Sign Up
Newsletter Signup
Free Fodor's Newsletter

Subscribe today for weekly travel inspiration, tips, and special offers.

Fodor's Weekly: Your expert travel wrap-up
Today's Departure: Your daily dose of travel inspiration (coming soon)

County Clare, Galway, and the Aran Islands Hotels

Jurys Inn Galway

Pros

  • Reliable Irish budget hotel chain
  • Great location for pubs, clubs, and river views

Cons

  • Rates subject to demand, so book early
  • Favorite hotel chain for large groups of partying Irish

Updated 04/09/2014

Fodor's Review

Expect good-quality budget accommodations at this four-story hotel set beside the historic Spanish Arch and the river. Each room is big enough for three adults, or two adults and two children, and the rates are the same regardless of how many guests stay in each unit. The light, airy rooms have modern pine fittings, plain carpets and walls, double-glaze windows, and fully equipped bathrooms. Those overlooking the river are quieter than those in front. The atmosphere runs

toward anonymous international, but the inn is central—at the foot of Galway's busy Quay Street, right on the bank of the Corrib—and the level of comfort is high for the price (note that rates shoot up at peak times, such as during the Galway Races).

Read More

Hotel Information

Address:

Quay St., Galway City, Co. Galway, Ireland

Phone:

091-566–444

Hotel Details:

  • Credit cards accepted
  • 130 rooms

Updated 04/09/2014

Book A Hotel

Advertisement

Fodorite Reviews

Average Rating

By Karen

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 13, 2005

Find someplace else to stay

We thought we'd stay at Jury's in Galway to save a little money on this leg of our trip. While the location was great, the hotel was not. I woke up every day with a back ache the mattress was so bad. It was near impossible to keep the room a consistant temperature. The water pressure was low and the shower head was broken and they never came to fix it. Lastly, they provide you with these raggedy tiny towels and you are lucky enough to have those same

towels your entire stay, as they don't give you fresh towels when they service the room.

Read More

By Patrick

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Jun 1, 2004

Lobby appearance is misleading indicator of rooms

The location of this hotel could not be better, and the lobby indicates a modern European facility. Those are the two positive things I can say about it. Our room was dirty, overheated (even with the windows open on cool nights) and noisy. The water pressure in the shower resembled a leaky faucet. Noise from the street below disturbed any hope of a good night's sleep, as the non-air conditioned rooms seem to radiate their own heat. We should

have taken as an omen that our reservation was cancelled by the clerk who booked our room. I would not stay in a Jury's Inn in another city based on this experience.

Read More

By Daniel

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 7, 2004

Robbed at Jury's Inn Galway !

Beware of Jury's Inn Hotel in Galway. My room was burglarized, and an expensive camera was stolen. I was away from the room for 2 hours. In the interim hotel staff made up the bed... and the camera disappeared. Hotel management at first feigned concern, and the police were summoned. This is the only consideration I received from Jury's. On leaving the hotel I paid the bill in full and not even an apology was offered. In my last contact with the hotel

manager she offered no compensation and actually told me that there was no proof a theft had taken place. Expect a fine Irish welcome at this place.

Read More

By Wendy

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 20, 2003

Best Power Showers I've Found

Jury's is the best bang for your buck. It is right in town and within walking distance to shopping, pubs, etc. It has a car park under the hotel so no driving about looking for a place. It has amazing power showers and although our room was smallish but still nice and clean. Non smoking rooms are just that. Loved it!

By Martin

  • Service

  • Food

  • Décor

  • Value

Mar 23, 2002

I regret not staying here!

As of March 23rd, 2002, no one as of yet rated this place. I didn't stay here, but I did walk through it several times (lobby bathrooms are excellent!). We stayed at Brennan Yard across the street (not bad). But, Jury's seemed the place to be. Right on a fast flowing river with many rooms facing that view. It's hard to park in Galway and there's a parking garage next door!. Your practically feet from Galway's famous walking street. In fact, everything

is close by. I wished I had booked this hotel. It seemed to be a good value for the location.

Read More

Show All

Add Your Own Review

When did you stay?

Minimum 200 character count

How many stars would you give?

Room

Décor

Service

Value

Advertisement