Cancún Restaurants

Advertisement

Guidebooks

La Destileria

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  

La Destileria Review

Be prepared to have your perceptions of tequila changed forever. In what looks like a Mexican hacienda, complete with an alambique (tequila distillery), you can sample from a list of 100 varieties—in shots or superb margaritas—and also visit the on-site tequila museum and store. The traditional Mexican menu focuses on fresh fish and seafood. Other highlights include the molcajete de arrachera (a thick beef stew served piping hot in a mortar), and the Talla-style fish fillet from a traditional Acapulco recipe. Midday (1–5 pm) diners can enjoy tequila tasting, appetizers, and a house cocktail for just $8. Be sure to leave room for the caramel crepes, a signature Mexican dessert. Reservations are recommended.

Updated: 03-18-2013

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating:  
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Not terrible but wouldn't go back.

    La Destileria has some things going for it and some things going against it. The good: outdoor dining on the lagoon, tequila selection, mostly friendly wait staff, and the fajitas. The bad: obnoxiously loud mariachi band, horrible fried cheese appetizer, horrible, I mean repulsive, fish soup, and sub-par margaritas (surprising with the tequila selection). The staff was friendly and checked in on us regularly, but its a team approach to serving which I'm not a fan of. On the whole, you can do better in Cancun.

    by ebarrett4, 1/19/09
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    A Good Choice

    Great atmosphere, very nice and helpful waiters. The food was as good as it gets in Cancun (I had to lower my expectations). All in all a pleasant evening. You can spot crocodiles from the back patio that overlooks the lagoon.

    by shortice, 9/8/08
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Love this Restaurant...

    I have been to Cancun 5 times and tried La Destileria for the first time and loved it.. This restaurant along with Paloma Bonita are my favorite in the hotel area. The atmosphere, food and service was excellent.

    by nerissa007, 2/15/08
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Nice building, but overrated

    Our first night there the concierge recommended this place. Service was slow, and the room was hot. 2 of 4 entrees were good- the quesidillas(sp) were awful, but the chicken dish abd shrimp were tasty.

    by beckysmith, 8/13/07
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Good food fun place

    What a fun place. The food was very good and reasonable authentic, the atmosphere was great as was the Mariachi band. The Tequila menu is daunting and we had to ask for help choosing and the manager was extremely helpful. My wife had the best margarita she's ever had in her life. Highly recommended for fun Mexican food.

    by ebkesq, 6/14/07
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Unique and fun

    We love La Destileria. The tequila selection is unbeatable in Cancun. The food is always a hit as well. If you're looking for authentic Mexican, this is the place for you. The staff is attentive but not pushy. You are never rushed, and we appreciate that. It is one of the highlights of Cancun's restaurant scene.

    by veghead04, 4/28/07
  • Food  
    Décor  
    Service  
    Value  

    Left Before Being Served

    After 15 minutes without having menus, before dinner drink order taken, then finding there was nothing on the menu worth choosing -- certainly no appetizers, no wines worth drinking, we left ... walked across the street to Casa Marguey -- great choice.

    by stddev2004, 12/30/06

Add your own review

Advertisement

· Browse Cancún restaurants

By Price:

By Location

Travel Deals in Cancún

View all travel deals
* Some taxes, fees additional

View more trip reports

View more travel discussions

· News & Features

View more blog stories