Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Barcelona Hotels

Le Méridien Barcelona

  • La Rambla 111 Map It
  • $$$$
  • Trusted Brand
  • Fodor's Choice

Pros

  • Central location
  • Spot-on professional service
  • Gym open 24 hours

Cons

  • No pool
  • Rooms just a tad small for the price
  • €55/day surcharge for pets

Updated 03/10/2014

Fodor's Review

There's no dearth of hotels along La Rambla, in the heart of the city, but few rival the upscale Le Méridien. Rooms are tastefully decorated in neutral tones, with rich wood trim and accents of red, and big flat-screen TVs. The black stone bathrooms have frosted glass doors to the showers, safety bars, and futuristic scales. Amenities include fluffy robes, a trouser press, and a coffee maker. The best rooms are on the upper floors, overlooking the promenade; those on

the opposite side, unfortunately, have no view at all. The soundproofing is near-perfect. The Méridien is popular with businesspeople and visiting celebrities alike.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

La Rambla 111, Barcelona, Catalonia, 08002, Spain

Map It

Phone:

93-318–6200

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 190 rooms, 40 suites
  • No meals

Updated 03/10/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Barcelona

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 1, 2008

Noise from neighbouring rooms,

Even though the hotel was undergoing renovations they managed to do a great job of accomodating guests. Our room was clean, modern with a large bathroom (even by American standards). The location right on the Ramblas was great, accessible to different restaurants and the subway. The concierge was helpful and made good suggestions. They also have a business center with free internet access which was a great plus.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 1, 2003

Way Past Its Day!

We just returned from a week at the Le Meridien....what a dissapointment. We had a suite (not cheap $$'s)that was no larger than a standard room (yes we know rooms sizes vary greatly in Europe having been to many destinations). Room service was very poor (not to mention over priced compared to dining in Barcelona as a whole....$25 Euro for a club sandwich??), often not showing up without multiple calls. No basic items such as full length mirror,

iron, extra towels...all things that are standard in other 4-5 star Europe hotels. Concierge did not know how to give directions to dining establishments about town. Would not return to this hotel!

Read More

By Lina

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 4, 2003

Not so Bad

We stayed in this hotel with our 4 year old son, and had another bed placed in the room at no extra cost. The breakfasts were good and because we had a package deal, we also had the tourist bus tickets and a free drink included in the cost of the room. The tourist bus is excellent, and you can get on and off all day. Catalunya is right around the corner and made it very easy to get to and from the airport by bus, with a short walk over to las Ramblas

and the hotel. People were helpful, and the room quiet, although the action does go on almost all night on the streets.The food market is on the Ramblas too, great for a quick snack. Overall, the atmosphere was ok, but the location is great for walking, subway, airport or tourist buses. The old section is right around the corner, and the port a short walk. Not too bad i would say...

Read More

By Kate

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 21, 2002

Major Dissapointment

Stayed here for one night, 2/15/02 I am a travel editor at a major magazine and did exhaustive research before coming to Barcelona. I had just stayed at Le Meridien in Rio de Janeiro and found it lovely, and a good value. Le Meridien Barcelona, however, was akin to a low-class Best Western, with rooms at more than $200 a night, even in the off season. The decor was tired, dirty and musty, service abominable and the location horrid--if you would find

staying at the Howard Johnson's in Times Square relaxing, then it's fine. Ramblas is truly the tourist barrio, chaotic and congested. Our room was directly above a disco on the third floor that was open until 3 am--we requested a room change and were denied because the hotel was supposedly full. When we changed hotels to the Hotel Arts the next morning, the manager was shocked and informed us that the hotel was not full at all. Save your money and sanity and book a room at the Hotel Arts for the same amount of money--a lovely, luxurious hotel in a calm beachfront location.

Read More

By Carol

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 21, 2001

Tired Grande Dame?

My husband & I stayed here for our honeymoon. We were upgraded to a very nice suite on the top floor our second night, but the first night was spend in a small, slightly musty & dingy room. looked "tired." But the staff was extremely kind & attentive. Location is fantastic.

By Jeff

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 26, 2001

A GEM OF A HOTEL

I just returned from a week long stay at the LeMeridian. It's a wonderful hotel--great location, spotlessly clean, well managed, beautiful decor and a gracious and helpful staff. One of those rare places that gets everything right.

By Bob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 6, 2001

This place rules!

Just got back from Barcelona and had a fabulous time. The Le Meridien was great. Booked a few months ahead and got an enormous suite for only $200. The location can't be beat...right on the upper end of the La Rambla. The staff was wonderful too...everyone from the maids to the doorman was friendly and efficient. Trust me, stay here if you're going to Barcelona.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement