Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Passport: Your weekly travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration

Mexico City Restaurants

Café de Tacuba

  • Calle Tacuba 28 Map It
  • Col. Centro
  • Mexican

Updated 01/23/2015

Fodor's Review

An essential, if touristy, breakfast, lunch, dinner, or snack stop downtown, this Mexican classic opened in 1912 in a section of an old convent. At the entrance to the main dining room are huge 18th-century oil paintings depicting the invention of mole poblano, a complex sauce featuring a variety of chilies and chocolate that was created by the nuns in the Santa Rosa Convent in Puebla. A student group dressed in medieval capes and hats usually serenades diners Wednesday through Sunday afternoons.

Restaurant Information

Address:

Calle Tacuba 28, at Allende, Mexico City, 06010, Mexico

Map It

Phone:

55-5521–2048

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted

Updated 01/23/2015

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Restaurants
  • Sights
  • Hotels

See all restaurants in Mexico City

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By marcop

  • Décor

  • Value

  • Service

Dec 8, 2008

Don't believe the hype

The food is bland, the service is bad and they will try to short-change you. The murals, paintings and tilework is O.K., but poorly maintained. With so many other great places throughout the downtown area, why would anyone want to come here? Please research and go elsewhere to enjoy true mexican cuisine for the same price or less.

By tim_cox

  • Service

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 10, 2008

Must have been an off night

Our experince in January 2008 was unlike the others posted here. We went for the touted traditional specialties (enchiladas verdes and chiles rellenos were our choices) and the decor. Service was terrible: it took at least five minutes to get the server to take our drink order and forever to get the check when we were finished. The place was busy but not mobbed. Our entrees were mediocre -- generic-tasting enchiladas, and way-undercooked chiles swamped

in what tasted like canned cream of tomato soup -- not nearly as good as we've had in other parts of Mexico and neither of us felt our entrees were worth eating. The refried beans were good and the guacamole and salsas were a bit above average. Espresso and cappuccino were very good. The lovely room is finished in tiles and stucco making it awfully noisy. The hosts were gracious, welcoming, and helpful getting a cab for us but overall it wasn't the delightful dinner we anticipated. We might try it again for breakfast but not dinner.

Read More

By justavo

  • Décor

  • Value

  • Service

Oct 1, 2007

Good mexican food

Great atmosphere and great tastes. Try Chile en nogada (only mid-Aug to end of September). Sweet bread and chocolate is a must in the night. Pozole is also awesome (only in the night)

By Joelle

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Apr 11, 2007

A good address.

This is a nice cafe serving decent food. Service was very efficient, but the restaurant manager tends to charge heavy "propinas" (service fees) to his foreign customers....

By jendam

  • Décor

  • Service

  • Value

Mar 22, 2007

Great!

The music,the building, the food, all were great. The best breakfasts! Be sure to have the cafe con leche. If you love chocolate get the spanish chocolate, it is awesome.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement

X

No Thanks

Love To Travel?

Get FREE e-mail communications from Fodor's Travel, covering must-see travel destinations, expert trip planning advice, and travel inspiration to fuel your passion.

How we use your email

Thank You

Now sit back, relax, and check your inbox to start planning your next travel adventure.

Please tell us more about the type of travel you're interested in. Check all that apply.