Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Rome Hotels

San Carlo

Pros

  • Some rooms have terraces and views of historic Rome
  • Rooftop garden
  • Attentive staff

Cons

  • Some rooms are on the small side
  • Rooms can be noisy

Updated 03/19/2014

Fodor's Review

This renovated 17th-century mansion–turned–hotel offers modern comforts at reasonable prices, right around the corner from the Spanish Steps and the best shopping in Rome. Guest rooms are bright and comfortable; some have their own terraces overlooking the city's rooftops. The rooftop terrace is ideal for having breakfast or taking in the sun throughout the day. The rooms also have flat-screen TVs and free Wi-Fi.

Hotel Information

Address:

Via delle Carrozze 92–93, Rome, 00187, Italy

Map It

Phone:

06-6784548

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 50 rooms, 2 suites
  • Breakfast

Updated 03/19/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Rome

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Rob

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 25, 2006

Staying here was a wonderful experience

Yes, I was on the top floor and had many steps to walk up over the 6 nights I stayed here, but the room was spotlessly clean and modern. It was very small, but I only requested a single -- besides, when you're in Rome are you going to be spending much time in your room? The location and neighborhood are excellent! The staff was friendly, english speaking and very helpful. The breakfast was not too good, and I noticed that those ordering their

coffee in English sometimes had to remind the help twice to get their cafe! Thre breakfast wasn't that great -- but if you're in a hurry and on a budget (although you probably wouldn't be staying there) it is included in the price of the room. The location was perfect, and their was a wonderful winebar within stumbling distance. I'd definitely stay there again -- it is only rated at 3 stars, but my room in the Annex felt like a small 4 star!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 2, 2006

The only thing that was "superior" about our room was the price!

We did not agree with majority of reviewers. Our "superior" room, in the building around the corner, was drab, but fairly spacious. However, the bathroom was old and depressing, with the "view" of an ancient wall. The service was mediocre, the breakfast fine. Obviously, the location and proximity to Via Condotti, the Spanish Steps, etc. is the main reason to stay here, although it is not inexpensive.

By Don

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 6, 2005

Much more than I would have expected

Unbeatable price and location. We have stayed here twice after reading the comments on Fodors. Unbeatable location just off the Spanish Steps and close to everything. We walked easily everywhere (Vatican, Trastevere, etc.)and it is a very short cab ride from Termini. The rooms were very quiet and clean. I was surprised at how nice the hotel was given the reasonable price. Yes, there are a lot of stairs and if you have trouble with stairs it may

not be for you (but then again if you have trouble with Stairs, Rome may not be for you). I have recomended this hotel to several peopole and had only positive responses.

Read More

By Peter

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 16, 2004

LOVELY HOTEL

We spent 7 nights here in May:we had room 77 at the top floor and was simply fantastic,with a really nice private patio.We have been in 5 stars hotel but this room was really the best.The location is great close to Via Condotti and Spanish steps.Victoria and Rosanna at the desk were very very kind and helpfull:they gave us good suggestion for shopping and restaurants.YES WE DEFINITELY WILL come back in this lovely place!

By Rae

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 12, 2004

Don't Believe the Hype!

My boyfriend and I originally asked for (and re-confirmed) a deluxe room with a balcony. When we arrived at hotel, we were shown to the "annex" (after not being told we were in the annex), and showed to our room with the "balcony" that was the size of a postage stamp, and was told that it was a "traditional Italian balcony". We asked to be re-located in the main hotel, and our room, on the 4th floor (lots o' steps), was quiet, clean, and very nicely

appointed. However, the whole "bait and switch" to the annex left a sour taste in our mouth, and quite frankly, the service after that was indifferent to rude--we tried to greet the staff upon our exit/entrance to the hotel, and where treated to indifference or coldness at every try--I gave up after the 2nd day. I think we upset them by moving rooms. We also later happened upon the "real" terraced rooms located on our floor (and appeared to be vacant), that even contained patio furniture. Also, when we asked for fresh towels, we where greeted with the "I don't understand you in English" routine which was preposterous (the staff member spoke perfectly good English the day before) and downright insulting. While the location, price and the actual room were nice, the service was abysmal on a good day--I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, and was actually surprised by the positive reviews on this site.

Read More

By eleanor

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 31, 2004

san carlo is as beautiful as rome itself!

A must! If you can, try to get the room 77! We did not feel like leaving. In the heart of the (best!) shopping area, a few blocks from the Spanish steps, and so reasonable for the quality you get.

By Karen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 10, 2003

Incredible

I've never before written a review of a hotel, but this one inspired me. I have to share what a magnificent treat it was to stay here. The room was beautiful, the bathroom luxurious, the staff was friendly and helpful, the breakfast was a perfect beginning to every day. The hike up the stairs was well worth it, even after walking all day. Our balcony had wonderful ambience as the sounds from the street below wafted up and the lights shone on the dome

of a cathedral in the distance. The location could not have been more ideal, especially because of the metro station being so close. I wouldn't stay anywhere else and now that my parents are planning a trip to Italy, I won't leave them alone until they make reservations at this hotel.

Read More

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 10, 2003

GREAT LOCATION

we have been at San Carlo in july and it was very beautiful:great location,very nice room ,we had room 77 at the top floor,very quite and nice view.The staff was friendly and Rosanna at the desk very special.We will be back in this lovely place.

By Kathy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 28, 2003

The Annex is The Place!

Since mid-February of this year, I've stayed twice at the Hotel San Carlo. Both times I've had rooms in the Annex, which I consider to be an exceptional value. This hotel, with its marvelous location, seems to have perfected the marriage of old-world charm with modern amenities and conveniences. The breakfast terrace is not always open (throughout winter it's closed), and the hotel's breakfast room is quite small, which is why so many guests opt

for room service delivery of breakfast, for which there is no additional charge. Alberto at the front desk is most helpful, and offered me a map. The help is friendly, obliging and industrious. Be forewarned that a stay in the Annex will require your strong legs to take you all the way to the top of the hotel; however your baggage will be delivered by a staff member when you arrive or depart. I also missed a telephone message left for me, but generally, given the entire set of good experiences at the Hotel San Carlo, I consider this a minor inconvenience.

Read More

By Diane

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 14, 2003

Location, Location, Location -- And More

This small, immaculate hotel offered a central location from which we could navigate easily to Rome's main sites -- either by walking, taking the metro, or riding a bus. And the nearby shopping was superb, if somewhat pricey! Our room, #54 in the Annex, was large (by European standards) and comfortable with a well-equipped, medium-sized, modern bathroom (shower only). The staff was friendly, efficient, and above-all, helpful despite our "fractured"

Italian -- Rosanna assisted us with tours and made reservations for us at local restaurants (Marcello, though less outgoing, did so also), Dante brought our luggage to our room and kept our mini-fridge stocked with sparkling water, and the maids served breakfast with a smile solicitously inquiring about whether we wanted "Italian" (espresso) or "American" (watered-down espresso) coffee. We definitely will stay at the San Carlo on our next visit to Rome.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 9, 2003

Don't Believe The Hype

Just returned from room 79 and to be honest was really not that impressed. My double bed was 2 singles pushed together one being a good three or four inches higher.Do they have sound proofing in Italy as i could hear everything in the room next to me. At one point i actually thought someone was taking a shower in our bathroom! The patio was very disapointing (Not enough room to swing a cat IN).Loose live wires hanging from the ceiling did so many

americans really write such good reviews of this place? On a positive note the location is very good but like the rest of Rome this hotel left me feeling very disappointed.

Read More

By Lina

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 2, 2003

perfect

This was our second visit to San Carlo. This time it was even better -- we got the room # 77 -- spacious (on two levels), with sunny terrace (you can enjoy it even in January!), immaculately clean. Everything seems to be brand new. Also, it was surprisingly quiet considering that it is in the very heart of Roma.

By Jerome

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 1, 2003

Did you people stay at the same hotel?

When I reserved my room, I requested a quiet room in the annex and was told that I would get one. When I arrived, the annex was apparently not available. The room I received may very well have been the noisiest hotel room in which I have ever stayed. I'm not sure what came through my walls more clearly - the loud television of one neighboring room or the disturbingly clear noises of an amorous encounter in another adjacent room! To make matters

worse, on the last day of my stay, the bathroom was visited by an interesting assortment of insects.

Read More

By Ali

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 10, 2003

Good Hotel w/ no frills

We stayed in the San Carlo in Jan 03. This is a perfect location and a good quality room. However most of our lights didn't work (looked as if they are still finishing our room #80) A beautiful terrace was nice,but there were no chairs or tables to enjoy it on. Could have been the season. I found the staff very distant, but always got what we desired. Breakfast was a mess. 3 small tables for 25 people. The waiter could not remeber his name if it

was written on his hand. The choices were melba toast or a (very tasty) croissant. We had breakfast in our room from that point forward. Overall a quality hotel, with little frill. Also no hotel bar to speak of. Would try else where next time.

Read More

By Lora

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 22, 2002

Great Location

I can't emphasize enough the great location, both in proximity to everything and on a nice, quiet, safe street. As a result of reading other comments on this site we requested a room with a separte shower (so the bathroom doesn't get wet when you shower). When we got there, someone had extended their stay, so we had the non-separated shower, though they offered to move us after the first night. We stayed in our room rather than bother to move.

The shower is strange, but the room was very clean and quiet. Bed was firm but had some springs poking up a little too high. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly.

Read More

By Jill

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 2, 2002

SLEEP TIGHT

After a 3 hour drive from Naples to Rome...we finally arrive at the San Carlo--exhausted! Having booked our reservation ahead of time, we were ready for a shower and some rest. Unfortunately, upon arrival we were told that the hotel did not have any room for us and they sent us to another hotel for the night. They paid for the round trip taxi--but it cost us an additional 1.5 hours before we were settled. The hotel that they sent us to was horrible--Hotel

Cecil... The next two nights we came back to the San Carlo--and we are so glad we were able to stay. YOU MUST ASK FOR THE ROOMS IN THE ANNEX--we got room 77--big enough for a family of 5! The bathrooms were dressed in beautiful new marble with Groen faucets--true luxury. The beds were comfortable and the room was quieter than we had ever expected--which meant a perfect nights sleep after shopping all day at Via Condotti--you were within a 3 minute walk of the shops which was great because you could drop off your bags in your room. Breakfast was fair--but dont miss Truillo for dinner--ask the manager at the front desk--it was a spectacular dinner recommendation. All in all...I would go back to this hotel again--as long as I was confirmed in the annex.

Read More

By Kate

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 17, 2002

We Wanted To Move In To Hotel San Carlo!

We had the most amazing room in all of Rome (Room 59) in the most centrally located and reasonably priced hotel in all of Rome!!! Room 59 is on the very top of the hotel up a private spiral staircase. The room itself is very nice with the largest bathroom we had in all of Italy. But what makes this room exceptional is the entirely private rooftop terrace lined with flowers and trees and covered by a beautiful roman-type canvas canopy. We loved

eating breakfast and enjoying the stars from roof top of a building in the heart of Rome's city center (1 1/2 blocks from the Spanish Steps and a five minute walk to the Trevi Fountain). We also loved the staff (Rosanna the receptionist has great restaurant recommendations (we ate at a wonderful restaurant "something D'Arancia") and Dante the bell hop speaks perfect English. I can't say enough about this hotel. But stay there and ask for room 59 (note: there is no elevator and the room is up five flights of stairs so you should be ready for a bit of a climb but trust me, its worth it).

Read More

By Renee

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 13, 2002

Better luck next time...

The location is excellent, the value for the area is great, but I'm afraid that's were it ended for us. Our room was on the 3rd floor of the MAIN building and the noise from the interior of the hotel was constant. It sounded as if furniture was being moved at all hours of the day & night and I found it very difficult to sleep. My husband, who can sleep through an air-raid, did not want to be bothered with moving rooms. Additionally, our shower was

stained with mildew. The staff rarely acknowledged us with eye contact much less speech. Inititially, we offered greetings as we came & went but after so many non and apathetic responses we discontinued the courtesy. We should have taken the advice in these postings and asked for a room in the annex and maybe we'd have had a totally different perception of this hotel.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 4, 2002

Wish I was still at the San Carlo

We stayed at the San Carlo in March 02 and we could not have been happier. Incredible location - great room (we were in the annex building with a terrace), and the staff was most helpful. Will definitely return to the San Carlo!

By lynn

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 15, 2002

best hotel of our trip to italy!

this is a terrrific place. excellent location, and you can't beat the price in MOST of rome, much less here. very helpful and accommodating staff. they have a porter who was terrific, and who spoke english very well. the maid service was impeccable. they serve breakfast in your room, and we had it 10 minutes after we called and had the hottest coffee of the trip. they will provide coffee, juice, croissant, rolls, jam, and yogurt. we stayed in the

annex, and had a room with a "terrace" that you could really only bring one chair out to, but we still loved it. they have a little fridge in the room, and provide bottled water that they don't charge for (never had that happen before!). the rooms are decorated beautifully in cherry wood and gold valances and bedspreads. they even checked and printed out train and bus schedules for us at the main desk. i want to go back there and stay for a week!

Read More

By Elena

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 4, 2002

Excellent!

Everything was perfect - the room, the staff (extremely friendly and ready to help every moment), the atmosphere and, of course, the LOCATION! We stayed in big double room in the annex, on the top floor and we liked it very much. We had some problems with hot water in the bathroom, but it really doesn't matter. I strongly recommend this hotel to everybody!!

By Amy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 29, 2002

Get The Rooms in The "Other" Building!

We stayed at the San Carlo for our first trip to Rome last Septmeber, we now live in Italy. Our first room was very bland, hospital-like, and we heard every bit of noise from the hall. We complained, and they gave us a room in the building across the street where they own some space. This room was fabulous! Cherry furniture, huge room, great bathroom, nice armoir, what a difference! Get a room in the "other" building, well worth any price difference

they may charge you! The location is excellent, very close to everything! We tried another hotel on our 2nd visit, but next time, we're going back to the San Carlo!

Read More

By Tanya

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 26, 2001

Clean but expensive

We stayed here in mid-august. It has an awesome location and for that reason I would recommend to anyone. The room was clean but by no means charming. The shower was really just a shower head on the wall of the bathroom which means when you shower everything gets wet - very interesting. We ate breakfast here once and it was ok. Mostly we ate at a local bakery on our way out. This is located near all of the shops and we walked everwhere in Rome!

I would never pay this much money for a room of that quality in the States, but unfortunately that's what they go for in Rome. By the way - I did think the front desk was helpful. AC worked great!!

Read More

By Deb

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 6, 2001

Great Room for the price

We also were in the separate building. It was a bit loud, but what can you expect in the middle of a city full of Vespas with no mufflers? The room was massive, as was the bathroom. Very charming, with wood-beam ceilings and very beautifully decorated. It felt like we had our own apartment in central Rome...which is as close as I'll probably ever get to my dream of living in Roma! The staff is fairly helpful, the breakfast was nothing to scream

and shout about, but the real attraction of this one is the rooms. Very reasonably priced, as well!

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 11, 2001

we have finally found the perfect little hotel in the heart of

I am sorry that we are leaving tomorrow, because the hotel is a jewel in the very center of Rome. Immaculately clean, friendly, our room with a georgeous terrace. Moderately priced, yet it gave us more than we had expected. We will be back very soon.

By Mike

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 20, 2001

On top of the world

We stayed in a room atop the rooftop terrace. It was a long climb but like having our own apartment in Rome (but with maid service). The staff was friendly and helpful and the location is great, close to the Metro, good restaurants and shopping.

By Douglas

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 8, 2001

Nice, but a long climb

The hotel was very nice, in walking distance of most locations. Spannish steps, retaurants, wine bars and shops virtually accross the street. However, no working elevator, so it was a long climb up five flights of stairs after hiking all over Rome. Thank God they had a porter to carry your luggage. Still, it was very clean. Some electrical problems with room (some lights never worked).

By Michael

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 6, 2000

Fabulous Darling

The hotel is actually in two buildings. We stayed in the building separate from the lobby. Nice and clean! The elevator is tiny, but manageable. The rooms were spotless with a great view of the street. I could not ask for a better location. Restaraunts everywhere. The Spanish Steps just a few steps away. Fashion Fashion Fashion! Who buys these clothes? Within walking distance of everything. I can go on and on. I will stay here on my return

to Rome. I tossed money in the Trevi so I will be back.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement