lovely and service is always incredibly attentive. But, it really is about the amazing food from the owners who are always close by. I have never had a better meal anywhere. I don't really know where to start but the calamari blows my socks off, the pastas are faboo, great mains too (try the rack of lamb. The decadent European style desserts (OMG) are worth the calories.

I've been coming to Vallarta for almost 30 years and Trio is the one restaurant I must dine in every visit.

Read More

By niloliz

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Sep 18, 2007

My Favorite PV Restaurant

We were in PV last New Years and ate at Trio. It is now my favorite PV restaurant, the food was excellent and the service impecible. This would be a an excellent restaurant any where in the world.

By emc8760

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Dec 28, 2006

Wonderful Upscale Restaurant

Great restaurant with huge portions (be forewarned that the appetizers are very substantial). The place has beautiful artwork and is a great place for an intimate date.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement

Love To Travel?

Get FREE e-mail communications from Fodor's Travel, covering must-see travel destinations, expert trip planning advice, and travel inspiration to fuel your passion.

How we use your email

Thank You

Now sit back, relax, and check your inbox to start planning your next travel adventure.

Please tell us more about the type of travel you're interested in. Check all that apply.