Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Rome Hotels

Des Artistes

Pros

  • Good value
  • Decent-size rooms
  • Relaxing roof garden

Cons

  • Breakfast room is small
  • Wi-Fi is free in common areas but not in rooms

Updated 03/19/2014

Fodor's Review

This lovely hotel near Termini (really in Castro Pretorio rather than Repubblica) is a perfect example of a family establishment: the three Riccioni brothers put their hearts and souls into running the place, while their parents oversee housekeeping and maintenance. The hotel is decorated with 20th-century paintings, mahogany furniture, and handsome fabrics in the guest rooms. The bathrooms are unusually elegant for a 3-star hotel and even include towel warmers, handy

for cold winter nights. Des Artistes hasn't forgotten its roots, though: there's also a "hostel" floor with 11 simpler rooms for travelers on a budget. Become a fan of the hotel on Facebook, for a extra discount when booking your room.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Via Villafranca 20, Rome, 00185, Italy

Map It

Phone:

06-4454365

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 48 rooms
  • Breakfast

Updated 03/19/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Sights

See all hotels in Rome

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Angela

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 13, 2006

We were very impressed with the helpfulness and friendliness of all staff we encountered.

Hotel des Artistes helped make our trip to Rome a tremendous success. We were especially glad to have chosen the family package, as we quickly discovered how essential is a good tour guide. Thank you for all your help. If we ever make it back to Rome, we plan to stay again at des Artistes. A.C., USA

By Linda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 4, 2006

Just perfect

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the annex building for three days and we were positively surprised by the hig standard. Our room was just perfect! It made our stay in beautiful Rome even more enjoyable! Linda, Stockholm Sweden

By Katie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 14, 2005

Couldn't Ask More From the Secret Floor

I stumbled upon this gem after being moved from a hostel in the Termini area. This hotel offers one floor with 3 rooms featuring bunkbeds for those traveling cheaply. I think I paid around $20 a night for the cleanest digs I encountered in my entire travels around Europe. The newly renoveted bathroom, while shared, had no less than 6 high-pressure showers. I really enjoyed my roomates who were all down to earth twentysomethings, but not the annoying

"let's get drunk" unseasoned traveler types. A few of us had a little wine night up on the rooftop garden one night--- lovely! The hotel is not near much but I definitly didn't feel unsafe--- just be smart at night (true anywhere in Rome though). I enjoyed watching Italian soccer with other guests in the lobby while sipping Italian beer.

Read More

By Wes

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 25, 2004

Convenient, but.....

Short 6 block walk from train station, but rough pavement makes it hard if you're pulling a suitcase. Near train but not so near anything else. Small nicely appointed room with fairly large and clean bathroom, but no view. Pleasant escape to have a drink on rooftop terrace but no view. People were pleasant and helpful. Highlight: for an extra 24 Eu per person for board (dinner) was at the Bistro (1 block away) with excellent food. Quiet hotel but

fairly highpriced for very little ambiance, but not unusual for Rome. Next trip would probably try someplace else in the area. There are many choices.

Read More

By Rachel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 19, 2004

Had a fantastic stay

Had a fantastic stay, could not have asked for more. Brilliant value for money! The location is perfect to explore Rome. Rachel - Cambridge, UK

By James

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 30, 2003

Great place

Our stay at the Des Artistes Hotel was a wonderful experience. We felt we were coming home at the end of each day of our visit to Rome. Thank you so very much to all the staff - they responded to each request we made with warmth and professionalism. The hotel was immaculate and exuded a wonderful warmth. Jeanne & James Kary, US

By Kim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 16, 2003

Great little hotel!

This was a great little hotel with very charming rooms! The staff spoke excellent English and were very helpful with restaurant reservations and directions. If you don't mind walking, you can easily get to everything - while the hotel is close to the train station, it is pretty far from everything else. But we were able to walk from the hotel all the way across town to the Vatacan in about 1 hour and 45 minutes. I would recommend it!

By jay

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 4, 2003

great value

great hotel near the train station. the room was nice. we had a triple room without bath but we did have a sink and there were two full bathrooms down the hall. the wait (if any) was short. the roofop garden is a great place for end of the day wine drinking and meeting other guests. we would stay here again.

By Will

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 23, 2002

Nice place, although younger clientele

This place is six blocks from the train station in a relatively (for Rome) quiet neighborhood with several good restaurants nearby. There is free internet (a nice surprise). Also, when we were there the hotel seemed to be overrun with high school/college kids that stayed up pretty late. I guess that's only a problem when you have to get up early.

By Teresa

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 16, 2002

Non smoking hotel in Europe (practically an oxymoron)

I would highly recommend this hotel for its value. Though this hotel is for the younger generation we felt very comfortable (we're in our sixties). The rooms are very nice and clean, so are the bathrooms, the breakfast room is tiny but cheerful, the continental breakfast was satisfactory and the front desk were polite but not the usual "talkative" Italians. Location was great since we traveled to and from the Termini station. Excellent value overall.

By Shankar

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 26, 2001

Good location and value

PROS: Good location with proximity to Roma Termini [train/metro station]. Ms. Tania of the reception desk was exceptionally helpful in providing suggestions on sightseeing sequences and local dining etc. CONS: Inquired from reception staff on Nov. 23 regarding an independent Airport Shuttle company whose advertisement flyer we had received. The all inclusive fare for a party of 3 was listed at Lit. 60,000. She kept insisting that it was an "unreliable

service" and the hotel's recommended airport shuttle [at a cost of Lit. 90,000] was the only one she could vouch for. The same response was received from the gentleman at the reception desk at 9 am on Nov. 24. He even declined to call the other shuttle company. We did take the hotel's recommended shuttle service at the higher cost of Lit. 90,000 because I was traveling with my wife and daughter. The driver demanded an extra Lit. 10,000 on reaching the airport. Upon return home, I have learned from several friends that the Airport Shuttle company is in fact quite reliable although they make numerous stops for passenger pick ups at Rome hotels. I can appreciate the fact that the hotel may have specific "business arrangements" with the transportation company it recommends. However, the hotel staff should not discourage or divert guests [primary hotel customers] from saving a little bit of money by selecting a reliable service. Better yet, the hotel should try to work out a reasonable commission structure with the Airport Shuttle company so that they are also on the hotel's "approved" list. Building is part hotel rooms, part private condominiums with a single really tiny non-automatic elevator. Average value compared to the Paris Holiday Inn stayed during same trip, considering off season rates.

Read More

By Donna

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 12, 2001

Just so - so

We were here 5 nights in early October 2001. The room was very clean, and reasonably well furnished. It did have a little mini frig which was handy. The staff ranged from VERY warm an accommodating, to distracted-indifferent, to downright off-putting. The rooftop "garden" had mosquitos when we were there so we did not make use of it. The breakfast was not merely "minimal" but had the WORST coffee of any of our 3 hotels in Italy. By all means

try to get out of the breakfast charge if you can when you make your reservation, and eat at one of the many little nearby cafes. It is hard for me to comment on value since this was the first time in Rome. But I was comparing this hotel to the much more spacious and comfortable room in Hotel Casi, Florence which we had just come from, which also had VERY gracious helpful staff...and at a lesser rate. Probably an unfair comparison for Rome.

Read More

By Marie

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 4, 2001

A little surprised at the charge...

We booked the Hotel Des Artistes for September 13-19-01. We planned on spending my husbands birthday in Rome. I chose this hotel because of all the positive comments here, and in late August, I was in Rome on business and went to the hotel to "check it out". I found it charming and all the comments were accurate. The terrorist attacks on the 11th left me stranded in Madrid, Spain until the 14th. And, of course, there were no flights into Rome

until the 15th. We sent an email to cancel on the 12th. I had accepted the conditions of the reservation in that cancellations must be made 5 days before arrival. And I understand that they are in business to make money. While we knew we were responsible to pay for one night as a penalty, we were a bit surprised that the hotel did charge us, under the unusual circumstances. So many hospitality businesses waived that penalty during that time and I would have thought more of the hotel had they done the same. Or, at least given us a chance to rebook at a later date. We will plan another trip to Rome and, will we rebook Hotel Des Artistes? Probably not.

Read More

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 16, 2001

Romantic rooftop terrace

Stayed a week in the hotel. The staff was very attentive and helpful, particularly in making reservations for us. The room was not large, but we used it to sleep and bathe. The bathroom was spotless and larger than expected. The rooftop terrace we used every evening to share a bottle of wine and watch darkness rise over the city. The location is excellent - 5 blocks to Termini station, 1 block to a metro stop and 1 block to a supermarket. Highly recommended.

By Bill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 16, 2001

Nice and Quiet

Young staff that are easy going. Stayed in the older part and the newer rooms....both were great. Reserved over internet without difficulty and got a cash discount! There is a small family restaurant a couple of blocks away where the host looks like David Duchovny.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 19, 2001

A masterpiece at starving artist prices

Well appointed, spacious (queen size bed) and spotless rooms. Large bathrooms. Helpful staff. Pleasant continental breakfast. There's even a shoe polishing machine (a nice extra after a day of walking around the ancient ruins) right off the rooftop terrace. Close to the train station for convenience but far enough away on a quiet street. The lobby is nothing to rave about, but I don't choose a hotel based on the lobby. All this at a great price

By Johnny

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 9, 2001

Nice Place

Spotless quiet rooms, modern bathrooms w/ linen towels. Nice furnishings and rugs in the room. We stayed in the Annex (next door) which is a bit cheaper, but no elevator and rooms are on 2nd (3rd to Americans) floor. B'fast and reception in same place as main hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. Definitely a recommended place for a short stay in Rome--easy access to Termini and metro.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement