Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Rome Restaurants

Cul de Sac

Updated 03/25/2014

Fodor's Review

This popular wine bar near Piazza Navona is among the city's oldest and offers a book-length selection of wines from Italy, France, the Americas, and elsewhere. The food is eclectic, ranging from a huge assortment of Italian meats and cheeses (try the delicious lonza, cured pork loin, or speck, a northern Italian smoked prosciutto), and various Mediterranean dishes, including delicious baba ghanoush, a tasty Greek salad, and a spectacular wild boar pâté.

Outside tables get crowded fast, so arrive early, or come late—they serve until about 12:30 am, though they're closed from about 4 pm to 5:30 pm.

Read More

Restaurant Information

Address:

Piazza Pasquino 73, Rome, 00186, Italy

Map It

Phone:

06-68801094

Restaurant Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Reservations not accepted

Updated 03/25/2014

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all restaurants in Rome

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 28, 2010

Cul de Sac Review

My husband and I dined here during our trip in Sept 2010, after receiving a recommendation from our proprietor. Later, we realized it was a Fodor's pick (in our 2010 guidebook). Had we read the previous reviews posted here, we might have changed our minds. I'm glad we didn't as our experience here was quite nice and food delicious (our first meal in Rome!) Management must have taken note of the reviews and have improved upon service. Outside tables

do fill up fast (as Fodor's states) so be prepared to wait. We waited only about 10-15 minutes. They let us wait inside at a table while an outside table opened up.

Read More

By mgcs55

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 1, 2010

Cul de Sac Review

I fully agree with the last reviewer. I visited Cul De Sac during early January 2010, and experienced the same lack of service. Three times I had to remind my waiter that he forgot to bring one of the orders. I finally asked for the check and left. I must say that the food and wine are great.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 22, 2009

Good Food Slow Service

I tried this restaurant after reading about it in my Fodor's Italy book. Had a smile on my face once I found it, but not when I left. After finally finding the manager/host, who was really busy handling tables and other issues, I was told it would be 15-20 minutes. He handed me a hand-written paper with a number on it. So I walked up and down the street nearby and came back and waited another 10 minutes before being rushed to a table right by the

door. The waitstaff was more interested in visiting with each other than serving customers. Seeing how busy they were I ordered everything at one time for fear the waiter wouldn't return. Ordered a glass of wine, fava bean soup, and a salad, and I told the waiter I'd like the four-cheese plate for dessert. After finishing the soup and salad I watched the waiter walk past me nearly four times before I got his attention and told him to forget the cheese plate and bring the check. I had already been there an hour-and-a-half. The manager eventually brought the check and I paid and left. Great food but lousy service that left me disappointed. I would definitely recommend the wine list -- extensive and the bottles are stacked for viewing -- but I wouldn't recommend the place unless you don't mind spending a couple of hours on a light meal where the items are sold a la carte.

Read More

By Van

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 25, 2001

Don't Tell Anyone!

But most Romans know about it anyway. A Roman told me to GO THERE. And luckily, I followed her advice. Many of the items on the menu are appetizer size, which is excellent when sampling wine. I like the variety of Italian and non-Italian dishes there.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you go?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Food

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement