Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

Rome Hotels

Albergo del Sole al Pantheon

  • Piazza della Rotonda 63 Map It
  • Local Flavor

Pros

  • Complimentary newspaper delivered to your room daily
  • Rich breakfast buffet

Cons

  • Rooms are a bit small
  • Despite the double-glazed windows, street noise can be an issue

Updated 03/19/2014

Fodor's Review

The granddaddy of Roman hotels and one of the oldest in the world—the doors first opened in 1467—this charming hotel is adjacent to the Pantheon and right in the middle of the lovely Piazza della Rotonda. The rooms are small but comfortably furnished with high ceilings, terra-cotta floors, and renaissance-style beds. Frederick III, Ariosto, Cagliostro, and Pietro Mascagni (who checked in here to celebrate his opening night of the opera, Cavalleria Rusticana)

all graced this hotel with their presence. Request a room that overlooks the Pantheon and the piazza's café scene.

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Piazza della Rotonda 63, Rome, 00186, Italy

Map It

Phone:

06-6780441

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 33 rooms
  • Breakfast

Updated 03/19/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Map View

Map of



What's Nearby

  • Hotels
  • Restaurants
  • Sights

See all hotels in Rome

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By BookDoc

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Dec 6, 2010

Albergo del Sole al Pantheon Review

The location is perfect, but the security is terrible. The third day we were there, a large amount of cash was stolen out of the safe in our room. We reported it when we discovered it on Saturday morning, and the staff told us that the manager would not speak to us until Monday, because weekends are his days off. When we spoke with him Monday morning, he had not even bothered to read the police report we had filed. He basically told us it was impossible

because all of his staff are too honest and nothing like it has ever happened before. He said he would file a claim with his insurance, but only after we left the country on Thursday, and then we would have to wait another 30-45 days to maybe hear something about it. It was a horrible experience for us, and the manager was not helpful at all. One staff member actually laughed about it. It is pretty safe to assume we will not be getting our money back. So again, do not stay there. This was a very expensive lesson for us to learn.

Read More

By Linda

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Sep 29, 2002

You can't beat the view

We stayed in the annex which has a full frontal view of the Pantheon. The view cannot be beat, but the annex needs a little cosmetic work. The halls need painting, and cooking odors seem to waft up from local restaurants, but mainly in the hallway. The room was not that exciting, but once again, you can't beat the view. The location is great, and if you stay in the main building, the facilities are better, but the view isn't.

By p

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 4, 2002

a true dump

stayed here last summer-room rate was 495e--room was not worth 100--dirty--bathroom full of mold--just a first class rip off of a hotel--staff rude and unaccomodating

By Dan

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Feb 10, 2002

Not What It Was

See my post of 8/2000 below. We did return, and were disappointed in how much it had changed in a couple of years (or maybe we just were too forgiving the first time). There's no question the location is incomparable, and that's worth the extra lire (now Euros)this place costs. But the rooms need a major overhaul. Service was friendly. I'll come back when I read it has undergone a multi-million dollar renovation.

By Nona

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 9, 2001

Fabulous location in storybook Piazza

My husband, son and I stayed at this hotel in February. The location can't be beat, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and the Piazza della Rotunda is so lively, we felt like we were at a 24-hour party.

By Paul

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Aug 5, 2001

When A Good Hotel Gets Tired

We stayed here about 8 yrs ago and enjoyed our stay--now it is a dump--not worth half the 600,000 lire we got charged. Our room was dirty. Bathroom door and fixtures were rotting--whole experience disgusting! Find someplace else!

By Peggy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jan 13, 2001

Go with Goethe!

Excellent location! Stay in the heart of old Rome within walking distance to everything, i.e., Piazza Navona, Spanish Steps, Campo dei Fiori, Trastevere. This hotel has played host to famous writers like Goethe. Tasteful decor, courteous and friendly service.

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement