Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Rome Hotels

Albergo Cesàri

Pros

  • Prime location and soundproofed from the street noise
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Friendly staff

Cons

  • Some of the bathrooms could use renovating
  • Air-conditioning is not especially strong

Updated 03/19/2014

Fodor's Review

On a pedestrian-only street near the Pantheon, this lovely little hotel has an air of warmth and serenity, and a rooftop bar with great views. The exterior of this lovely little hotel hasn't changed much since Stendhal stayed here in the 1800s; the interior, however, is nicely restyled, with soft-green touches and prints of old Rome. Tastefully decorated rooms have hardwood floors, and bathrooms are done in smart two-tone blue marble. The rooftop bar, where guests can enjoy views of Roman rooftops and churches over breakfast or cocktails, is a real gem.

Hotel Information

Address:

Via di Pietra 89/a, Rome, 00186, Italy

Map It

Phone:

06-6749701

Website: albergocesari.it

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 48 rooms
  • Breakfast

Updated 03/19/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants

See all hotels in Rome

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By katver

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 9, 2012

Wonderful location

We stayed at this hotel last November for our 10th wedding anniversary. The hotel's location near Trevi Fountain, via del Corso, the Pantheon, Piazza Venezia, and other landmarks, is fantastic. We walked everywhere. The hotel is old but clean. Beds not too comfortable; the staff was for the most part very helpful and attentive. We loved having breakfast on the Terrace. We will definitely be back to this hotel in the future.

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 4, 2011

Albergo Cesàri Review

1. The hotel transportation never picked us up at the airport. We confirmed via email twice, and it was a no show. We attempted calling the hotel, and their phones were out of service (which lasted for 2 days for the entire hotel, and the entire trip for 1 of our 2 "superior" rooms) so, after looking for the driver for an hour, we cabbed it. 2. Arrived at the hotel where there was no apology for the hotel arranged transportation fiasco. We were

told how busy they were, etc. 3. We waited 4 hours on the roof to check in. You would think they might clean our rooms first in that we were the only guests waiting to check in? Not true. We were told one hour ... 4 times. Eventually check in at 2:30, which is 1.5 hours after check in. 4. Rooms: dark, small, no working phone, no clock in either room, step up to bathroom with a ridiculously small shower "stall." NO CLOCK, no wake up call due to no working phone. 5. Internet out for our entire stay, and yes, nobody (except the guests) cared. 6. The hotel arranged transportation took us to the airport. Lovely looking ride, however, it was not working and could only travel 20 MILES PER HOUR the entire ride to the airport. Van stalled twice. Very pleasant being beeped at and given the finger for 1.5 HOURS to the airport. Discount offered .... NO. The only good thing about this hotel is the location. I have traveled throughout Europe, and this is one of the worst choices I have made for accommodations.

Read More

By psusser

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 30, 2008

Excited to see this listed!!!!

I have been to Rome before-to another hotel. This hotel was a nice surprise. The Albergo Cesari is in a great location. You can stroll in the evening between two major piazzaa, and is located near the Trevi and Pantheon. It is a short walk to the Via Delcorso that leads to the Spanish Steps. Staff was very accomodating. I definitely plan to return there next trip to Rome.

By gponce

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 12, 2007

Excellent choice

We stayed for one week this April and everything went perfect. Close to all main sites, good restaurants and tour logistics. Transportation service to the airport was impecable.

By Richard

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 6, 2006

Location, Location, Location!!

A stone's throw from the Pantheon, The Albergo Cesari is a ten minute walk everywhere. We stayed in late May and the staff was friendly and helpful, the room was clean and spacious (for old Rome), breakfast was plentiful. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

By Jeff

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 4, 2005

A GEM!

I'll never forget Cesari's hospitality when I was there during 9/11. I was stranded in Rome for 5 additional days until I could get a flight out. I was worried about the cost of those nights, but what could I do? Then when I was checking out, they didn't charge me for the extra nights. When I mentioned it to the clerk, they said they would not hear of charging us due to the circumstances. Now that's a class act and I'm glad to finally pay back

some of my gratitude. Aside from that, the hotel is very nice, roomy, perfectly located, and a great value. I'll be staying there again for sure.

Read More

By Rose

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 21, 2004

I agree ... Cesari IS Rome!

Let me begin by saying that I put a lot of research into finding a good hotel before I travel and I take Fodor's recomendations into serious account. I find Fodor's to be the best guide out there. The Trevi fountain is one block in one direction and the Pantheon is a block in the opposite direction. Piazza Navona, the Spanish Steps, and the Colleseum are about 10 to 15 minutes walking. The hotel is located down a quiant alley where no cars can

drive. Nearby are outdoor restaurant tables, strolling musicians, wine bars not to mention shopping . . . all within blocks of the hotel. The complimentary continental breakfast is one of the best I've seen in Italy. The free lobby internet access was invaluable. The staff was very helpful. I would recommend they arrange your pick up at the airport. Rooms are spacious and clean. I will definitely go back and I whole heartedly recommend it to anyone who wants a central location, excellent service, and a good accommodation in Rome. Look no further, book this hotel today. Thank you Albergo Cesari!!! Hope to see you all again soon!

Read More

By Colleen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 2, 2004

Cesari IS Rome

I just returned from staying 4 nights at Hotel Cesari and thoroughly enjoyed it! The staff are phenomenal from making reservations for an italian opera concerto, to dinner reservations, to arranging car service to/from airport and even printing out for me the latest weather forecast! The location is perfect -- I had read all of the reviews on this site, which led me to pick the hotel and there is no exaggeration on how wonderful it is. Stumbling

around in the rain, I found myself at the Trevi fountain, and another day, at the Piazza Navona, and Piazza Pantheon -- tables on sidewalks, strolling musicians, wine bars, shopping -- all within blocks of the hotel. In my touring of Rome, I saw many of the other hotels I'd reviewed prior to selecting Cesari and Cesari is the best...location, location, location. It's a must stay in Rome!

Read More

By John

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 27, 2003

Excellent option if you're on a budget

I stayed at the Cesari for four nights in November 2003. It was my first time ever in Europe and I feel that I lucked upon a great deal through Expedia. My room was small, but clean and quiet. I did not mind the small size as I spent every waking moment walking the streets of eternal Rome. This hotel is located almost dead-center of old Rome and it made a great homebase. I walked EVERYWHERE from the Colloseum to the Borghese to the Vatican to

the Portense Flea Market. The service at the hotel is outstanding. There is complimentary continental breakfast. And the free lobby internet access was invaluable. I will definitely return to the Cesari!!

Read More

By Cynthia

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 5, 2003

Wonderful old Rome ambience

Like all the other reviewers, I must stress that the location is fantastic, just cannot be beat. I walked everywhere. Plus I was able to shut out unwanted noise and light with actual outside shutters, an unexpected old-world treat right out of the movies. I was lucky enough to get a room over the piazza on the side of the hotel and was treated to street music every evening and even had a peak of the ancient columns next door. My single room was small

and a bit musty smelling but everything else more than made up for that. The staff was absolutely wonderful (Italian men are surely the most charming in the world), spoke English fluently, and the free internet access was a huge bonus for me. Originally they only had availability for one night but when I arrived they had managed to reserve an additional two nights as I had requested. Am I glad they did! At the special rate of 100 euro per night I would definitely stay here over and over again. I miss it already and I just checked out in early October!

Read More

By Pauline

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 29, 2003

The charm I was looking for

It was my first visit to Italy and this hotel was my first stop. Thank you for recommending it. The front desk answered my questions with great patience - and much charm - and were very knowledgeable. The breakfast was very generous and tasty. The hotel is located in the center of Old Rome, on a tiny street, two minutes from the Pantheon. If your're looking for Old World charm, this is the place.

By Rick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 22, 2003

Would stay here again

Spent 4 nights at Cesari and enjoyed every one of them. Room, while not large by U.S. standards was more than adequate. Much larger than rooms we've stayed at in other European cities. Very clean. Breakfast was good with a nice selection. The real value is the location. We walked everywhere. We found the staff helpful and always friendly. It was nice to have the internet access in the lobby to keep in touch with our kids. Some of the other comments

said the taxi driver had trouble finding it. We had the hotel e-mail us directions in Italian and gave them to the cab driver.

Read More

By Sherry

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 12, 2003

You cannot beat this location!

This is the perfect spot from which to see Rome. The streets around the hotel offer tremendous atmosphere and great restaurants. We stayed here in a quad room with two teenagers. There was plenty of room and free internet access in the lobby - a big hit with the teens. You can walk to everything - if there was a hotel that was better situated we certainly didn't see it. We even walked to the Vatican - about 25 minutes away. We would recommend

this hotel to anyone.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 17, 2002

great location, large room!

My husband and I stayed at the Cesari for part of our Honeymoon and had a wonderful room, #33. I was high enough up to no have much street noise and it had wonderful charachter with large unique furniture and plenty of space! We liked the central location of th Cesari, and didn't have much need for services from the hotel in general. However, the only item we were not thrilled with wa the cramped breakfast room. It had too many tables and chairs

and overall was the least comfortable or appointed out of all 4 of the hotels we stayed at in Italy. I would recommend the Cesari, but make sure your driver knows where to go, ours had a hard time getting to the hotel!

Read More

By Mimi

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Oct 1, 2002

Highly Recommend

I arranged a family trip to Rome this summer and chose the Cesari based on comments I read on this site, and we were very happy with our choice. The rooms are smaller than what we are used to in the states (as is the case with most European hotels) and definitely low-frills, but they are also clean, air conditioned and quiet. The staff was friendly and wonderfully accommodating. There were 6 adults and one baby in our party and they managed to situate

our rooms right next to eachother in our own private little wing. We were able to request a portable crib for the baby and arrange for airport transportation -- all without a hitch. But the real reason to stay here is the location. It can't be beat. It's in walking distance to everything and surrounded by wonderful little restaurants and neighborhoods. Everyone in our party loved it.

Read More

By Jack

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 31, 2002

Nothing Special

The best thing about Cesari is its location -- just steps to the Trevi Fountain and the Pantheon. We also agreed with Fodors that the rooms are very clean and modern. But, they are small and fairly generic, and there is a lot of street noise. Also, if you are traveling by car (as we were), just finding the hotel is a chore involving navigating a catacomb of alleyways (even a cab we took got lost in there), and the "fee parking" that is advertised

is equally hard to find and expensive. The staff was well intentioned, but their english language skills were limited, and therefore they were not that helpful in answering some of our questions (like finding the parking lot). All in all, we did not dislike this hotel, but it certainly was not the highlight of our trip either.

Read More

By Linda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 7, 2002

Nice Hotel - Great Location

We stayed at the Cesari in April 2001. Were we three (my husband, his mother, and myself). Our room was average size, one king bed, and one twin bed in the corner. The room was clean and pleasant. The bathroom was very nice. We found the service excellent, and the morning breakfast tasty and filling. I would consider staying here again, but only if traveling in a pair. Three grown adults in one room was cramped. The location was great, within

walking distance to most of the main attractions.

Read More

By David

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jul 21, 2002

Has non-smoking roms

Nonsmoking rooms are hard to find, and the Cesari has them. Our triple room was nice sized, although not luxurious. The location was excellent, rooms clean, breakfast good (cold cuts, breads, yogurt, cereal, coffee) front desk very helpful, and the price was reasonable. I would stay there again.

By Jim

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Apr 15, 2002

Don't blink you will miss it

We stayed at the Cesari, which is a well hidden treasure, in late March and it was exactly as billed by the foderites. Great location; rooms were nice, with modern bathroom. Staff was freiendly and responsive. Breakfast was adequate; however the coffee had to be the worst ever. If you can get the room x-breakfast; do so and use the excellent cafe next door for your breakfast. You can walk to everything from this hotel; it was great. We used Rome

Limo for transportation to and from the hotel; they were excellent and reasonably priced.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 19, 2002

A Great Catch

The staff were wonderful and very helpful. They gave us numerous suggestions for restaurants, all good. The continental breakfast was good and filling. Most importantly, the location is unbeatable. It is right in the heart of Rome, and within walking distance of everything, we even walked to the Vatican. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again. One Hint: let the hotel get the car service to and from the airport, it was well

worth it as we had a horrible time getting there the first night ourselves.

Read More

By Patti

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 2, 2002

Walking distance to everywhere!

My new husband and I arrived on 9/11/2001 just hours before the terrorist attack in NY. The hotel and city were most gracious in extending sympathies and warm welcome to make Rome and Cesari our home for an extended period if needed. We actually received a letter from the Mayor of Rome. We also stayed in room 46 (see 'A Great Pick' rave). Having a corner room was great for multiple views! The 'double' bed was just that - two twins. The 'noise'

is part of the atmosphere and not bad at all. We walked everywhere, even to the Vatican and Colosseum. Good shoes are the key because nothing beats the scenery on foot. Best pizza is at Baffetto's. I would stay at Cesari again and highly recommend it to all.

Read More

By Chrissy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 8, 2001

Location, location, location

Right between the Trevi Fountain and Pantheon - just blocks from each. Pleasant, helpful staff. Room was small, but adequate (and par for the course). Outside was a bit noisy, but windows and A/C worked like a charm. I would recommend the Cesari.

By Debi

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Nov 5, 2001

Rome in 48 Hours

We had a very limited time in Rome, so location was our main requirement for the hotel. The Cesari exceeded all expections. Prior to our arrival, we emailed questions and requests, and all were answered promptly. (cesari@venere.it) We only took one taxi(to the Vatican), so the traffic of Rome was not an issue. The rooms were very quiet when the windows were closed. Rooms were spacious, equipped with mini fridge, safe, and hairdryers. The staff

arranged reservations to Nero's Golden Palace, gave us maps and directions, and arranged the car service prior to arrival. The car service pick up from the airport was well worth the extra money. Franco, our driver, drove us by many of the sites, explained some of the layout of Rome, and answered questions. He even stopped several times to take photos of us before we left Rome. I could not have had a better experience at another hotel.

Read More
  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 25, 2001

A GREAT PICK!

We stayed here for 3 nights on our honeymoon in August. The location was amazing - we walked to the colosseum, spanish steps, and the vatican and it was only a couple blocks to the pantheon and trevi fountain. We had room #46, I think, which was on the top floor and a corner room so we had windows on 2 sides. The room was clean and comfortable, large bed, hardwood floors, gorgeous wood armoir. The service was excellent. We paid 300,000 lire which

was our most expensive hotel ($225 Canadian) but also the nicest. I definitely recommend it!

Read More

By Maria

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 15, 2001

Hard to Beat the Location

We recently returned from our trip to Italy and stayed at the Albergo Cesari. The best thing about the hotel is its location. If there was a category (hey Fodors, maybe you should include as a category) for location, this hotel would get a 5. The room was adequate, but nothing to write home about. The bed was comfortable and our room was clean and very quiet, although I did not like the lighting. If what you're looking for is a good location,

comfortable bed and a quiet hotel, then try this hotel. Also, the staff was very helpful.

Read More

By Mary

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

May 17, 2001

Couldn't Ask For Better Experience

This Rome hotel was a pleasant surprise. The room was large with lovely hardwood floors, the bathroom was large with a GREAT showerhead and plenty of water pressure. The staff could not have been better. They recommended two stellar restaurants for us--Taverna Antonina (seafood) and Ristorante Clemente alla Maddalena. One thought: they limousine service experience they arranged to transport us back to the airport--a speedy Mercedes Benz driven

by a dapper and fearless Italian gent--gave my husband and me insight into how Princess Diana, Dodi Al Fayed, and their driver must have met their ends. Hair-raising. p.s. The other poster is right--their breakfast coffee tasted like it had been strained through a clorox-soaked paper towel.

Read More

By steve

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 23, 2001

Good value but...

We stayed here for 5 days over New Year's 2001. It was a good value and a great location. But if you like peace and quiet don't stay here. The outside noise was tolerable with earplugs, but from inside we were assaulted with more assorted noise than I could handle, for instance the whole room shook every time someone used the elevator (often). Plus the tub had a slow leak that would leave the floor covered with water after a bath.

The breakfast coffee was worse than US gas station coffee, what a shame in Italy.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement